Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cursing all the time

• 20-06-2013 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭

I am currently working in a office that has a reception desk. It isn't really open to the public but for what ever reason they have a reception desk which is manned by 3 people most of the day( whole other issue). They do pretty much nothing all day but chat to each other. There is one of them who is always cursing, I only pass through the area and she inevitably is cursing about something.

9/10 times it is with real anger about how somebody should be executed, fired, maimed etc... She is really quite vile and petty having got people moved out of the office or even fired along with making many formal complaints about nothing. I don't know how she lives with herself considering how angry she is ALL the time.

Does anybody else work with similar? Is it just me who is bothered by cursing constantly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Fcuk that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

She sounds like a fúckin cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I curse all the fcuking time. Wouldn't do it in a work environment though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I work with a right fcukin Cnut
    Constantly fcukin cursing at every fcukin moment. A right fcukin fishwife.
    I very rarely fcukin curse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

What's you favourite expletive?

Karl Pilkington's is Knobhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I am currently working in a office that has a reception desk. It isn't really open to the public but for what ever reason they have a reception desk which is manned by 3 people most of the day( whole other issue). They do pretty much nothing all day but chat to each other. There is one of them who is always cursing, I only pass through the area and she inevitably is cursing about something.

9/10 times it is with real anger about how somebody should be executed, fired, maimed etc... She is really quite vile and petty having got people moved out of the office or even fired along with making many formal complaints about nothing. I don't know how she lives with herself considering how angry she is ALL the time.

Does anybody else work with similar? Is it just me who is bothered by cursing constantly?
    I feel your pain Ray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

donvito99 wrote: »
    What's you favourite expletive?

Karl Pilkington's is Knobhead.

Twatbadger. :D I love that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

****in' hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

LizT wrote: »
    I curse all the fcuking time. Wouldn't do it in a work environment though.

Is this not kind of of a fcuking work environment? Fcuking voluntary being a mod, I do fcuking realise, but all the fcuking same? Shouldn't fcuking standards be maintained?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Fcuk that.
    Pretty pathetic unwitty response. As you can see you aren't alone with such a sad excuse for humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Pretty pathetic unwitty response. As you can see you aren't alone with such a sad excuse for humour
    Welcome to AH, f you want a proper discussion try one of the many other forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I see someone woke up on the condescending side of the bed this morning.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Ah jaysus would ye ever fúckin relax like, they're only fúckin words. What's the fúcking problem?

People like ye should be fúcking executed or maimed or something. Fúck sake.

Something like that, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

endacl wrote: »
    Is this not kind of of a fcuking work environment? Fcuking voluntary being a mod, I do fcuking realise, but all the fcuking same? Shouldn't fcuking standards be maintained?

Ah heor!! I'll fcuking curse here if I want to fcuking curse here and there isn't a fcuking thing you can do about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It would appear you are alone without it. Anything that makes one alone is a sad excuse enough as it is. :(

Anyhow... regarding your OP, it's her attitude that stands out. The language used doesn't, but it's her use of it as well as her opinions about others in the work envirnoment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

your going to be ate alive here

What da fcuking fcuk?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Sorry:(

I'll dress up in a clown suit and do a funny dance if it would make you feel any better?:)

Sorry:(

I'll dress up in a clown suit and do a funny dance if it would make you feel any better?:)

Fcuk that!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Oh hell no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

My boyfriend never curses, drives him mad when I do it.

I say bollocks a lot. my favourite word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

My boyfriend never curses, drives him mad when I do it.

I say bollocks a lot. my favourite word.

Try saying it when they're in your mouth!

Can't believe I said that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Specialun wrote: »
    your going to be ate alive here
    I have thicker skin than that. If anything here would truly bothered me I would not come here.

It just isn't funny because it is sooooo predictable

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

We Irish swear and curse more than any other nation with the possible exception of Aussies. You notice that when you go to other English speaking countries such as the States or especially Canada. We really are foul mouthed and I'm just as f*cking bloody guilty as anyone else.:pac:

Why do we feel the need to drop the f-word into every casual conversation? Sure, use the f and b and c words when really angry or pissed off, but in every chat?:confused:

My new next door neighbour has three young children aged between 3 and 8 and I've been mindful of shouting out the f word when I drop or break something in my back garden as I don't want those kids hearing me curse. I've done it a couple of times when those kids were in their own back garden and I felt really bad afterwards.:o

A receptionist is the public face of a business or company - having them swearing in their job is a complete no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I curse all the time in work, sometimes quite loudly. I'm here a long time, hate my job and everybody knows that, so I seem to get away with being the bitter, grumpy, yet highly knowledgeable sod. Nobody has ever made a complaint about my cursing. Well, maybe they did, but it never got as far as me.

I did once get apprehended by my manager over an offensive t-shirt, of all things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

37-the amount of fuks given.