Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ben Gilroy referred to the DPP for failing to furnish election spending and donations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Bring back the traveler threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

If he doesn't recognise the law, why would he need to furnish reports? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Seems Ben of the Ancient Clan Gilroy has fallen foul of the Standards in Public Office Commission for failing to funish proper documentation in terms of what he spent on the bye-election trail, the only candidate not to do so. It's been sent to the DPP and the Gardai - could the freemen of Direct Democracy Ireland be in for a world of hurt?

Don't you get it? He's running for election to a government that he doesn't recognise. Why the hell would he furnish reports to them?!

:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Gilroy is a deft hand at practicing all the freeman "are you on your oath?" garda shyte when its other people in the dock and he's their advisor.

It'll be interesting to see if he claims not to recognise the court and refer to admiralty law and other bizarre nonsense when he's the one who'll swing for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Gilroy is a deft hand at practicing all the freeman "are you on your oath?" garda shyte when its other people in the dock and he's their advisor.

It'll be interesting to see if he claims not to recognise the court and refer to admiralty law and other bizarre nonsense when he's the one who'll swing for it?

Given that he seems to believe in all that conspiracy b0llocksology, you'd wonder why he even gave "the man" an excuse to haul him in by not disclosing his donations and spending like all the other candidates.

As you correctly point out - it will be interesting to see if he resorts to freeman crankery in the dock. If he doesn't, I wonder if his compatriots in the movement will view him as a sellout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Its all a work I tell ya. The goverment don't like smart independent thinkers and are trying to bring him down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Have FF candidates not been consistently late at handing theirs in this last five years and not a whimper?

Looks like the nepotism parties are getting nervous and any distraction will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

SamHall wrote: »
    Have FF candidates not been consistently late at handing theirs in this last five years and not a whimper?

Looks like the nepotism parties are getting nervous and any distraction will do.

CT >>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Thread needs more Biggins!!! Can we? Pleaaaaaaaasssse mods. Pretty please?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

When the going gets tough for the opposition parties, they immediately claim its government parties targetting them to distract people from their own failings. That's what happened over on theJournal facebook page today when this article came up, plus claims that theJournal were biased and didn't put up any articles during the by-election for Ben (which they did).

Cannot wait to see if he try his "Ben of the ancient clan of Giolla Rua" tack with this one.

Phoebas wrote: »
    CT >>>>

Hardly a conspiracy theory?

The man was late/is late submitting his details. He's about to rectify it.

Like I said, haven't ff candidates (that I know of) been late in submitting theirs too? We're the dpp/gards involved in that scenario?

MadsL wrote: »
    Cannot wait to see if he try his "Ben of the ancient clan of Giolla Rua" tack with this one.

The funny thing is he's fecked if he does and fecked if he doesn't. If he does, as he's (hopefully) well aware, he will come across as a lunatic before the judge, who will probably send him down for contempt. If he doesn't, all the other lunatics around him will be wondering why he sold out, having advised them previously to act like lunatics in court.

This will be quite delicious methinks!

Like I said, haven't ff candidates (that I know of) been late in submitting theirs too? We're the dpp/gards involved in that scenario?

Has he been in touch?

I don't/didn't vote DDI if that's what you're getting at, let's get that out of the way first

To answer your question though..... he said he would submit them in the news report I read.
    “The gardaí were on to us,” Gilroy said. “The documentation is like a phone book of stuff you have to fill out. But we’ll be putting it in this weekend and they are happy enough with that.”

Yes.
    Two candidates, Ben Gilroy and Mick Martin, and one election/national agent Conor Delgarno were referred to the Director of Public Prosecutions for failing to furnish the Commission with the required statutory documentation by May 22nd, 2013.
    Sipo said Mr Martin subsequently satisfactorily furnished the required statutory documentation by June 6th, 2013.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/mcentee-tops-meath-east-spending-list-1.1434877

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

CT >>>>

The suggestion that this is some kind of a manufactured distraction or that FF candidates get special treatment from the SIPO commission smacks of a CT.

Indeed - the SIPO is independent, and rather rigid. You fail to submit documentation on time, you get a warning. You fail to rectify, you get your files sent on. Doesn't matter who you are or who you stood for it seems. It's strange that Ben seems unaware of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

Thread needs more Biggins!!! Can we? Pleaaaaaaaasssse mods. Pretty please?

Don't even joke about that :rolleyes:

Seems a bit odd that if there was a a portion of expenses to be clawed back no-one in his Party was on the ball quicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Just what Ireland really needs another Gombeen Man Politican!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Seems Ben of the Ancient Clan Gilroy has fallen foul of the Standards in Public Office Commission for failing to funish proper documentation in terms of what he spent on the bye-election trail, the only candidate not to do so. It's been sent to the DPP and the Gardai - could the freemen of Direct Democracy Ireland be in for a world of hurt?

non story.

*you any relation of dxhound?

non story.

Errm. Actually would be a story if he gets prosecuted, I think the fact that he still hasn't furnished the figures to be telling. Doubt he spent over the limit however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The funny thing is he's fecked if he does and fecked if he doesn't. If he does, as he's (hopefully) well aware, he will come across as a lunatic before the judge, who will probably send him down for contempt. If he doesn't, all the other lunatics around him will be wondering why he sold out, having advised them previously to act like lunatics in court.

This will be quite delicious methinks!

How would that be delicous what party you affiliated to then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Of course he returned them, they're nailed to the front door of his house, exactly where he left them . :D

non story.

Care to back that up? A politician promising to shake things up fundementally getting his files sent on to the DPP by the SIPO is a big enough story on its own, and that's not even bringing the prospect of the whole "freeman on the land gets his day in court" angle if Ben decides to go that way.

Hootanany wrote: »
    How would that be delicous what party you affiliated to then.

None - I find them all equally both hilarious and depressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Indeed - the SIPO is independent, and rather rigid. You fail to submit documentation on time, you get a warning. You fail to rectify, you get your files sent on. Doesn't matter who you are or who you stood for it seems. It's strange that Ben seems unaware of this

actually i wouldn't say sipo are rigid, they let people away with failing to submit documentation all the time such as the tallon guy but only cos he got so few votes and its not worth the trouble, the reason they are taking it serioulsy with ben gilroy is cos he got a substantial amount of votes. so lucky him