Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MF 42 / 43 Series Lift Control

• 19-06-2013 1:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭

Lads,
    Looking for some information here from any of ye mechanical minded / tractor experts out there.
    We have a 4345 massey ferguson and I'm looking for information on how to properly use the lift / draft control levers. I don't know whether the lift on our yoke is very sensitive or we're just being thick and cant use it properly or there is actually an issue with the lift.
    Basically when using lift its impossible to control it. You can set the lift at a height however say if you have raised if from a lower level the arms will continue to rise after you have set it. Similarly if you lower from a high level and settle at the required height the lift arms will continue to drop beyond this point. Its a pain if your cutting with mower, spreading fertillizer or any job that requires you to maintain lift a same level we're constantly having to adjust level.
    Can anyone explain how to work in properly. Basically there are two levers on RHS as u sit on the seat. A larger level further away from you and a smaller lever closer to you is there a correct way to use set them up to get greater control over the lift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭case956tom

PN14 wrote: »
    Lads,
    Looking for some information here from any of ye mechanical minded / tractor experts out there.
    We have a 4345 massey ferguson and I'm looking for information on how to properly use the lift / draft control levers. I don't know whether the lift on our yoke is very sensitive or we're just being thick and cant use it properly or there is actually an issue with the lift.
    Basically when using lift its impossible to control it. You can set the lift at a height however say if you have raised if from a lower level the arms will continue to rise after you have set it. Similarly if you lower from a high level and settle at the required height the lift arms will continue to drop beyond this point. Its a pain if your cutting with mower, spreading fertillizer or any job that requires you to maintain lift a same level we're constantly having to adjust level.
    Can anyone explain how to work in properly. Basically there are two levers on RHS as u sit on the seat. A larger level further away from you and a smaller lever closer to you is there a correct way to use set them up to get greater control over the lift.
    any of the older style lift masseys I used, the lever furthest away from you eg the draft lever,it was always fully up,draft is only for ploughing or soil engaging implements,the lever closest to you is the position control lever its the lever you should be using for everything else.hope this helps you out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 galway 4 sam

Good question. I have a 4355 and am wondering same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

We have a 4255 here.

The level nearest the mudguard is the draft control and should be fully up all the time for the operations you are talking about. The lever nearest the seat is the position lever and when you use this to set the height of the lift it should remain steady once set.

If the lift does not work properly once you use the levers in the correct manner then I suspect you have a problem. Can't be of any more use than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

Thanks Tom & Jimmy will try that see how it works. Galway 4 Sam I'm glad I'm not the only one with issues there are times when I wish we never upgraded from the old 265, which we still have, its an awful lot simpler. That said its hard to beat the bit of comfort in the 4345 I know what I'd be taking out of the yard if there was to be a couple of hrs work required.

I find if you pull the lever beside the pto revs lever at the back window it locks the hydraulics and keeps the lift at the height you want. It's grand when your not changing height often but awkward when u are. The 4 series are lovely to drive. Have u used the lift lever over the back wheel on the outside. I can't figure out what it's for.

I have been tending to lock the hydraulics also helps a bit on the fertillizer spreader and the like not much good on the mower though or other implements which you are raising and lowering a bit. The locking the hydraulics on the rear lift also increases the oil flow available to the loader which which makes a huge difference to the speed of the loader. I use this most of the time when using the loader it makes a massive difference if you are using it a lot loading bales, feeding out silage etc.
    The rear lever is for minor adjusting of the arm heights for putting on implements. My model doesn't have the electric buttons on the mud guards for external lift control, if I was changing again its probably something I'd look for. The lever allows you to make small adjustments to the height of the arm if your nearly in the right place with the arms. To be honest don't use it a lot usually its just back into the tractor to adjust or most likely move the implement we're putting on to suit. I probably only use if for the mower sometimes as the mower is a bit heavy to move on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

I have a 4355 and I asked the same question a few weeks ago but nobody replied. I thought it was just my tractor did this lifting up. I tightened the nuts on the position lever on the outside of the tractor, it doesn't creep up as much before. Kinda relieved to here someone has similar experience. I was dreading seals being fooked inside or something. Mine has a loader on it as well like it good enough but the 18x6 speedshift is giving trouble on mine don't have it that long nice and comfy I agree:pac:. I find the engine hasn't near the amount of torque as the 300 series they were never afraid of facing a steep hill

Did see your original post agriman to be honest if I had would definetly have jumped on board it as I was feeling a bit sheepish asking the question but was tired of pricking around with the lift. I'm a bit happier myself that its not only us with an issue.

We skipped the 300 series all together when we were upgrading two years ago couldn't see the brains in giving 20k for what were basically 15 - 20 year old tractors when the 42 & 43 series models could be picked up for only a small few quid more so I've no reference point here. Brother in law has a 390 and no doubt its a decent tractor alright. I have noticed the 43 series finding the hills more that older 675 or 265 tractors we had though all be it that we are now hauling bigger loads in cattle trailer and bale trailer on said hills than we would have with the older tractors.

My lift is working well now pn14. I was using wrong lever. Now using lever near the seat and its grand. Do u have a digital or mechanical hours clock. Any problems with it. I'm having problems with mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭larthehar

I have a 4255 and the 1st symptom was the in the max position the lift would float up to squeeze the hitch and but the hydraulic pump under pressure.. iy progressively got worse until eventually the main lever did nothing and only the draft lever worked... after some investigation it was a bushing that was gone in the back end. Got a fella to fix it for €250 quid..

And don't using the lever to lock the lift for long periods of time.. this combines and aux pump flow and the lift pump... driving on the road and at high revs will overheat tje oil and cause other problems...

Digital clock here no issues so far. Whats been happening to your one?