Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Round baler and Wrapper

• 17-06-2013 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭

thinking of buying a baler and wrapper for own use only.

currenly do pit and bales but reckon that if doing all bales, i would make 800 per year.

What makes woudl you sugest would do the job. It's all flat land and fairly dry for the most part.

seems to be a fair variance in cost between the McHale and then Welger/Class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Dunedin wrote: »
    thinking of buying a baler and wrapper for own use only.

currenly do pit and bales but reckon that if doing all bales, i would make 800 per year.

What makes woudl you sugest would do the job. It's all flat land and fairly dry for the most part.

seems to be a fair variance in cost between the McHale and then Welger/Class

how are your bales done now? (baled and wrapped in field and then taken in, or brought to the yard for wrapping)?
    how much equipment and labour do you have for doing it already?
    do you have a mower?
    do you have a couple of tractors on the farm that can pull a baler and wrapper?
    do you a way of gettign the bales in?
    do you have extra drivers to do the work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭dzer2

yellow50HX wrote: »
    how are your bales done now? (baled and wrapped in field and then taken in, or brought to the yard for wrapping)?
    do you have a mower?

what acreage do you make.
    How handy are you at repairs
    How good a driver are you.
    800 a yr saving doesnt seem much if you are splashing out big money on machinery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

do you have a mower?
    1. have a 100 and 115 hp tractors
    2. Have 8 foot mower
    3. have bale grab and carrier
    4. all fields surrounding the yard so draw is short
    5. Wrap in the field but use a trailer that takes 16 bales
    6. have 3 lads local that I use for work depending on tasks/their availability
    7. PS. spend about 7k a year on contracting costs
    I woudn't have thought that this would have an influence on the type of baler / wrapper to get........ :confused::confused::confused::D:D:D

1. have a 100 and 115 hp tractors
    2. Have 8 foot mower
    3. have bale grab and carrier
    4. all fields surrounding the yard so draw is short
    5. Wrap in the field but use a trailer that takes 16 bales
    6. have 3 lads local that I use for work depending on tasks/their availability
    7. PS. spend about 7k a year on contracting costs
    I woudn't have thought that this would have an influence on the type of baler / wrapper to get........ :confused::confused::confused::D:D:D

The size of your baler will depend on your tractors HP and size of your swards. No point going off buying a big capacity baler and then havign to change your tractor to be able to pull it. simially with your wrapper, is it used in the field or yard, if its in the yard you could get a fixed or mounted one as i'd say they are cheaper. also people with decent sized loaders/telehandlers can get ones that wrap and stack in one go.

Eaiest thing for fella doing it himself is to wrap in the field (extra tractor and person needed) and then draw into the yard. The down side of this is the extra handling of the wrapped bale. but as you are already doing this then your proably aware of these issues and watch out for damage already.

as for the baler and wrapper type try to get one that will make the bales as well as you already get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

PS. spend about 7k a year on contracting costs
    With 800 bales, you'll be spending over 2k a year on plastic alone, every year.

This topic has been discussed before on here and IIRC bales make no sense from a financial point of view, unless flexibility on cutting date is very important to you and you've not already built a slab for the pit silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Dunedin

as for the baler and wrapper type try to get one that will make the bales as well as you already get.

do you mean by this that you suggest a baler and wrapper combination?

Good point re the size of Tractor v baler but I suppose what I'm getting at is that as it's only for home use doing about 800 bales per year, a big McHale fusion at 25k is a bit excessive hence why I'm wondering about some of the cheaper models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Good point re the size of Tractor v baler but I suppose what I'm getting at is that as it's only for home use doing about 800 bales per year, a big McHale fusion at 25k is a bit excessive hence why I'm wondering about some of the cheaper models.

Would one of those Taarup bio balers suit? all in one baler and wrapper

Yeah the bio is geared towards the farm/owner market. most will run on 115hp fairly well. you dont see too many round here (but then again you dotn too many fusions down round here either). i have seen them i reckon they will definatly suit some fellas. Far more common on the contienet and very much in use in norway where they would have similar crops to us.

That said i reckon the cost of one (even 2nd hand) would proably be more then the cost of the cost of a seprate baler and wrapper, espically as you already have the 2nd tracro to drive the wrapper, and soemoen to use the wrapper. Would be differnt if you didnt have a 2nd tractor or person to drive it. More 2nd hand wrappers and balers then combo around too so proably better choice and value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,726 ✭✭✭maidhc

Anything will do 800 bales a year once it is in decent nick. You don't need to spend big money, and you will be amply kitted out for between 10-15k, it just depends on how much you want to spend. I use a JD 575 baler and KV7510 wrapper, their combined worth is about 7k.

It mnakes great economic sense if you keep the machinery cost realistic and can maintain stuff yourself.

With 800 bales, you'll be spending over 2k a year on plastic alone, every year.

This topic has been discussed before on here and IIRC bales make no sense from a financial point of view, unless flexibility on cutting date is very important to you and you've not already built a slab for the pit silage.

yeah have to agree. however most farmers are paying for the plastic anyway so that cost wont change if its all bales.

can i ask why your moving away from the pit silage. bales are more expensive but are much more flexiable and can be used instead of topping for grassland managment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Markcheese

How much would a second hand pick up wagon be ?? You'd still get flexibility , although pushing up the sillage could Ne a pain.. As would opening and closing the pit all the time,

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

would it take 115hp?

Feck i have 4cylinder 100hp turbo and was somewhat thinking in a few years i might think of one

Yeah the bio is geared towards the farm/owner market. most will run on 115hp fairly well. you dont see too many round here (but then again you dotn too many fusions down round here either). i have seen them i reckon they will definatly suit some fellas. Far more common on the contienet and very much in use in norway where they would have similar crops to us.

That said i reckon the cost of one (even 2nd hand) would proably be more then the cost of the cost of a seprate baler and wrapper, espically as you already have the 2nd tracro to drive the wrapper, and soemoen to use the wrapper. Would be differnt if you didnt have a 2nd tractor or person to drive it. More 2nd hand wrappers and balers then combo around too so proably better choice and value.

would it take 115hp?

Feck i have 4cylinder 100hp turbo and was somewhat thinking in a few years i might think of one

would be good to see one working. i know they do about 30-40 bales an hour as they have to wrap the bale after making it. But your planing on doing it all your self it proably balances out the time.

i have a few contacts on the contient that use them, i might ask them how they work if you cant find anyone in ireland that uses them. Have seen afew around so they must have a market here.

http://www.kuhn.com/com_en/mini-site-i-bio.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

would it take 115hp?

100hp will work it ok on the flat. But the bio might throw it around a bit on hilly or wet ground - especially since it's a 4 cyl. They are seriously expensive, so the day job would want to be paying well or else you would want a lot of contracting work ahead of you. In years to come, the second hand ones to come on the market will have a lot of bales clocked up.

Know a couple of people with them around here. They make a good bale and aren't too hard on parts. They are a good alternative to the fusion for wetter land!

I have a set of weights for the tractor already. All land is flat so thats a bonus. Only work would be my own (100 bales) but increasing stock each year so probably be at 250 bales by 2015. Also id probably get the uncles work (3mile away) and that would be 400 plus bales.

Saw a bio with 35k bales for €10k last year. Not massive money really over 5 years, and you still have your machine.
    reilig wrote: »
    100hp will work it ok on the flat. But the bio might throw it around a bit on hilly or wet ground - especially since it's a 4 cyl. They are seriously expensive, so the day job would want to be paying well or else you would want a lot of contracting work ahead of you. In years to come, the second hand ones to come on the market will have a lot of bales clocked up.

Know a couple of people with them around here. They make a good bale and aren't too hard on parts. They are a good alternative to the fusion for wetter land!

I have a set of weights for the tractor already. All land is flat so thats a bonus. Only work would be my own (100 bales) but increasing stock each year so probably be at 250 bales by 2015. Also id probably get the uncles work (3mile away) and that would be 400 plus bales.

Saw a bio with 35k bales for €10k last year. Not massive money really over 5 years, and you still have your machine.

Wow that's cheap.

I know someone who traded one in againsta a new bio last year. It was 4 years old and had done 32k bales and he got an allowance of over €19k for it.

Thats what i thought. I could be wrong, maybe it was £10k. But that be about 12k.

Do they make a good bale?

reilig wrote: »
    Wow that's cheap.

I know someone who traded one in againsta a new bio last year. It was 4 years old and had done 32k bales and he got an allowance of over €19k for it.

Thats what i thought. I could be wrong, maybe it was £10k. But that be about 12k.

Do they make a good bale?

They do from what I see. But like everything else, they need a good driver to make a good bale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭paul2013

I was thinking myself of buying a Round Baler as the contractor here in Offaly robbed me €1500 for 130 bales, Thats only the 1st of 3 cuts, Are Claas 46,250,254,354, a Welger 200, 202, Deutz 130 or a Krone 1250 any good as I was looking at them on the done deal and machinery yards and McHale is 24k so that is out of my range! The baler I'm looking for must have a chopper and must be well maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Gman1987

paul2013 wrote: »
    I was thinking myself of buying a Round Baler as the contractor here in Offaly robbed me €1500 for 130 bales, Thats only the 1st of 3 cuts, Are Claas 46,250,254,354, a Welger 200, 202, Deutz 130 or a Krone 1250 any good as I was looking at them on the done deal and machinery yards and McHale is 24k so that is out of my range! The baler I'm looking for must have a chopper and must be well maintained.

What part of Offaly was the contractor from? I used to work for a contractor with a Claas 254 that got plenty of hard work, never had a bit of bother with it and well able to take grass. was putting out about 55 bales per hour when baling silage and between 90 to 100 per hour when baling hay or straw. There is a few John Deere balers up on Done deal also, I'd say they would be a good machine also.