Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mikey Garcia v Juanma Lopez

• 16-06-2013 3:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

I just love watching Mikey Garcia boxing.

That display was just pure class.

He's so well-schooled, so skilful, so cool and he hits very, very hard.

And to top it off, he seems like a really nice kid, no spouting endless bullsh!t like so many others.

This guy is real elite material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

I just thought it was upsetting to be honest. Juanma looked absolutely terrible, he was stumbling around like a drunk for most of the fight. On last night's evidence he needs to think about hanging them up.

Mikey was his usual self, completely in charge with his timing as perfect as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Henno30 wrote: »
    I just thought it was upsetting to be honest. Juanma looked absolutely terrible, he was stumbling around like a drunk for most of the fight. On last night's evidence he needs to think about hanging them up.

Mikey was his usual self, completely in charge with his timing as perfect as ever.
    There should be no thinking about it Juanma should hang them up for sure, he could get hurt of he carries on he had no head movement and was off balance throughout its time he called it a day, Garcia will be elite hell he already is top level as you said his timing was outstanding and he has power in his fists, i was suprised he failed to make weight i wonder where he will go now will he stay at featherweight or will he step up to SFW problem is there is not any big fights for him at SFW i'd love to see him vs Mares but i wonder will he be around at FW to make it happen

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭Frank Gallagher pissed

Any videos going around lads? Missed it. Seen the KO.

Mikey is a top class talent for sure, real elite fighter. Hes definitely stepping up to Super Feather, Dick, he didnt make weight for the fight so vacated all his belts at featherweight.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/k1JQZi5dKmMbvC4cliY

Cheers was thinking he would move up to SFW wonder who he will fight the division is exactly stacked with quality or big name fighters especially since Gamboa is now at lightweight

There should be no thinking about it Juanma should hang them up for sure, he could get hurt of he carries on he had no head movement and was off balance throughout its time he called it a day, Garcia will be elite hell he already is top level as you said his timing was outstanding and he has power in his fists, i was suprised he failed to make weight i wonder where he will go now will he stay at featherweight or will he step up to SFW problem is there is not any big fights for him at SFW i'd love to see him vs Mares but i wonder will he be around at FW to make it happen

The scene isn't all that exciting at 130 and 135. Very little there that would get you excited at the moment. Mikey's plan was to simultaneously defend belts at 126 and 130 and he's easily good enough to do so, but you would have to question his future at 126 now.

Mares and Donaire are the two stand out opponents for him, but since for different reasons those fights can't happen, I think we'll end up getting Mikey vs Rocky Martinez at 130. Garcia looks way too good for him but it would probably sell reasonably well.

Henno30 wrote: »
    The scene isn't all that exciting at 130 and 135. Very little there that would get you excited at the moment. Mikey's plan was to simultaneously defend belts at 126 and 130 and he's easily good enough to do so, but you would have to question his future at 126 now.

Mares and Donaire are the two stand out opponents for him, but since for different reasons those fights can't happen, I think we'll end up getting Mikey vs Rocky Martinez at 130. Garcia looks way too good for him but it would probably sell reasonably well.
    Ye thats a possibility but i mean whats his future say for the next 4 or 5 fights like if he plans on fighting at 130 who does he fight after Rocky, also he will want to get himself onto p4p lists ect no fight at 130 puts him there, lightweight isnt to bad, Abril, Gamboa, Vazquez and Burns all decent fights, better then anything at 130 anyway

Yeah you're right actually, 135 isn't all that bad. Mikey does have the frame for it too but as he's only 25 I wouldn't expect to see him there before 2015, unless a big fight is on the agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Cheers was thinking he would move up to SFW wonder who he will fight the division is exactly stacked with quality or big name fighters especially since Gamboa is now at lightweight

He's not necessarily moving up, despite not making weight for this fight (he didn't actually try), they've said he can do Feather or Super-Feather.

They purposely came in 2 lbs over for this fight (hence why you didn't see him try to lose any weight), forfeit $100,000 and ensure that the Lopez fight was a formality. Making weight at this stage probably does take a bit out of him at 126 to be fair, so they decided they didn't want to do it. Although Lopez had to and apparently had to kill himself to do so, major advantage for team Garcia, worth every bit of that $100,000.

Apparently Lopez's team wanted the fight at 128 lbs initially, but Garcia's team said no. They knew exactly what they were doing, and I wouldn't be surprised if this was a tactic formed several months ago.

Definitely struck me as very cynical from the Garcia camp anyway. The fact that they refused a 128 catchweight makes it much worse. Juanma would have been killing himself to make 126 and they would have known that. Two pounds is a big miss, it's not like it was a close call.

Thats not on at all in my book if you cant make the weight you shouldnt be fighting in that class, no excuses it happens all the time between 2 fighters when one of them is the big draw or name, Broner, Mayweather, Garcia all these guys takeing advantage of their opponents and giving themselves an unfair advantage because they no the other guy will fight because they need the money, Not nice from Garcia and his camp you cant have him makeing his fights at 126 and then coming in on purpose at 128 makes a joke of the thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Big Ears wrote: »
    He's not necessarily moving up, despite not making weight for this fight (he didn't actually try), they've said he can do Feather or Super-Feather.

They purposely came in 2 lbs over for this fight (hence why you didn't see him try to lose any weight), forfeit $100,000 and ensure that the Lopez fight was a formality. Making weight at this stage probably does take a bit out of him at 126 to be fair, so they decided they didn't want to do it. Although Lopez had to and apparently had to kill himself to do so, major advantage for team Garcia, worth every bit of that $100,000.

Apparently Lopez's team wanted the fight at 128 lbs initially, but Garcia's team said no. They knew exactly what they were doing, and I wouldn't be surprised if this was a tactic formed several months ago.

Proof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

He didn't try make weight in the end. Mickey said it afterwards that he was sick the previous week and knew before he got on the scales he wasn't going to make weight

It was still another great performance by him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

megadodge wrote: »
    Proof?

Well short of a voicelip or video of Garcia or his team saying it, we'll never get that proof. But come on, from everything that has happened we can likely infer it, and I think it's naive to believe that isn't what occurred.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Well short of a voicelip or video of Garcia or his team saying it, we'll never get that proof. But come on, from everything that has happened we can likely infer it, and I think it's naive to believe that isn't what occurred.

To be totally honest, the way you mention how they decided to "forfeit $100,00" as if we're only talking a few quid is naive in the extreme. It's not like he's earning Mayweather type purses and ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND DOLLARS means nothing. His career-high purse prior to this fight was the Salido one where he earned $220,000, so even if he was earning twice as much for the Lopez fight, $100,000 is an enourmous chunk - when you have to take all the other deductions into account as well he could nearly be fighting for nothing!

If you read all the various reports on the weigh in you'll see words like "gaunt", "emaciated" and "drained" being used to describe Garcia, which certainly would seem to fly in the face of your theory.

megadodge wrote: »
    To be totally honest, the way you mention how they decided to "forfeit $100,00" as if we're only talking a few quid is naive in the extreme. It's not like he's earning Mayweather type purses and ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND DOLLARS means nothing. His career-high purse prior to this fight was the Salido one where he earned $220,000, so even if he was earning twice as much for the Lopez fight, $100,000 is an enourmous chunk - when you have to take all the other deductions into account as well he could nearly be fighting for nothing!

If you read all the various reports on the weigh in you'll see words like "gaunt", "emaciated" and "drained" being used to describe Garcia, which certainly would seem to fly in the face of your theory.

Just saw in Boxing News today that it was actually $150,000, which reinforces my belief even more.