Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Airport Pick up parking

• 15-06-2013 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭

Hey, I will be collecting a friend from the airport next week and I was just wondering will I have to pay the daily rate for the parking as I'll ned to help with bags and all?

Or is there a place to park and pay per hour?

From terminal 1.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Terminal 1 Short Term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Might be slightly out of date as I haven't done this for a while.......

DAA allows private cars up the ramp to the departure level to drop off departing passengers so if your arriving passenger takes the escalator to the departure level and then exits the building and goes left, you can pick them up there but you need to make sure that they have arrived and have picked up their bags and got their butts outside to wait for you because you can't just arrive, dump the car and go inside looking for them as there is a high probability that you'll be towed away.

Otherwise park in the T1 short term, walk to the arrivals level and meet your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

coylemj wrote: »

DAA allows private cars up the ramp to the departure level to drop off departing passengers so if your arriving passenger takes the escalator to the departure level and then exits the building and goes left, you can pick them up there but you need to make sure that they have arrived and have picked up their bags and got their butts outside to wait for you because you can't just arrive, dump the car and go inside looking for them as there is a high probability that you'll be towed away.

Incorrect. Passenger pick ups are prohibited in the departure set down area. The DAA are wise to the idea of people trying to by pass the short term car parks, and using the departures set down area instead to pick up arriving passengers. There are signs all over the departure drop off zone telling people that passenger pick ups are strictly prohibited. There are also lots of airport police around, who are very quick to hand out on the spot fines to people who try to do so. I found that out the hard way. :mad:

OP, follow the signs for the T1 short term car park & park there. It will cost you a couple of euros, but it's cheaper than a fine.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Incorrect.

Fair enough but in quoting my post you chose to deliberately remove this disclaimer which I posted right before my advice to the OP....
    Might be slightly out of date as I haven't done this for a while.......

All you had to say was that I was/am out of date with my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭Fagashlil

It's not that strictly enforced, did it just last week collections my parents from holiday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Fair enough but in quoting my post you chose to deliberately remove this disclaimer which I posted right before my advice to the OP....

All you had to say was that I was/am out of date with my advice.

Not only did he misquote you but he was incorrect.

Your advice actually isn't wrong. It might be prohibited but if you're well synchronised it's easily possible to pick up at departures.

I regularly pick up my brother if he's travelling alone. If he has the missus and kid in tow with extra luggage it's easier to park in short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

My apologies coylemj. I did not mean to cause offence by the manner in which I quoted you. :)

I was not incorrect in saying that pick ups are prohibited in the drop off zone. They are prohibited. My reason for highlighting the part of coylemj's post that I did, was that it seemed to imply (in how I read it anyway) is that there is an an area in the drop off zone, where pick ups are allowed take place. There is not. If I misread the implicit meaning there, again, my apologies.

I don't doubt that at the right time of day, and with a bit of experience & cuteness, a passenger pick up could indeed be done in the passenger set down area. Considering the OP's question, I presume that he/she is not overly familiar with Dublin airport. Given that, I don't think that advising him to do something that is prohibited, and that involved dodging the Guards, is a wise thing to do, especially as the OP also needs to help his friend with their bags before they can gun it out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Is their an area over near the buses that you can do this since the work from T2?

So come out of T1 and cross over to the shopping street/ short term A and continue out near where the long term buses set down.

I don't think there's any confusion or disagreement here - we all know that picking up in Dublin airport using a private car is prohibited - though I would have thought that that fact was obvious given that they haven't allowed private cars onto the arrivals ramp for years. That's why I advised the OP to tell his friend to get the escalator to the departures level before exiting terminal 1.

With proper timing and co-ordination I'd certainly risk it, though with the Aircoach covering so much of the city and the port tunnel making the journey to the southside so much shorter, most people can look after themselves nowadays. I haven't volunteered to pickup anyone from the airport for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

A (friendly) copper there yesterday suggested to me that they have cameras which "read your registration number" and issue fines. Anybody know if there's any truth to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

I've been picking up people in the drop off zone for years. Sometimes I even wait 5-10 mins for them to come out the doors.

I've been told to move on by Airport Police once. I just circled round and came up again when the pick-up was waiting there.

Never been fined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

I think the copper is telling you a fairy story! Reminds me of when we were kids, our parents would tell us not to be climbing the wall near the railway track, as the driver had a camera and would take our photos and give them to the police!

I have picked up and been picked up from departures many many times with no adverse consequences. The last time was back in April. But as mentioned already, you need to be well coordinated and quick. What we usually do is get the driver to park over at the petrol station and await a phone call. Once we get through customs, we ring, and driver heads up. We head to the last door on the ramp, up near the escalators. That way, if there are police around, the driver can just keep going and do a circuit and come back again. Also much easier to pull in down the back than as you enter the departures ramp.

Have only been approached by gardai once, and the garda just told us to be quick about it (which we were). In my experience it would only be an issue if you were hanging around, waiting to pick up and then doing the big family welcome home. If you are quick and discreet it's not an issue.

In my experience it would only be an issue if you were hanging around, waiting to pick up and then doing the big family welcome home. If you are quick and discreet it's not an issue.

+1 I was at the Aircoach stop at T2 a few weeks ago waiting for my bus and I observed the procedure. Anyone sitting there loitering in their car was told in no uncertain terms to get moving while others arrived, picked up waiting passengers, headed off without delay and got no hassle.

As long as there is activity, the airport police don't seem to mind. It's people hanging around and clogging up the place that they're told to discourage, the type of person who think its ok to sit in the car waiting for the wife while occupying a disabled spot outside the local supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

A (friendly) copper there yesterday suggested to me that they have cameras which "read your registration number" and issue fines. Anybody know if there's any truth to this?

They aren't even real Gardai .. just some lads in Gardai like uniforms.

Load of rubbish.

Nothing in the Byelaws to indicate they can even Issue a ticket:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1994/en/si/0425.html

Best they could do is give you a talking to or clamp/tow away if you're not in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭PeterDuggan

Nothing in the Byelaws to indicate they can even Issue a ticket.

Are you sure? There are signs up mentioning €140 fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Very sure, 140 euros is a release fee after being towed with a 35 euro per day charge in addition for each day you leave it at the compound.

http://www.dublinairport.com/gns/to-from-the-airport/by-car.aspx
    Unattended vehicles
    For security reasons, vehicles should not be left unattended at any time. Any vehicle left unattended outside a terminal will be either clamped or towed by the airport police. There is a charge of €140 for recovery of the vehicle. If the vehicle is not collected on the day it is removed there is a further €35 charge for each day’s storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

ProudDUB wrote: »
    The DAA are wise to the idea of people trying to by pass the short term car parks, and using the departures set down area instead to pick up arriving passengers. There are signs all over the departure drop off zone telling people that passenger pick ups are strictly prohibited.

Just park up, and if approached simply loop around (takes about 3 mins to loop back to departures).

After 40 pickups or so in last 12 months, have been moved on maybe 2-3 times.

I don't generally agree with people abusing the departures drop off like this, but they are mostly pretty quiet (the times I use them) so no other user is inconvenienced.

These days the wife just parks up at the petrol station, then when she sees me pop up on Find-My-Friend she tracks me to the drop-off spot and off we go.

Yes, but this is for abandoned cars. Stay in car = no problem.

A (friendly) copper there yesterday suggested to me that they have cameras which "read your registration number" and issue fines.

Bolded part untrue. Your car is allowed be on the departures ramp (once occupied). No way of knowing if you are dropping off or picking up by photo alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

They friendly copper was talking through his hole.

1. They are not Gardai. They are the DAAs private security force with limited powers in the vicinity of the airport.
    2. They cannot issue on the spot fines and do not have access to the National Vehicle data base.
    3. Yes pick ups are "prohibited" but there is not a lot they can do to prevent it other than requesting drivers to use the fee charging car park.