Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planning to buy 2WD tractor...

• 15-06-2013 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭

I'm tempted by CASE tractors. Lots of them on DoneDeal, mainly in Northern Ireland. ost look to be in very good condition.

A couple of questions. Are CASE reliable? Are there any ones to avoid? Common problems? Why have some tractors got 2 PTOs?

What's the story when you buy across the border? Do you have to pay VRT like you do on cars? How is VRT calculated? Is buying there advisable or more trouble than it's worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Gorteen wrote: »
    I'm tempted by CASE tractors. Lots of them on DoneDeal, mainly in Northern Ireland. ost look to be in very good condition.

A couple of questions. Are CASE reliable? Are there any ones to avoid? Common problems? Why have some tractors got 2 PTOs?

What's the story when you buy across the border? Do you have to pay VRT like you do on cars? How is VRT calculated? Is buying there advisable or more trouble than it's worth?

Cant speak for case tractors but vrt is 200 e for any tractor or commercial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Gorteen

simx wrote: »
    Cant speak for case tractors but vrt is 200 e for any tractor or commercial

Is that regardless of purchase price / valuation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Is that regardless of purchase price / valuation?

Yep if you bought a 12 6930 or a 89 7610 they are both 200e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Is there a reason why your going for a 2wd? If its soley for yard work or on dry land during the summer.
    If you have the chance to get a 4wd you should go with that. 4wd is always better then 2wd.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Is there a reason why your going for a 2wd? If its soley for yard work or on dry land during the summer.
    If you have the chance to get a 4wd you should go with that. 4wd is always better then 2wd.

I am not a "proper" farmer :D... I keep a few horses and all I need a tractor for is delivering round bales in the winter and spreading a bit of fertiliser, toping and bringing home turf in summer... My theory is that a 4WD is going t be more expensive, less economical, more likely to go wrong, etc, etc...

Am I wrong?

I am not a "proper" farmer :D... I keep a few horses and all I need a tractor for is delivering round bales in the winter and spreading a bit of fertiliser, toping and bringing home turf in summer... My theory is that a 4WD is going t be more expensive, less economical, more likely to go wrong, etc, etc...

Am I wrong?

Yeah more expensive alright. But not nessscarily more expensive to run as the 4wd is only turned on when it is needed. As for reliability the 4wd is built for much more hardship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

imo, if you dont need a 4wd, dont get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

If you dont need a 4wd go for the 2wd . For the work you are doing it doesnt sound like you need it .
    There are some good value 2wd tractors out there , people are all looking for 4wd and alot wouldnt even think about a 2wd so use it to your advantage when you are buying something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

I have a case 1394 2wd drive best tractor I ever had cheap to run starts first go 70hp .mine has a thing called hydrashift which means I can go up and down the gears by pushing a leaver no need for clutch mine works fine but some give a lot of trouble and tractor has to be split in 2 to fix it so watch out for that....but u can also get them with an ordinary gearbox which is what I would advise u to look out for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 paddyc310

If not needed,get good 2wheel drive , I see men around me going around big johndeere MF!cace etc only transport box ,on most of the time,,
    I would do as much with a MF 35 if you like cace get cace have it checked out ,should get good value really trees should be planted where 4wheel drive s are needed ,,,good luck,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

buy a nice 795, 895 case with XL cab . easy on juice, comfortable cab and reliable. lots of them are 2wd. don't touch a stockman cab.

some of them are international and some are case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

buy a nice 795, 895 case with XL cab . easy on juice, comfortable cab and reliable. lots of them are 2wd. don't touch a stockman cab.

some of them are international and some are case.

We have a 1986 CaseIH 885XL and it's a brute on diesel compared to our David Brown 996. It's a great tractor, comfortable cab, 4wd so great traction, good visibility, it's nice to work from. Just hard on juice.
    If the weather permits fr topping etc I'll drop the loader off the 996 and use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

but its XL :cool:. nice international with loader and xl cab for €3500 on donedeal

my lambo is hard on juice and is 100hp. Cant beat a little 2wd for diesel usage.

bbam wrote: »
    We have a 1986 CaseIH 885XL and it's a brute on diesel compared to our David Brown 996. It's a great tractor, comfortable cab, 4wd so great traction, good visibility, it's nice to work from. Just hard on juice.
    If the weather permits fr topping etc I'll drop the loader off the 996 and use it.

but its XL :cool:. nice international with loader and xl cab for €3500 on donedeal

Can you add the link? I can't find the tractor you're talkinng about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

Also planning to buy like OP. Like the case was thinking a 4230 it seems a nice handy size tractor which would suit me don't need big hp. Although there seems to be good value up north i would prefer to buy off a local dealer so there might be some warranty with it. Am thinking 4WD but not sure have a few wet bottom fields that 4wd would be handy for topping/rolling but might get away with 2wd of which there is better value to be got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Fine Day

A 2wd tractor is also a lot better around the yard. They have a better steering lock.
    I would be slow to buy a 4230 Case. The 42 series Case tractors from the mid 90s era have a poor reputation for reliability. Due to this reason these tractor can be got for handy money.
    A Case Int 885 were a decent tractor for there time giving owners good service.
    Going back to the mid 80s the Case 90 and 94 series were a great tractor apart from the hydra shift models. The hydra shift was ok when going well for certain jobs like bailing and hedge cutting but if not operate in the correct way then it would give awful trouble.
    Zetors are also a great tractor. We have a 2wd Zetor 8520 (1995) with almost 10k hours on it. Apart from a few clutch replacements it has been trouble free. Engine and gearbox never touched. It has a lovely simple 3 stage splitter in every gear which is great for the hedge cutter and bailer.
    Parts are also very cheap compared the Deutz we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭k mac

What about the landini blizzard anyone any experience with them. Would they be more reliable than the case ?

I would know very little about landini tractors. There is 1 or 2 of them popping up around my area over the last few years as there is a dealer about 20miles away now.
    What kind of money have you in mind k mac. I think you should set your budget and then see what tractors are in that price range.
    In my opinion there is a lot of scrap for sale on done deal and you want to know what you are looking for when going to see a tractor.
    A good Fiat 90-90 in 2wd would be a excellent tractor if you were able to find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Masseymad

landini blizzards are brilliant tractors! :)

Theheff wrote: »
    A 2wd tractor is also a lot better around the yard. They have a better steering lock.
    QUOTE]

yes but you dont turn the 4wd on in the yard. If your tractor will be mainly used on dry land, in the yard or on concrete then 2wd is fine. If you plan on doing loader work where you will be putting any decent amount of weight (silage work, dung, etc) the 4wd will be better you dont need the 4wd turned on in the yard but the stronger front axel can take the weight better and the bearings are stronger too. if you have hill land that will be traveled when it wet then the 4wd is better. Loader work on a 2wd eats bearings and tyres

if i could afford to change the 2wd we have for a 4wd i would. but we have a 4wd digger for all the heavy loader work and also for traveling the field in the wet. turning at headlands or getting stuck are a pain when the fields are wet and your trying to get and out of them with out digging the place up

yellow50HX. I think you are missing the point here and refering to your own circumstances about your prefence for a 4wd.
    Would you buy a 150hp tractor when a 70hp would suit your requirments. The same applies to a 4wd and 2wd. 4wd are more exspensive to run ie langer front tyres, more shafts, bearnings, seals etc.
    I have seens guys do as much with 2wd tractor as a 4wd would with the right opperator.

And yellow50HX Refering back to my last post about 2wd having a better lock I think you need to compare 2 of same tractors 1 in 2wd and the other in 4wd and see which is better around a yard etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

yellow50HX. I think you are missing the point here and refering to your own circumstances about your prefence for a 4wd.
    Would you buy a 150hp tractor when a 70hp would suit your requirments. The same applies to a 4wd and 2wd. 4wd are more exspensive to run ie langer front tyres, more shafts, bearnings, seals etc.
    I have seens guys do as much with 2wd tractor as a 4wd would with the right opperator.

And yellow50HX Refering back to my last post about 2wd having a better lock I think you need to compare 2 of same tractors 1 in 2wd and the other in 4wd and see which is better around a yard etc.

Don't agree. 2wd tractors have largely had their day. The 4wd axles are so much stonger, and rarely need work. A 2wd with a loader needs thrust bearings every other day of the week, and will get stuck more often. Even with mildly damp days a 2wd is a bit messy if you find yourself reversing against a hill with any bit of weight.

A 4wd does have the ability to land you in away more trouble though if you go into soft ground!

Gorteen who started this post just wants a tractor for light work, lifting bales and going to the bog. I don't think he wants a front loader.

I agree total that 4wd are the only answer if you require 1.
    I am not the biggest fan of front loaders on tractors 2wd or 4wd. The wrap bales that are been made now are a huge weight up to a ton, Between loader and bale there is a lot of weight on a front axel. I know most loaders now are attached to the back axel.
    I have seen guys flying down the road with 2 1/2 ton bags of fert hanging off the loader and they wonder then why they are having bother with bearings etc.

HP is not what I'm talking about. You can get small hp 4wd's. like I say if you afford a 4wd then yes I would go with over the 2wd every day of the week. With he 4wd drive turned off the steering lock is not much less with most newer (25 year or less). If all your using it for yard work or always on dry ground then a 2wd will do.

yellow50HX wrote: »
    HP is not what I'm talking about. You can get small hp 4wd's. like I say if you afford a 4wd then yes I would go with over the 2wd every day of the week. With he 4wd drive turned off the steering lock is not much less with most newer (25 year or less). If all your using it for yard work or always on dry ground then a 2wd will do.

I just simply made the hp thing as a comparison only and I know 4wd come in all sizes. I totally agree that 4wd are a lot better towards a 2wd.
    The post was started my a man looking for a 70hp tractor for light farm work only. A lot of the replies are simply gone of the course with guys only interested in 4wd only.
    We all know 4wd are much more versatile compared to a 2wd. But in this case a good 2wd may suit this man job just fine.
    I think a nice case 885 xl as was mentioned earlier in this forum would be a good choice even tho it is about 80hp as they are a pretty decent tractor with a fairly heavy backend from that era and would should get a good clean one for under 7k.

I just simply made the hp thing as a comparison only and I know 4wd come in all sizes. I totally agree that 4wd are a lot better towards a 2wd.
    The post was started my a man looking for a 70hp tractor for light farm work only. A lot of the replies are simply gone of the course with guys only interested in 4wd only.
    We all know 4wd are much more versatile compared to a 2wd. But in this case a good 2wd may suit this man job just fine.
    I think a nice case 885 xl as was mentioned earlier in this forum would be a good choice even tho it is about 80hp as they are a pretty decent tractor with a fairly heavy backend from that era and would should get a good clean one for under 7k.

i have used my own yoke for taking out bales from fields where they were stored in the winter and also for taking the bales into fields and the 2wd was a nightmare (bale spike on rear with balast on front), i use the 4wd digger now instead.
    I dont draw turf but the mention of bogs in a irish summer does throw up images of tractors buried down to thier axels. That said i remember as a kid i used to holiday in kerry and we used to go down to bog to pick turf, lots of samll masseys and dextas with duel wheels drawing home the turf.
    if the OP is not going to get bogged down to the axel getting bales in and out of fileds in the winter then the 2wd is grand.

another to take in is the ballast. silage bales can now weight 800kgs or more thats a lot of weight. i know a few lads with 3 pot tractors that are having to put on weights on the front to balace the weight. problem then is that there is a lot of weight of the front tryes (espically when there is no bale on and can push the front tyres down.

Last year i was using the 7610 2wd to bring out a bale of silage into a filed of beet with heifers (digger was out of action). was ok while i was able to follow the tracks but things started to go bad when i was movign the ring feeder. the weight on thre rear tryes was giving me grip but the front tyres were not turning just pushing mud. with no wieght on teh back i could only move forward so had to use the side brakes to spin me around and get back to the track to get out. used my uncles 45 year old dexta and transport box the next day to get into the same field to bring out a new born calf. the dexta was much lighter and the frotn tyres were not pushing as much but it still needed the weight at the back to get grip.

just saying if the OP needs to go into wet muddy fileds in winter to feed heavy silage bales then maybe a 4wd may be needed. if your only bringing them accross a yard then its not.