Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone have anything good to say about wood pellet boiler systems ?

• 14-06-2013 10:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭

Does anyone have anything good to say about wood pellet boilers ?

I was interested in getting one installed but was put off by a few things,
    - mainly the bad reports i heard/read by people, with it installed,
    - the amount of people removing them,
    - the reports of having to unclog the pellets because of the poor quality deliveries.
    - and not many people who can fix/service/maintain them..

The main reason i wanted a pellet system was because i could set it to turn on the heat for an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening, and control the temperature as much as i wanted..
    To me it was the most like a oil system, with a small bit more maintenance.

I heard of some people who liked their system but that was from a supplier who recommended to contact these people, so i wasn't really convinced and that system was very expensive!!
    Maybe it is a case of you get what you pay for..

The other option i guess is a log gasification system, but you need to manually start and get the system working, so you cannot really program this, but the people who have this system seem to be a lot happier with this system...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭GopErthike

kenneth2 wrote: »
    Does anyone have anything good to say about wood pellet boilers ?.

Some of my best friends are wood pellet boilers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭kenneth2

Lol, good to hear something nice about them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

They are absolutely, irredeemably ****. From the top:

1. Fuel is farcically expensive.
    2. Boilers are ridiculously inefficient and wasteful.
    3. Running costs are insane. It'll be 300-400 for 2 months vs. 120 for gas in an average house in winter.
    4. Boilers have to be babysat constantly, with augers (pellet delivery), igniters, and electronics all unreliable systems.
    5. Boilers are awfully designed and many have to be effectively dismantled in order to do basic things like clear out the ash pans. Instead of a single point of collection for ash, there are usually several. (in ours, there are 5, one of which you have to get a power driver to unscrew a bolt just to open).
    6. You'll need to buy a Hoover or keep an old one to clean them out properly. you'll also need wire brushes. You will get utterly filthy doing it, and so will whatever space you've installed the boiler in.
    7. They have to be kept spotlessly clean or they'll break down; I.e do the cleaning process above at least once a week.
    8. Even if you keep them clean, tar and creosote will build up inside them. Good luck getting it off.
    9.There is no "instant heat" like there is with any other system. They like to warm up and see if there's an opportunity to stop working for about an hour before they get down to actually burning pellets. Assuming they decide to work, it takes another 10 minutes to get up to temperature.
    10. Maintenance costs are twice what a normal system is, parts are harder to find, and very few people service them.
    11. They are about as eco friendly as burning tigers on a chemical bonfire.
    12. You have effectively no temperature control at all, since the boiler will continue to burn pellets and produce heat for a good while after your thermostat switches it off. All your thermostat does is stop the auger and igniter.

The guy who serviced ours actually tells people never to install them, and get oil instead. When the person who makes their living from people keeping these systems tells you to ditch them, that says it all.

What I'd like to do with ours is find the previous owners who installed it and feed them into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

They are absolutely, irredeemably ****. From the top:

1. Fuel is farcically expensive.
    2. Boilers are ridiculously inefficient and wasteful.
    3. Running costs are insane. It'll be 300-400 for 2 months vs. 120 for gas in an average house in winter.
    4. Boilers have to be babysat constantly, with augers (pellet delivery), igniters, and electronics all unreliable systems.
    5. Boilers are awfully designed and many have to be effectively dismantled in order to do basic things like clear out the ash pans. Instead of a single point of collection for ash, there are usually several. (in ours, there are 5, one of which you have to get a power driver to unscrew a bolt just to open).
    6. You'll need to buy a Hoover or keep an old one to clean them out properly. you'll also need wire brushes. You will get utterly filthy doing it, and so will whatever space you've installed the boiler in.
    7. They have to be kept spotlessly clean or they'll break down; I.e do the cleaning process above at least once a week.
    8. Even if you keep them clean, tar and creosote will build up inside them. Good luck getting it off.
    9.There is no "instant heat" like there is with any other system. They like to warm up and see if there's an opportunity to stop working for about an hour before they get down to actually burning pellets. Assuming they decide to work, it takes another 10 minutes to get up to temperature.
    10. Maintenance costs are twice what a normal system is, parts are harder to find, and very few people service them.
    11. They are about as eco friendly as burning tigers on a chemical bonfire.
    12. You have effectively no temperature control at all, since the boiler will continue to burn pellets and produce heat for a good while after your thermostat switches it off. All your thermostat does is stop the auger and igniter.

The guy who serviced ours actually tells people never to install them, and get oil instead. When the person who makes their living from people keeping these systems tells you to ditch them, that says it all.

What I'd like to do with ours is find the previous owners who installed it and feed them into it.

So you are pleased with yours then, lol!

I agree though. I just took out one a couple of months ago & replaced it with LPG boiler. It cost the client €13,000 for the boiler & never worked properly since it was installed 4 years ago. Company who installed it disappeared & nobody else would touch it.
    Too many sales people selling boilers, importing crap dressed up with glossy "German/Austrian" brochures. When the sh1t hits the fan, they seem to mysteriously go out of business.

My Local Authority fitted 15 of them & have since removed & dumped everyone of them also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

shane0007 wrote: »
    So you are pleased with yours then, lol!

I agree though. I just took out one a couple of months ago & replaced it with LPG boiler. It cost the client €13,000 for the boiler & never worked properly since it was installed 4 years ago. Company who installed it disappeared & nobody else would touch it.
    Too many sales people selling boilers, importing crap dressed up with glossy "German/Austrian" brochures. When the sh1t hits the fan, they seem to mysteriously go out of business.

My Local Authority fitted 15 of them & have since removed & dumped everyone of them also.

What about the one that Grant have out

Robbie.G wrote: »

Pellets will still be stupidly expensive no matter how much the boilers improve. Which I doubt they ever will.

Yes they are better built & have excellent back up. They are also the only condensing WP boiler on the market. They have a self cleaning system too.

They will not sell it to anybody unless they undergo their training programme & they must commission it for the installer to ensure it is installed properly. They will also insist on the pellets used for the warranty as poor quality pellets in Ireland is the vain of the market.

They are modulating also.

Downside, they have a nice price tag & quality of pellets is still very debatable & inconsistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Not much use in a zombie apocalypse situation so. No one will deliver them pellets then.

My rule for choice of fire - If you can't burn your own furniture don't install it.

Someone at the door have to go,
    And baracade it some more.

worded wrote: »
    My rule for choice of fire - If you can't burn your own furniture don't install it.

Someone at the door have to go.

You haven't burnt it already so!

Thanks for the responses! VERY funny and informative!!
    :-)
    Seems there isn't much good things to say about them...
    Slutmonkey, sounds like you need an oil or gas backup system..

no, I need a lottery win and a trebuchet to return the boiler to the manufacturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

I have two wood pellet stoves, one in the house with boiler and one in a workshop, non-boiler.
    In four years I've never had a problem with either. I've found these top-loaders to be clean & effiecient, and there's not one bad thing I can say about them. Pellets cost e3.80 per 10 kilo bag locally, and 5.00 euro per 15 Kilo bag, which at 1 kilo per hour burning time is not too bad!
    The main problem with pellet stoves is when people cut back on getting a purpose built hopper to store loose pellets, people who couldn't be arsed finding out how to operate them, or listening to public-house talk from folks who never even saw a pellet stove.
    A quick hoover-out once a week keeps them clean, and little iof any chimney soot.

Like I said, four years and no problems with either of my stoves.

Great to hear the WP stoves are good!
    But I was more interested in WP boiler systems, as a programable heating source, I was kind of hoping to hear someone who had a system in, with something very good to say about it, where they got it and their recommendations, if such a person exists..

kenneth2 wrote: »
    Great to hear the WP stoves are good!
    Well, my ones are.
    Some of my family have them also with no problems.
    If you're getting one, make sure it's got the 'fan' heater built in.

The main problem with pellet stoves is when people cut back on getting a purpose built hopper to store loose pellets, people who couldn't be arsed finding out how to operate them, or listening to public-house talk from folks who never even saw a pellet stove.
    A quick hoover-out once a week keeps them clean, and little iof any chimney soot.

Does that apply to the guy that services them? Because like I say, if someone that is qualified to service them and makes their living from it describes them as ****, then I'd say your experience is "not standard".

Four years ago when I got mine there was a Gov grant given for getting a pellet boiler installed in the home. Therefore, they had to be installed by a registered and recognised qualified person.
    Since the grant is not given anymore, anyone can install these appliances. Not saying that 'your guy' isn't qualified, so I cannot comment further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Captain Pike

I have two wood pellet stoves, one in the house with boiler and one in a workshop, non-boiler.
    In four years I've never had a problem with either. I've found these top-loaders to be clean & effiecient, and there's not one bad thing I can say about them. Pellets cost e3.80 per 10 kilo bag locally, and 5.00 euro per 15 Kilo bag, which at 1 kilo per hour burning time is not too bad!

Like I said, four years and no problems with either of my stoves.

Iv literally just installed a Gejs wood pellet boiler only yesterday, do you have any advice on how to set it up properly? As the person I bought it off doesn't seem to know what he is at!! Do I need to have it turned burning all the time? Is it possible to set it up to turn on for an hour in the morning and the evening without havin to go out and relight it ev time? Any advice would be gratefully appreciated, I don't want a 9k white elephant!!

Jaysus, you've fitted it yourself & you don't have a clue about setting it up?
    What about ventilation, combustion, flue testing, safety storage, & all the tray that goes with it????

They are a fossil fuel burning product so therefore carbon monoxide is a by-product of them & the pellets even do not have to be burning to give off CO!

It beggars belief...

It was set up by the person I bought it off! But he didn't seem to have any advice on the running of it, or how to set it up to turn on when I want.

So he was not competent to do so either.

I concur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Will the manufacturer support his installation?

I concur.

When installing as per manufacturer's instructions, part of that is commissioning & explaining to the customer how it works, how to use it & how often it should be serviced.

I would get the installer back to complete this. If he does not know how to, then HE should pay somebody who can.

ted1 wrote: »

I hope so and think he will, we did research and its a good system but I'm new to it and hoped for a bit more than a " it's lighting now, tis grand" instruction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 keswick12

Be careful as the heat from them gets very intense and have been known to explode.

I dont mean to frighten you but think carefully.

Regards

Liv

ted1 wrote: »

Only if it has been installed & commissioned as per their instructions.

If I was after forking out 9k on an installation and nobody could explain how to work it and give you basic info on service intervals etc i would be cancelling my cheque

+1 absolutely

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated, I don't want a 9k white elephant!!

Too late! Get that guy back in asap, get a manufacturer's installation certificate, check with the manufacturer is he registered/authorised to sell AND install.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

Www.adverts.ie. >>>>>> that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Iv never seen one that worked properly. And seen alot that were pulled out.

They only work on a huge scale where they run constantly and heat block of houses. 30 -100 And you get charged for heat you use.

They are not even slightly workable for the way irish want to use boilers. Instant heat and turning it on for a hour or so morning and evening.

ok.. getting worried now!! Anyone know of anybody who can service or advise me on how to set it up right in the Carlow Kilkenny area? The guy I got it off is on holiday for a week!!!

I wouldn't get anyone else to go near it yet.Wait for your man to come back from holiday and then sort it out with him.If you get anyone else he might blame them for tampering with his installation and then try and get out of guarantying it.
    So leave it alone for the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭kscobie

I done the installers course in Grants last year, and have priced two. One is a non runner I think, the other is for a new house, due to start in a few weeks. I wasn't that keen on pellet boilers beforehand, but the reassuring thing about the boiler is who is making it. There is 8 or 10 fitted around Athlone, and I have spoke to two of the plumbers who fitted them for "courage", and they have nothing bad to say. One said that the only problem was one householder got cheap bagged pellets, which produced a load of sand & clinker. He went back to the Balcas pellets, and no hassle since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 luapy2

i,ve been involved in a related business not long now, maybe 27,28 years and i have never had anyone hand me 9k for something that will do exactly as it says on the tin "maybe" proceed with extreme caution there are so many top quality pellet boilers installed and not set up properly actually bought one from a customer myself ,yep second hand , --ite pellets , serviced by a pal of yer man in the pub. brought it home set it up and costing me 53% of oil it modulates and auto ignites when required . 28 days running with only a handful of ash in the pan.so when it comes to renewable energy its what you require and if it suits you and your life style. pellet boilers do work, all you need is right boiler right location , right installer. oh and "an open mind." and lobby your local td to have grants reinstated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭corkplumber

luapy2 wrote: »
    serviced by a pal of yer man in the pub. .

you cant beat the lad down the pub.

same guys usually know a little bit about everything and a lot about nothing.

I only heard an eejit at the weekend telling a lad in the pub he would need an inch pipe to feed his oil burner. unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

you cant beat the lad down the pub.

same guys usually know a little bit about everything and a lot about nothing.

I only heard an eejit at the weekend telling a lad in the pub he would need an inch pipe to feed his oil burner. unreal.
    Maybe he was talking about his 500 kw boilers that run his hotel! Then 1" would be enough!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭corkplumber

Dtp79 wrote: »
    Maybe he was talking about his 500 kw boilers that run his hotel! Then 1" would be enough!!

i dont know. i never went bigger than 10mm for a single boiler .ill have to look up me oftec books.

10mm is enough for nearly every domestic situation.
    The problem caused by over-sizing an oil line is cavitation of the oil. It will bring air to the oil pump & eventually wreck the pump. Similar to air being caught in a heating system circulating pump.

I was only kidding!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

10mm is enough for nearly every domestic situation.
    The problem caused by over-sizing an oil line is cavitation of the oil. It will bring air to the oil pump & eventually wreck the pump. Similar to air being caught in a heating system circulating pump.

Not if you use a transfer pump and a zwiky valve!

What's a zwiky valve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Dtp79 wrote: »
    What's a zwiky valve?

Like a constant pressure regulating valve.

Cavitation could still happen if the pipe was over-sized from the pressure regulating valve to the oil pump, but I do get your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 optimumIQ

I have to agree there are some terrible boilers out there with no back up or assistance when a fault occurs, but there are also some excellent machines on the market that have outstanding performance that dont break down.
    I also have to agree with the standard of Pellets that are also available moisture content that is to high delivery methods that are sub standard and dust levels that need to be addressed, you cant run a petrol car with diesel. If you are thinking about installing a wood pellet boiler make sure you do alot of research first and dont believe what some of these oil men tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭zoom_cool

I have pellet stove for the last 3 years not a single problem and my cousin has a ETA pellet boiler and has no problems with it either. The biggest problem I think is bad quality pellets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 optimumIQ

I find that boilers that have an in built dust extraction can handle the poor quality pellets better and solve issues such as faulty ignition and jammed/blocked pellet feeds, i also think that boilers like ETA or FROILING or other high end machines although more expensive should be considered an investment rather than a once off cost when installing them.