Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donamon Dynamos Grand Prix

• 12-06-2013 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

Anyone doing this?
    I'd appreciate the route profile if anyone has it. I'm probably heading up.
    Slo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Can anyone confirm that this is the route:
    http://app.strava.com/segments/1552610
    The profile looks a bit dodgy...as if the top is cut off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

zoom in on a satelite image of the flat section, u see its misisng a section for the road, hence the flat bit.

michael196 wrote: »
    zoom in on a satelite image of the flat section, u see its misisng a section for the road, hence the flat bit.

Ah, good spot.
    I threw it into map my ride and here's the full route (I think):
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/226253455

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭XtotheZ

Great route!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

get yer drafting gear ready slo_rida - Im heading down to do this one....:)

lennymc wrote: »
    get yer drafting gear ready slo_rida - Im heading down to do this one....:)

Bring your mud guards!
    Should be good craic...we'll try get home on our bikes though...not in the back of an ambulance. Will you have a new CBoardman under you? What did you get in the end to replace that piece of junk I wrecked on you?

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Bring your mud guards!
    Should be good craic...we'll try get home on our bikes though...not in the back of an ambulance. Will you have a new CBoardman under you? What did you get in the end to replace that piece of junk I wrecked on you?

ill be on a different boardman. i bought a bmc to replace the crashed bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Thinking of making the spin over for this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Good race,good circuit,and a fast finish.We're in for this one.Hot food after as well pig out time in Castlecoote.

wav1 wrote: »
    Good race,good circuit,and a fast finish.We're in for this one.Hot food after as well pig out time in Castlecoote.

Ah wav, I don't need encouragment on pigging out!!
    Do ye know it? Is the course I posted above correct and do you know how many laps for A4? I presume it's at least 4.

By the way, very little response from the organisers...I facebooked them but no response and you can't like or post on it because they are set up as a person not an organisation. We could do with sign on details etc too...

Ah wav, I don't need encouragment on pigging out!!
    Do ye know it? Is the course I posted above correct and do you know how many laps for A4? I presume it's at least 4.

By the way, very little response from the organisers...I facebooked them but no response and you can't like or post on it because they are set up as a person not an organisation. We could do with sign on details etc too...
    Spoke to organiser this morning.4 laps for A4 5 laps for A3/Jun and 7 laps A1/A2.Sign on location is the pub in the centre of Castlecoote village,about 8km from Roscommon town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

Is the course I posted above correct and do you know how many laps for A4? I presume it's at least 4.
    Yea that was the course last year at least I have a time on strava for it not very high though in the rankings:(. Trying to decide if I'll do it again back in college the last few months so training has been a bit sporadic. The A4 race was fairly tame last year I thought easier than the club league. It was my first open race so I did sit in and minded myself a bit more than I would normally. Average speed was well down on what we would do in the club league though the races are a bit shorter. There is a good sharp climb in the middle of the lap. No one in the A4 got away or really tried to but the A1-A2 race was won by a breakaway and I think the A3 may have been aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Jack Joll

Lads,

Anybody have any idea of sign on time and race start times, is it 12:30pm or is that generic. Tried ringing number provided by CI website and the number is no longer in existance! Thanks!

Start time IS 12.30pm
    Last year a lone winner of the A1/A2 race.Three rider break in the A3/Jun race that just about stayed away by 10 secs or so.Very fast run in to the finish.

Managed 6th today so that's me upgraded. Was nice to catch up with slo_rida who kept his 100% record of ending up in the ditch when he cycles with me. Hopefully him and bike are ok. He was going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Jack Joll

Apologies to the lads I took down today in the A4 race, I was the Leitrim CC participant. I couldn't honestly tell ye what happened, but take full responsibility. Hope none of ye are stinging as mush as me right now, and your machines are alright.
    Sorry again lads!

Managed 6th today so that's me upgraded. Was nice to catch up with slo_rida who kept his 100% record of ending up in the ditch when he cycles with me. Hopefully him and bike are ok. He was going well.
    Told you it wasn't far away.Well done and welcome to our A3 panel.Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Great stuff lenny man,look forward to spinning with yea soon,come on now slo rider,hurry up and join us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Thoroughly deserved Lenny...good job. You obviously just wanted to score the bare minimum to get into A3...keeping under the radar eh!??

padjo5 wrote: »
    Thoroughly deserved Lenny...good job. You obviously just wanted to score the bare minimum to get into A3...keeping under the radar eh!??
    Your next whether you like it or not...Dragged up screaming..

padjo5 wrote: »

ah ye know me padjo5, like Goldilocks (with a ginger beard) the amount of points was just right!!

as wav1 says, your next.

The warm up was quite funny today, the three Drogheda lads spinning off into the distance, ending up lost, and having to bust a gut to get back to the start line. 26k warm up, with the last 10k at flat out "I hope we dont miss the start of the race" pace. Oh how we laughed. :eek:

ah ye know me padjo5, like Goldilocks (with a ginger beard) the amount of points was just right!!

as wav1 says, your next.

The warm up was quite funny today, the three Drogheda lads spinning off into the distance, ending up lost, and having to bust a gut to get back to the start line. 26k warm up, with the last 10k at flat out "I hope we dont miss the start of the race" pace. Oh how we laughed. :eek:
    I know one of the three def wasn't laughing.He wasn't able.Gave me an idea what a club team would look like in a TTT though.

I suppose that explains why you sat in all day and waited for the sprint!! Oh and that fella in red made you look like a little girl...dropping you on the flat at 30kph :eek:

Ah no, well done on the upgrade.

I was raging where the crash happened, I was gonna have another go on the little drag and see what we could do from there. I was having a ball, it was no bother breaking out of the group but staying away was impossible. I think I needed a better TT once I had made a bit of a gap. A bit of threshold training is needed I think.

There was a westport guy who, like myself seemed to be trying to get away at every oppurtunity. Is he on here? I hope he got up in the sprint, though he may have got down in the crash, I don't know...I just bounced back up and tried to chase back on but couldn't finish closing the gap every time I got close. There were a few lads groaning on the ground, I hate leaving that when someone could be hurt...catholic guilt!! I also felt a bit guilty cos some poor unfortunate completely broke my fall as I landed plum on top of him...I should have bought him breakfast :P

It was a crazy lazy group!!

Great race though, perfect weather, good safe course, well marshalled, we had a good motor bike marshal in the A4...very sharp. Can't comment on the food as I went home in a huff cos I thought I may have done something in the finish (probably need to grow up a bit!!).

Well done Donamon Dynamos.

Jack Joll wrote: »
    Apologies to the lads I took down today in the A4 race, I was the Leitrim CC participant. I couldn't honestly tell ye what happened, but take full responsibility. Hope none of ye are stinging as mush as me right now, and your machines are alright.
    Sorry again lads!

Fair play for coming on and apologising. And hard luck on crashing out. Funny...I probably called you every name under the sun on the way home...not knowing what happened and presuming you deliberately ended my race :D
    No, me and my bike are fine...hope everyone else is the same. Sh!t happens, good luck in your next race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭theshadow

There was a westport guy who, like myself seemed to be trying to get away at every oppurtunity. Is he on here? I hope he got up in the sprint, though he may have got down in the crash, I don't know...

I'm afraid I came down in the crash alright, a few scrapes but my hanger was damaged so race over. Thought riding at front all day I'd avoid trouble but these things happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭Ryath

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.174134626095489.1073741826.174133486095603&type=1

Good few photos from the race spotted Gingerlocks in a few of them. Sorry I couldn't make the race one of few open races ran near to me. Very short on free time and fitness at the moment. Looks like the A4 race was bit faster than last year.
    Congrats on the upgrade Lenny heard two of my clubmates went astray with you on the warm up I won't ask who led who awry.
    Other two clubmates got caught in the crash so may as been as well I missed it really don't have the time to be nursing injuries at moment. Bad crash last year as well pure dumb luck I weaved through that on the day with out being taken down. I'm doing Mullingar on the 30th but will probably suffer like a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 murphc7

Hi Folks, any results posted for these races?

murphc7 wrote: »
    Hi Folks, any results posted for these races?

Think these are the:
    http://www.irishcyclingphotos.com/?p=17318