Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NH 7635

• 11-06-2013 8:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

Anyone out there got one of these?

spotted one in a garage near here and will look to see how the finances are. Have spotted ones before and i know they are from the fiat stable of NH and are the fore runners of the TL and JXU models. really like the look of them and will be fine and tidy around our yard. good view over the bonnet and not too big so should be able to fit in where the 7610 can.

i know they are pre power stuttle but i suppose with the mechanical side it mean they are easier to maintain as they get older, not much electrial gadgets to go wrong in the gear box or lift.

Dont know anyone with one so was wonder what they are like to own/drive/use, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Much the same as a TL90 as you said. If it has a manual shuttle just be careful of clutch wear if there is a loader on it. Otherwise should be sound out. Might be hoppy on the road though as they have a short wheelbase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Much the same as a TL90 as you said. If it has a manual shuttle just be careful of clutch wear if there is a loader on it. Otherwise should be sound out. Might be hoppy on the road though as they have a short wheelbase.

i'd say clutch wear is a issue with any tractor witha dry clutch and a loader so that is soemthing i'll have to take into account for every one i'll be looking at. anything with a power shuttle/wet clutch will be out of my price range.

wont be doing too much road work and might leave the loader on it all the time for balast unless i can pick one up with weights on it.

i know the cab isnt huge but how is the left hand shuttle to work with, is it a bit aquward next to the seat?

also is there enough room to take a passenger (young ones when they are a bit older)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

They are more of a match for the TL 100 than the TL 90.

Can be opened up a bit and they are a right workhorse and nice and compact.

I'd have a two wheel drive one here in an instant if the finances allowed but too sentimental about my old 3cyl Ford's. :o

Dry clutch as you say but it is relatively long lasting. It will probably have a splitter which is a slide switch rather than a button.

Lift capacity is on the low side but fine for stockwork.

The TL had a slightly nicer cab with full length glass doors and side mounted exhaust but these are really only cosmetics to be fair.

Left hand shuttle is fine IMV.

Can stick the young lads up on the left hand mudguard and there is a ledge there for that and I think you could get a left hand passenger seat too.

The front of the bonnet (black section) is a good indicator of how well it was looked after. ;)

nashmach wrote: »

I'd have a two wheel drive one here in an instant if the finances allowed but too sentimental about my old 3cyl Ford's. :o

Dry clutch as you say but it is relatively long lasting. It will probably have a splitter which is a slide switch rather than a button.

The TL had a slightly nicer cab with full length glass doors and side mounted exhaust but these are really only cosmetics to be fair.

Can stick the young lads up on the left hand mudguard and there is a ledge there for that and I think you could get a left hand passenger seat too.

The front of the bonnet (black section) is a good indicator of how well it was looked after. ;)

yeah i like the ol 3 pots too but any heavy work is too much for them. also 4wd over 2wd anyday. absolutly no comparsion, any change of tractor i make will be for a 4wd

yellow50HX wrote: »
    yeah i like the ol 3 pots too but any heavy work is too much for them. also 4wd over 2wd anyday. absolutly no comparsion, any change of tractor i make will be for a 4wd

I'm inclined to agree with you too.

We upgraded from a 62hp 2wd to 95hp 4wd and it is like chalk and cheese.

To be honest should not have bought the 62hp a few years before that and instead went older but 4wd.

You won't go far wrong with a 35 series or later TL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Once you go to 4WD you'd never go back. It's the simple things where the extra traction you get from engaging it that makes the difference.

I'm inclined to agree with you too.

We upgraded from a 62hp 2wd to 95hp 4wd and it is like chalk and cheese.

To be honest should not have bought the 62hp a few years before that and instead went older but 4wd.

You won't go far wrong with a 35 series or later TL.

what did you go with? TL100?

Damo810 wrote: »
    Once you go to 4WD you'd never go back. It's the simple things where the extra traction you get from engaging it that makes the difference.

yeah we have a 4wd digger and you really notice the difference in the wet, and you have much stronger front axel too

what did you go with? TL100?

We stayed blue but a different shade - Landini 9880 - a late one.

The TL was a little light for tillage we felt plus this one came up with low hours and one very very careful local owner.

Did try a 6635 and liked it but money was too strong for what it was.

We stayed blue but a different shade - Landini 9880 - a late one.

The TL was a little light for tillage we felt plus this one came up with low hours and one very very careful local owner.

Did try a 6635 and liked it but money was too strong for what it was.

yeah i'd say a big differnce for tillage work alright.
    neighbour here has a mixed farm with sucklers and about 20ac of tillage, he used to till the whole lot with a pair of ford 2wd's (4610 & 5600). he inheritted about another 30/35ac from a realtive and decided to put that in tillage too so the 5600 was under a bit of pressure. got himself a 88 reg 7710 with sq last year and a few bigger implemnts and is delighted with it. plenty of grunt and is big enough to handle the plough and harrows without being too big. and as he said there is a nice bit of comfort too when your up on it for hours at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

i dotn think are many electrics in them. do they have a external control to operatre the arms for hitching up at the back. These are invaluable if you can get one espically if your doing a lot of hitching on and off the 3PL.

grazeaway wrote: »
    i dotn think are many electrics in them. do they have a external control to operatre the arms for hitching up at the back. These are invaluable if you can get one espically if your doing a lot of hitching on and off the 3PL.

It is a cable and ratchet system which is not great but works.

Is that the knob on the right of the link arms? Do you just keep it turn until you get to required height.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Its on the fight of the lift arms and has a handle that you pull out to turn the rachet.

As already said it is not wonderful but I was surprised how often I use it all the same. Only downside is with wider implements it is hard to use without being between the back wheel and the implement. Not the safest place in the yard when using it.

The 7635 I was looking at a few weeks ago was sold quickly but I have spotted a 6635. The engines on the 66 and 76 seem identical but there is a 10 hp difference I taught maybe the 76 was a turbo version of the 66 but its seems they are both turbos.

Is there a different fuel pump in them? If so could a 7635 fuel pump be fitted on a 6635 to up the power? While the 85 hp would be enough for most jobs round here I do a bit of tillage work and would need a bit more grunt to drive the power harrow and might get my own mower too.

The 7635 I was looking at a few weeks ago was sold quickly but I have spotted a 6635. The engines on the 66 and 76 seem identical but there is a 10 hp difference I taught maybe the 76 was a turbo version of the 66 but its seems they are both turbos.

Is there a different fuel pump in them? If so could a 7635 fuel pump be fitted on a 6635 to up the power? While the 85 hp would be enough for most jobs round here I do a bit of tillage work and would need a bit more grunt to drive the power harrow and might get my own mower too.

As you say just a different pump setting.

Same pump just a different setting. So 6635 and 7635 are the same machine then? I taught they were like the old ford 6610 and 7610 same tractor but one has a turbo charged version of the engine.

Same engine, both turboed but different settings.

No other differences from what I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

Damo810 wrote: »

tl90a
    017ijb.jpg

017ijb.jpg

stanflt wrote: »
    tl90a
    017ijb.jpg

017ijb.jpg

That looks fairly heafty tank behind a 90hp tractor. I take it the fields are flat and dry

Same engine, both turboed but different settings.

No other differences from what I recall.

Might make a phone call just to test the waters and see what money is like

Be around 18k probably!