Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social clubs, groups activities in waterford

• 11-06-2013 1:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭

Would like to get some recommendations for some clubs , groups in Waterford with a good social element to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

PM Sent OP

• Registered Users Posts: 33 skateboardP

I'd be interested in this also, if anyone has any suggestions?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Yes, I would also like info on this, something that isnt cycling or running, which seems to be the bulk of clubs in Waterford. Are there any book clubs, pilates, cinema clubs etc, if there are any out there I wudnt mind having a look. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 963 ✭✭✭cococoady

We play dodgeball in de la salle college hall every Wednesday evening 7-8:30. It's only €5 and we have a great craic. New players always welcome and no experience needed. It's a great work out and you get to meet new people aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

cococoady wrote: »
    We play dodgeball in de la salle college hall every Wednesday evening 7-8:30. It's only €5 and we have a great craic. New players always welcome and no experience needed. It's a great work out and you get to meet new people aswell.

dodgeball! dive duck dodge dip and dive, it amazes me what people get up to in their spare time, fair play, and people complain there is nothing to do except go to the pub

Im sure 'Waterford film for all' have get togethers when they are showing films again, probably winter time.
    Volunteering for some charity would surely be a good way to meet people and do some good stuff too.

Forgot to mention that a few of us from this forum meet up on Wednesday nights for a game a ball on the indoor hall in the kingfisher. 9-10 pm. See other thread for details

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭angelfalling

We have a Roller Derby team in Waterford--- you don't have to participate on skates (although we need refs and skaters, too!), we're currently looking for off-skates help. We travel around and have great games and nights out with the other teams in Ireland-- really amazing people are involved in the sport. Great mix of people-- its become my social life in Ireland! You don't need to know anything or have any experience (in sport or fitness) to get involved.
    waterfordcityviqueens@gmail.com or www.facebook.com/waterfordcityviqueens

Dunmore badminton club, we're based between oskars and the woodlands on the Dunmore Road, in the old Brasscock church. Great social side, club night is every Wednesday night from 7 - 11(most members arrive from 8:30 onwards) all year round and theres drinks in oskars/woodland after, theres Tag Rugby and interfirms tennis teams and then we'd have general social get togethers with members some friday saturday nights. It was great spot to find as an outsider moving to Waterford and helped build our circle of friends. Players of all standards play in the club so don't worry if you've never played or picked up a racquet before.

If ye want anymore info gimme a shout.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭0rt

Deise medieval is a viking re-enactment group based in waterford. Learn all sorts of skills like attack and defence, using a sword / axe for both. Its quite the workout! We meet monday nights at 8. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭barraseaclaid

Plenty of scout groups around the place too if your interested in learning about the outdoors, rock climbing hill walking, first aid, kayaking sailing etc etc etc. who are always in need of leaders and you dont have to have any prior experience etc as training is provided...also anyone here any interest in setting up a Kayaking club as Ive recently started kayaking but there advice is to never go kayaking alone but there is no club as such only trips and courses with pureadventure and sea paddling....

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Swinng

Recently we have started up the South East Maker Space.

A hackerspace (also referred to as a hacklab, makerspace, or hackspace) is a community-operated workspace where people with common interests, often in computers, technology, science, digital art or electronic art, can meet, socialise and/or collaborate.

If that is your interet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Anyone involved in both the dodge ball and badminton clubs ? They both look good but seem to clash

Why don't you try dodgeball one week and badminton the next and see which one suits.

Or as on a previous post someone said the badminton doesn't usually get going until after 8:30. You could go to dodgeball first and the shoot out to badminton after

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭saintchrisburg

0rt wrote: »
    Deise medieval is a viking re-enactment group based in waterford. Learn all sorts of skills like attack and defence, using a sword / axe for both. Its quite the workout! We meet monday nights at 8. :)

Hi 0rt, how many people are in the group, and do you do activities other than training in arms, such as spinning, woodwork, blacksmithing, etc.? Also, do you guys know or interact with the Waterford Living History Society? They seem to be up to basically the same thing.

I'd like to perhaps get involved with the group - can't exactly at this moment as I'm broke and can't afford the gasoline to be driving all around, but once I'm in a more stable financial situation it'd be great to join you.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭j26m

Hi saintchrisburg I'm a member of Deise Medieval.

We are a mixed group of people and our philosophy is to facilitate members pursuing their hobby as they see fit. There is nearly 20 of us active in the group, and there is a good age spread from 18-50 of men and women, including students, professionals and people between jobs at them moment. Many of us also bring our partners and children to events.

Fighting is a significant part of what we do, and we tend to focus on the fighting as sport rather than as theatrical performance. Our fighting is not generally choreographed, even if the outcome is predetermined by historical fact. To get the skill levels required for this, obviously we have to train. It is open to men and women to fight if they so choose.

On the Living History side we have crafters, history enthusiasts, and our members are enthusiastic about the history we are recreating, and this bubbles over through great conversations with the public and in demonstrations, resulting in memorable living history events. We welcome anyone who is into any medieval crafts and is willing to develop it, or even just into talking about history. Many of our members are actively developing their skills in weaving, medieval cooking, clothes, woodwork, leatherwork etc.

We are always open to working with other groups. In fact, it's a major part of what we do. This hobby is about meeting people and making new friends, and this is what we love about it. We have good working relationships with many groups in Ireland, the UK, Denmark, and other countries (even Texas) and our members have gone to many multigroup events in Ireland, such as the Battle of the Flags competition in Cork, Feile Brian Boru in Clare, several events in the Heritage Park in Wexford, Medieval Mayhem in Dublin to name but a few, and also one of our members went to Denmark for the Moesgaard Festival in July and forged links with groups in Germany, Scandinavia, Iceland and other countries. We also do local events, such as our reenactment of a battle between the citizens of Waterford and the Power and O'Driscoll clans in Tramore in June, and events in Dunhill, Carrick-on-Suir and other places. Some of us are former members of WLHS and we are open to collaborating on suitable projects.

As the summer season winds down, while we still have more events to do, our focus is going to be on preparation for the biggest Living History event this country is ever likely to see. Next April is the millenial anniversary of the Battle of Clontarf, and several hundred reenactors from all over the world are coming to Ireland to commemorate it. Since the Ostmen of Waterford fought on Brian Borus side at that battle, we feel it is important to give a good showing at that event, so we want to make, and acquire equipment, and train hard to get even better at the combat. To facilitate that, we are drawing on the expertise of long time reenactors with up to 30 years of experience who have very generously offered to assist.
    We are always open to new members, so if you are interested, you can contact us through Facebook (www.facebook.com/deisemedieval). Now is a great time to get involved, as the Clontarf event will be an amazing experience, and you'd have time to prepare for it. While there is a cost, we are very mindful of keeping costs as low as possible, as very few of us have huge wads of spare cash. We make much of our own kit, and some events we do pay travel expenses which helps keep the costs down.
    Oh, before I forget to say it - it’s all great fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Up2NoGood

Swinng wrote: »
    Recently we have started up the South East Maker Space.

A hackerspace (also referred to as a hacklab, makerspace, or hackspace) is a community-operated workspace where people with common interests, often in computers, technology, science, digital art or electronic art, can meet, socialise and/or collaborate.

If that is your interet

Hello,

What you guys started here seems really cool, when / where do you meet?

Any info appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭saintchrisburg

Hi j26m, that's a great write up about your group and answers a lot of the questions I had. You do a good job at selling it :-) My girlfriend and I would like to get involved, we're hoping by late September to mid October we'll be able to start participating. When and where do you usually meet? Just to have a preliminary idea about scheduling.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,850 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Does anyone know of any acting groups in Waterford? Ones that have plays every now and again. Haven't done anything since Transition Year in school (15 years ago! :eek: ) and would love to get involved in something like that again!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Ballyv24

Does anyone know of any acting groups in Waterford? Ones that have plays every now and again. Haven't done anything since Transition Year in school (15 years ago! :eek: ) and would love to get involved in something like that again!

Not sure if this took off or not, but they might be able to help you out

https://www.facebook.com/TramoreMusicalSocietyRevival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

I'd try Garter Lane too, they'd surely have info!

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Swinng

Up2NoGood wrote: »
    Hello,

What you guys started here seems really cool, when / where do you meet?

Any info appreciated.

We meet-up the second Sat of each month in Revolutions bar

The next one is on the 14th September

Here is our Website

http://wiki.southeastmakerspace.org

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭j26m

Hi j26m, that's a great write up about your group and answers a lot of the questions I had. You do a good job at selling it :-) My girlfriend and I would like to get involved, we're hoping by late September to mid October we'll be able to start participating. When and where do you usually meet? Just to have a preliminary idea about scheduling.

Sorry I didn't see your post - I'm not a regular poster here.

As it happens we are organising a couple of open nights in the next couple of weeks to explain what we do, and if people are interested in becoming involved, we can go through everything then. Keep an eye on our Facebook page www.facebook.com/deisemedieval

Regarding meetings, we usually meet on Thursday nights now. We were meeting on Mondays, but that caused some difficulties because of the sheer number of events we were doing over the summer.

brinty wrote: »
    Dunmore badminton club, we're based between oskars and the woodlands on the Dunmore Road, in the old Brasscock church. Great social side, club night is every Wednesday night from 7 - 11(most members arrive from 8:30 onwards) all year round and theres drinks in oskars/woodland after, theres Tag Rugby and interfirms tennis teams and then we'd have general social get togethers with members some friday saturday nights. It was great spot to find as an outsider moving to Waterford and helped build our circle of friends. Players of all standards play in the club so don't worry if you've never played or picked up a racquet before.

If ye want anymore info gimme a shout.

HI all, if anyone is interested in joining up with us, we are having an open evening tomorrow night Monday the 2nd September, 2013 in our club facility on the Dunmore Road between 7 and 10. We would hope to get several new members into the club for the upcoming season. See above message previously posted and if you have further questions please drop me a mail and I will answer as best I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Gateway Centre

St Patrick's Gateway Community Centre on Patrick Street has started an activities club and are now looking for members

We are based in St Patrick's Church on Patrick Street and are now open since the 2nd of May this year. We have snooker, pool, table tennis, mini badminton, mini tennis & mini volleyball as well as bowls and two rooms for board-game battles.

We will be running it on a membership basis (€5 per month per member) but we also allow groups in at a discount price if they do not wish to become members. It will be open from 10am until 11pm Monday to Saturday and booking in advance is advised.

There will be an adult on duty at all times to help with any questions and to oversee the activities.

The number to ring to inquire more is 051 843589

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭DipDab93

Are there any groups around the city that are evenly mixed?

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Wren2893

I just thought I'd mention meetup.com. There are a few groups based in Waterford, although they aren't as unique as Deise Medieval or Roller Derby. There are groups for walking/hiking, pub nights, cinema etc. If you're looking for something a bit more low-key, it's worth checking out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Gateway Centre

Hi, We have just set up an activities club in the City as mentioned on the first post. We are looking for members at the moment so anyone interested please contact us either by ringing in on 051 843589 or calling in, we are situated just below the Garda Station on Patrick Street.

Main problem in Waterford is that it's very very hard to meet new people as so many groups of people in the city are extremely cliquey and have known each other since literally the first day of school and they either don't want to meet new people or they have enough pals of their own it's particularly bad when hurling is involved- just go up to Hillview every second person knows each other from school all their lives or playing sport together. I hated school so I don't understand people only sticking to their first set of friends but it's very much like that in Waterford.
    On the other hand I have been to and heard great things about meet up groups in the city where all the people are in the same boat plus you have had some great suggestions about acting clubs etc. Best of luck !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Main problem in Waterford is that it's very very hard to meet new people as so many groups of people in the city are extremely cliquey and have known each other since literally the first day of school and they either don't want to meet new people or they have enough pals of their own it's particularly bad when hurling is involved- just go up to Hillview every second person knows each other from school all their lives or playing sport together. I hated school so I don't understand people only sticking to their first set of friends but it's very much like that in Waterford.
    On the other hand I have been to and heard great things about meet up groups in the city where all the people are in the same boat plus you have had some great suggestions about acting clubs etc. Best of luck !

I had a terrible experience with Ferrybank Athletic club a couple of years ago,I went down to the RSC to train with them (I thought it would be new hobby for me). When I got there I was told to do a few exercises to warm up - I literally didn't know how to warm so I just did a few jumping jacks.,they just had one guy who had me running around the track for three laps.Then we done a few short sprints.I had no problem with the running to be honest, but the people weren't really helpful and it wasn't really fun to be honest.It is quite a successful and reputable club, but I found it quite cliquey and never went back.

You are not the first person to say that, its a real shame when a group of people just give up welcoming others, its lazy and closed-minded and sadly a real trait of a huge amount of Waterford people. Have you tried anything different since? I tried the table quiz club few years back, I couldn't keep it up as it clashed with shifts at work but the people were lovely as they were all in the same boat.

Having lived abroad, Cork , Galway and Dublin, I found and indeed find Waterford to be the cliquiest county I have ever come across, they are sometimes almosty hostile in their non-inclusiveness of people who didn't show up to school at the age of 4 and sit directly opposite them for life...