Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage ground

• 04-06-2013 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭

What's silage ground making for a cut? Have a few fields ready to go nearly. What's the market at the minute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Uncle got 230 an acre, he put 2 bags of cut sward per acre on it and man has to be out by the end of june

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

i paid 110, have to fertillise meself and out mid july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

mine is ready to cut next week, good and heavy and sprayed for weeds. could let 50 acres go and keep rest for hay and keep 2nd cut for myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Irishmale wrote: »
    mine is ready to cut next week, good and heavy and sprayed for weeds. could let 50 acres go and keep rest for hay and keep 2nd cut for myself
    80 acres near my home place made €300/acre for 1 cut. Guy who took it is 20 miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

delaval wrote: »
    80 acres near my home place made €300/acre for 1 cut. Guy who took it is 20 miles away.

In which psychiatric facility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭farmernewbie

300 an acre? I was thinking of selling for 11 euro a bale......seems that maybe a bit cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kevthegaff wrote: »
    i paid 110, have to fertillise meself and out mid july
    Jaysus thats cheap for our neck of the woods kev,You must of got in early there.Followed 40 acres with a freind to 150 and it made 185 for a finish.Got to be out 01/08 and no fertliser.Heard of plots making up to 370 an acre,Pure madness but needs must

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Silage prices will weaken later in season. There could be loads of hay made yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Good loser wrote: »
    Silage prices will weaken later in season. There could be loads of hay made yet.
    Cant see it to be honest and anyone banking on that is taking a big risk.As for loads of hay been made,Hay even good hay is a poor feed for milking cows and dont even bother with it for calves anymore as i found it gave them little pot bellies.Still better than nothing though as lots found out this spring,Sorry we didnt get a spring just a very long winter!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭REBEL COUNTY1

delaval wrote: »

Are u in the north cork area by any chance? Same price paid for 80 acres and had to be out by end of June is what I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

seems like there is a new fool born ever minute in the farming world, 300 for a cut of grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Jaysus thats cheap for our neck of the woods kev,You must of got in early there.Followed 40 acres with a freind to 150 and it made 185 for a finish.Got to be out 01/08 and no fertliser.Heard of plots making up to 370 an acre,Pure madness but needs must
    ya got it with yer man that had the farm walk, hes taking it for aftergrass afterwards. Hes in with yer man that owns it, lucky for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

plenty of talk here in the NE but no one buying anything. bales making big money etc but just talk so far. lads who always sell have had no inquiries either. I don't think anyone has any money tbh. might see something shifting if the cattle thrive more with the growth. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭royalmeath

Was offered a 5 acres today for silage. Poor enough quality with plenty of docks anyone know what I should offer per bale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

royalmeath wrote: »
    Was offered a 5 acres today for silage. Poor enough quality with plenty of docks anyone know what I should offer per bale

I would offer a fiver to bale it at minimum, but some idiot will offer €20 a bale for it