Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I mad?

• 04-06-2013 5:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭

Ok so, I've been working alot the last while and still am. I looking to get opinions on that as my parents are telling me that it doing me more harm then good.

My day are as folloew:

6:50AM Breakfast
    7:00AM Morning milking (on my fathers farm)
    9:00AM Morning milking finished
    9:05AM Working with my Neighbors (as there fixing things up around there house .i.e. Power washing, minni digger work etc.) @8.00E P/H.
    12.00PM Luch
    12:30PM Back to work
    3:00PM Finish work
    3.10PM work with different neighbors. @9.00P/H (Usually farming, but the different job varies)
    6.30PM Finish work.
    6:33-35PM Evening milking with My father
    8:29 - Finish evening milking.
    8:30PM - Back to the first Neighbors again to do more @8.00 P/H
    10.30PM - Finish work.
    10:32PM Eat a sangwich and mug of tea.
    10:35PM Work with the Local mechanic doing bits and bobs. @7.00P/H
    11:00pm Finish work and home to bed.

P/H = Paid per Hour
    I don't take any money from my father for doing the milking.

Now, If I stop doing this work, I'm afraid I will get into a slum of not wanting to work. I have a milking to do now. :o

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭SK76

How did you get time to write the e-mail! Seriously though - fair play in working all those jobs etc but if you keep that up you will get ill. Also need a life outside work and I'd say that is what your parents are worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭bongomad

Ok so, I've been working alot the last while and still am. I looking to get opinions on that as my parents are telling me that it doing me more harm then good.

My day are as folloew:

9:05AM Working with my Neighbors (as there fixing things up around there house .i.e. Power washing, minni digger work etc.) @8.00E P/H.
    12.00PM Luch
    3.10PM work with different neighbors. @9.00P/H (Usually farming, but the different job varies)
    6.30PM Finish work.
    10.30PM - Finish work.

P/H = Paid per Hour

Now, If I stop doing this work, I'm afraid I will get into a slum of not wanting to work. I have a milking to do now. :o

Thanks.
    could you drop the mechanical work? surely for 7 euro wouldnt be worth your while there & back fuel costs if you drive? all depends as well on your age do you have time to socialise ? do you enjoy your work? you don't have to give it all up seems a tad to much to be honest! when i was younger i worked all the hours under the sun aswell 80hrs a week + didnt do me any harm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

How many days per week do you work at this level? I presume the mechanic takes at least Sundays off. Work to live not live to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Is your PRSI being paid on top of those p/h rate?

I wonder if it is being paid all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

The question is do you enjoy it?

If you don't, get yourself a normal 8-9 hour per day job. You obviously possess a wide range of skills so you have a head start on most people. The wages you are listing are all pretty poor for what I'm sure is not easy work.

You only get one life, don't waste it working yourself into an early grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

SK76 wrote: »
    How did you get time to write the e-mail! Seriously though - fair play in working all those jobs etc but if you keep that up you will get ill. Also need a life outside work and I'd say that is what your parents are worried about.

E-mail? :confused: Ah right...
    bongomad wrote: »
    could you drop the mechanical work? surely for 7 euro wouldnt be worth your while there & back fuel costs if you drive? all depends as well on your age do you have time to socialise ? do you enjoy your work? you don't have to give it all up seems a tad to much to be honest! when i was younger i worked all the hours under the sun aswell 80hrs a week + didnt do me any harm

Well out of everything I enjoy the mechanical work the most. I lve learning about car, motorbikes etc. I just turn 20 in April. I'm not really "Into" going out at night. I work for my dad for free, but I suppose the money makes it worth it... Not to sure though.
    Layinghen wrote: »
    How many days per week do you work at this level? I presume the mechanic takes at least Sundays off. Work to live not live to work.

Monday - Saturday, On Sunday I go and wash my cloths for the following week, I sort out any paper work I must do and things like that.
    Is your PRSI being paid on top of those p/h rate?

I wonder if it is being paid all.

I have no idea what your on about, so I suppose I'm not paying it. :P
    BNMC wrote: »
    The question is do you enjoy it?

If you don't, get yourself a normal 8-9 hour per day job. You obviously possess a wide range of skills so you have a head start on most people. The wages you are listing are all pretty poor for what I'm sure is not easy work.

You only get one life, don't waste it working yourself into an early grave.

Ya, but working a 8 - 9 hour jon per dad, will mean my dad won't let me work on the farm. I like to help him as my younger brother who is 17 won't do a thing. So I work on the farm to try and ease the pressure on my father,,

Thanks for all the reply's people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

If your enjoying it go ahead some people are just a little weird and we like our "bad?" lifestyle.

If the house work is constructive which it sounds like it, your building up a huge amount of experience and just being an all around deadly person, this is prob nearly better than having a real job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

If you're enjoying it, your health isn't being damaged, and you are saving a good bit of money... I think you should continue doing it if you want to do it.

It sounds like you may have a work addiction though. People with addictions tend to be susceptible to other addictions, so be very careful about you alcohol intake, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,436 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I like to help him as my younger brother who is 17 won't do a thing. So I work on the farm to try and ease the pressure on my father,

So you're working mad hours to enable your younger brother's laziness?

I presume that you're living at home, and not paying any board or bills? Effectively that's your pay for the milking. (Kids get to stay at home and do assigned chores .. adults pay for the privlidge.)

Do you have any hobbies, besides the mechanical work?

Do you play any sport, music etc? Have friends and a social life? That doens't necessarily mean going "out" to the pub ... it means doing stuff with friends.

Have you any girl-friends or boy-freinds (depending on your gender and what you're in to). Any chance of getting one?

Are you contributing (time or money) to anything in your community?

Are you learning anything new each day/week/month?

Do you have any future plans / goals?

In short, are you living a balanced life - physically, mentally, emotionally, socially, spiritually .... ?

It sounds like your parents don't think so. Maybe the're right. Only you can tell.

If you like the mechanical work, is there any way you could develop that role into an apprenticeship? You have a foot in the door already and you might be able to set yourself up with a solid qualification in something you like doing.

As you're relatively young and definitely a hard worker (can't see you getting too lazy to work by the way!), it would be great if you could build a bit of a career for yourself. Mechanical work is always good and would serve you well on the farm too (there's always something that needs fixing).

Your hours are a bit crazy at the minute and you'll run yourself into the ground at this rate of going. You'll have to cut back hours in some places. The younger brother won't pitch in if you do the work for him. Summer is here, school is out, let him help your Dad with the milking (at the very least in the morning time). Talk to your parents (they clearly care about you) and see if they'll give him a kick up the arse.

Overall, it sounds like you need a bit of focus. If you could have a stable set of hours in one job, you'd work out fine. But round-the-clock work is bad for you. Try to plan what you'd like to do in the medium-term, and use that to influence your decision.

mad turnip wrote: »
    If your enjoying it go ahead some people are just a little weird and we like our "bad?" lifestyle.

If the house work is constructive which it sounds like it, your building up a huge amount of experience and just being an all around deadly person, this is prob nearly better than having a real job.

I am indeed enjoying it. :)
    Ya, it's construction alright., but mostly tractor work. Working on a digger etc..
    If you're enjoying it, your health isn't being damaged, and you are saving a good bit of money... I think you should continue doing it if you want to do it.

It sounds like you may have a work addiction though. People with addictions tend to be susceptible to other addictions, so be very careful about you alcohol intake, etc.

Well, my only addiction is smoking. I usually smoke 10 - 11 fags aday. I don't really like drinking. But only for the smoking, I wouldn't be able to cope. The smoking helps me relax.
    So you're working mad hours to enable your younger brother's laziness?

Well, ya, I hate to see my father under pressure. trying to do all the work by himself. So that;s the main reason I'm doing it.
    I presume that you're living at home, and not paying any board or bills? Effectively that's your pay for the milking. (Kids get to stay at home and do assigned chores .. adults pay for the privlidge.)

Yes, living at home. But I'm starting college in september and I want to be a chef. That's a two year college course. But I;m sorta dredging it as my father won't have any help then..
    Do you have any hobbies, besides the mechanical work?

I listen to music and I love too cook.
    Do you play any sport, music etc? Have friends and a social life? That doens't necessarily mean going "out" to the pub ... it means doing stuff with friends.

Eh, well on a sunday, I might go to the gym or go and play snooker with a few mates.
    Have you any girl-friends or boy-freinds (depending on your gender and what you're in to). Any chance of getting one?

I'm male, yeh, I had a girlfriend, but it was there last year.
    Are you contributing (time or money) to anything in your community?

Naw, not really..
    Are you learning anything new each day/week/month?

I learn a good bit with the mechanic which is useful I also learn abit with the construction work.
    Do you have any future plans / goals?

Yeh, college in september. That would be my main goal. M other one was to pass my driving test and I passed it last month. :)
    In short, are you living a balanced life - physically, mentally, emotionally, socially, spiritually .... ?

It sounds like your parents don't think so. Maybe the're right. Only you can tell.

I would break it down like this. :70% work 20% social stuff. 10% mass on a sunday.
    Phantasos wrote: »
    If you like the mechanical work, is there any way you could develop that role into an apprenticeship? You have a foot in the door already and you might be able to set yourself up with a solid qualification in something you like

Last year I done a hotel and catering course so I'm going to continue o n in that. :) Mechanics will only ever be a hobbie for me. :)
    As you're relatively young and definitely a hard worker (can't see you getting too lazy to work by the way!), it would be great if you could build a bit of a career for yourself. Mechanical work is always good and would serve you well on the farm too (there's always something that needs fixing).

True, I do lile fixing thing and that.
    Your hours are a bit crazy at the minute and you'll run yourself into the ground at this rate of going. You'll have to cut back hours in some places. The younger brother won't pitch in if you do the work for him. Summer is here, school is out, let him help your Dad with the milking (at the very least in the morning time). Talk to your parents (they clearly care about you) and see if they'll give him a kick up the arse.

Yup, I did talk to my parent, my father has nearly given uo on the younger brother. He goes away at night and stays out drinking until 3 -4 in the morning. They have no control over him at all.
    Overall, it sounds like you need a bit of focus. If you could have a stable set of hours in one job, you'd work out fine. But round-the-clock work is bad for you. Try to plan what you'd like to do in the medium-term, and use that to influence your decision.

The way I see it, more work = more money. :)

Sorry for the late reply guys and thanks to everyone who helped with your advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Nelly1234

My day are as folloew:

12.00PM Luch
    6.30PM Finish work.
    10.30PM - Finish work.

P/H = Paid per Hour

Thanks.

Thanks for making me laugh!:) thought this was something out of the Waltons at first:) seriously though, fair play to you for all that work. You are obviously a very hard worker and very determined and motivated individual:) you could defo get a higher paying job somewhere else with all those skills but if you enjoy the work its not that bad I suppose:) your an inspiration but please for the love of god make sure you take care of yourself and don't exhaust your body and mind! Be free and enjoy some of your youth too:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

What are you milking?

Nelly1234 wrote: »
    Thanks for making me laugh!:) thought this was something out of the Waltons at first:) seriously though, fair play to you for all that work. You are obviously a very hard worker and very determined and motivated individual:) you could defo get a higher paying job somewhere else with all those skills but if you enjoy the work its not that bad I suppose:) your an inspiration but please for the love of god make sure you take care of yourself and don't exhaust your body and mind! Be free and enjoy some of your youth too:)

thanks for your input. :)
    justryan wrote: »
    What are you milking?

Rats... :P

Naw, a herd of 36 cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Rod Serling

You sound like a very hard working guy and all the people I know your age who work 9-5, 5 days a week and complain about having no time to themselves could learn a lot from you.

If you enjoy it and you're able to save some money for college and what not from it then I don't see the harm, fair play and the best of luck in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Great work ethic. It will stand to you ion the future, although I don't think your schedule is sustainable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭StillWaters

Sala wrote: »
    Great work ethic. It will stand to you ion the future, although I don't think your schedule is sustainable

It doesn't have to be, he is off to college in September. OP, you are young, healthy and able for it. I don't see a problem with it.
    That level of energy is something that will stand you in very good stead in your culinary career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 fishfarmer

if your happy then tis grand but ididnt see anything about dinner in there. You might be getting away with it now if its all digger and tractor work but you should have a good dinner just in case.
    Nothing worse than shoveling or running around on an empty stomach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,436 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

OP, the fact that you're heading to college changes everything.

Go for it for the summer.

Maybe try to help your father figure out how to get some other help for September, check out some Tough Love for your brother.

Thanks for all the reply's etc. I really appreciate the help.

Starting college on monday. :)

I have someone lined up to run the farm. So everything is looking good. Thanks for the help again

Bubble Wrap -