Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there jobs for young people out there?

• 02-06-2013 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 OguchiOneywu

Hi I often see posts on this forum from students looking for summer work (like myself) , however they rarely follow up whether they got a job at all. I just wanted to ask is there jobs for young people out there? I'm nearly 20 and have never had a job, part-time or otherwise even though for the last four years I've given out 100's of CVs, etc. I'm at the end of my tether and really need the money to pay for my second year of college next year as well as the associated costs. Most of my friends are in the same boat as well, the only ones with jobs are those whose parents sort them out with one. Is this the norm for people these days or do you think I must be doing something wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 yep_

Hi I often see posts on this forum from students looking for summer work (like myself) , however they rarely follow up whether they got a job at all. I just wanted to ask is there jobs for young people out there? I'm nearly 20 and have never had a job, part-time or otherwise even though for the last four years I've given out 100's of CVs, etc. I'm at the end of my tether and really need the money to pay for my second year of college next year as well as the associated costs. Most of my friends are in the same boat as well, the only ones with jobs are those whose parents sort them out with one. Is this the norm for people these days or do you think I must be doing something wrong?

no , im the exact same! im 20 and can't get a job either and I have experience! im going out of my mind here at home! unfortunately part time jobs for students are not as abundant as they used to be. People who cant get full time jobs really need the part time jobs which leaves us having to depend on our parents. If you don't mind me asking , do you live in the city or in the middle of no where? I can imagine you having no luck what so ever in a small town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 OguchiOneywu

yep_ wrote: »
    no , im the exact same! im 20 and can't get a job either and I have experience! im going out of my mind here at home! unfortunately part time jobs for students are not as abundant as they used to be. People who cant get full time jobs really need the part time jobs which leaves us having to depend on our parents. If you don't mind me asking , do you live in the city or in the middle of no where? I can imagine you having no luck what so ever in a small town.

Yeah unfortunately I live in the middle of nowhere but I've handed in plenty of CVs in the city centre as I could take travelling in if it meant I could work! Sadly as you said I think there's just too many people, too little jobs. It's good to hear other people are having the same difficulty too. I'm also tired of sponging off my parents!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭cosbloodymick

Young people have gotten shafted in this recession. There are very few jobs out there, and any jobs there are have poor wages and conditions of employment.The future looks bleak, its no wonder so many are leaving.

Yeah unfortunately I live in the middle of nowhere but I've handed in plenty of CVs in the city centre as I could take travelling in if it meant I could work! Sadly as you said I think there's just too many people, too little jobs. It's good to hear other people are having the same difficulty too. I'm also tired of sponging off my parents!

Yeah im the exact same, even the city isn't abundant with jobs. im looking online everyday and im just so sick of it. I truly believe it has to do with who you know. A lot people get work through friends or family.

Young people have gotten shafted in this recession. There are very few jobs out there, and any jobs there are have poor wages and conditions of employment.The future looks bleak, its no wonder so many are leaving.
    Sadly that's true :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭brownlad

lol there is tons of jobs out there. im 19, worked in a call centre from january to may , 18hr a week just saturday and sunday , fit perfectly to my college calendar. I quit , because i got a better job in another company as a sales assistant in store . so just go look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

brownlad wrote: »
    lol there is tons of jobs out there. im 19, worked in a call centre from january to may , 18hr a week just saturday and sunday , fit perfectly to my college calendar. I quit , because i got a better job in another company as a sales assistant in store . so just go look

You must live in a city, if you live in dublin ,cork etc.. you stand a much better chance of getting a job, you make it sound the 400,000 are on the dole for the fun of it.

My niece who is 17 got a job in a hotel, to do this she worked 4 weekends for free and she her mother used her contacts to get her the free work experience!
    She now has a part time job in the hotel for the summer, its only for the summer and it about 16 hours a week. Why not go away to work my daughter is going to Manchester to work for the summer, there were tons of jobs in Manchester airport short term summer jobs they might only last 6 weeks but and pay min wages but at least its work. Years ago my brother worked in Germany for the summer whe he was in college, he lived in a tent because he could not afford accommodation on the money he was getting he keep having to move camp sites because you could only stay so long in one camp site the way he looked at it was it was work and he could save and pay for college with the money he made.

You would get a return ticket to Manchester for around 40 and then stay in a hostel, if you are really fed up and have no chance of getting any work it might be thinking about.

mariaalice wrote: »
    My niece who is 17 got a job in a hotel, to do this she worked 4 weekends for free and she her mother used her contacts to get her the free work experience!
    She now has a part time job in the hotel for the summer, its only for the summer and it about 16 hours a week. Why not go away to work my daughter is going to Manchester to work for the summer, there were tons of jobs in Manchester airport short term summer jobs they might only last 6 weeks but and pay min wages but at least its work. Years ago my brother worked in Germany for the summer whe he was in college, he lived in a tent because he could not afford accommodation on the money he was getting he keep having to move camp sites because you could only stay so long in one camp site the way he looked at it was it was work and he could save and pay for college with the money he made.

You would get a return ticket to Manchester for around 40 and then stay in a hostel, if you are really fed up and have no chance of getting any work it might be thinking about.

What a great deal. She did not have to pay her employer to work for them. Its supposed to be the other way around.

If you've no experience and need to get a foothold and a job comes out of it, it's not the worst thing in the world

bluewolf wrote: »
    If you've no experience and need to get a foothold and a job comes out of it, it's not the worst thing in the world

Of course, the over 400,000 people out of work are just lazy sods that should be working for nothing.

bluewolf wrote: »

You can give out all you like and even though I don't agree with working for free just to get work experience, thats life at the moment. My oldest daughter who was a teen in the Celtic tiger era has no trouble getting jobs and has a job at 15 and she worked her way thorough college, my youngest daughter could not get a job except by using contact to get a start, times are different now and there no point in giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

It is supposed to be the other way around but working for a short time for free is a great way to prove yourself to an employer. The trouble is that employers could screw you over, but if you suggest working unpaid yourself, then this is less likely to happen since they wouldn't have planned to do that.

At the very least, it's some experience, a reference, and puts you above other candidates for the same job. At most, you get a job at the end of it. I would think a few days work is a much better use of your time than printing out and distributing another 100 CV's, with no experience on any them.

If an employer suggests you work for free though, run a mile.

If anyone is inspired to go to the UK after reading this look up JD wetherspoon pubs it a chain, the have tons of jobs, event if you end up working as a kitchen porter it work and money and even if you have very little money living on a camp site for a few weeks wont kill you. My daughter use to get very upset at not being able to get a job and I could see how fed up it makes people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

There are plenty of jobs in certain industries: sales, IT, recruitment, call centre etc, but not everyone wants or is qualified to work in these areas. Another problem with call centre employment is that even though you hear about PhD students working in them because they can get nothing else, the reality is that employers will generally prefer to take on a non-graduate than someone with a degree for this sort of work, simply because they are more likely to be a good long-term bet. There are of course exceptions to this, but I believe this is the prevalent mindset.

Aside from the aforementioned positions, there are indeed slim pickings, for young people and old alike. Younger individuals are inevitably highlighted because their lack of experience means they will find it difficult standing out in a over-saturated market, but if for whatever reason an older candidate finds himself out of work and is also lacking experience to go into a certain area, he or she will find it just as hard to get hired. Indeed, depending on the age of course, but the employer may prefer a young person, simply because they are likely to put up with more than someone who has lived a bit. In any case, it's difficult for anyone, irrespective of age, searching at the moment.

Always lots of positions seemingly in Asia teaching English, but not everyone can finance a trip out there, where the flight alone will set you back a pretty penny.

However, I would go with those above who recommend that people offer to work for free, (if possible) at least for a limited period. This has the double advantage of giving you a crucial window to showcase your talents plus the employer doesn't lose out financially by taking you on.

OnTheCouch wrote: »
    There are plenty of jobs in certain industries, sales, IT, recruitment, call centre etc, but not everyone wants or is qualified to work in these areas. Another problem with call centre employment is that even though you hear about PhD students working in them because they can get nothing else, the reality is that employers will generally prefer to take on a non-graduate than someone with a degree for this sort of work, simply because they are more likely to be a good long-term bet. There are of course exceptions to this, but I believe this is the prevalent mindset.

Aside from the aforementioned positions, there are indeed slim pickings, for young people and old alike. Younger individuals are inevitably highlighted because their lack of experience means they will find it difficult standing out in a over-saturated market, but if for whatever reason an older candidate finds himself out of work and is also lacking experience to go into a certain area, he or she will find it just as hard to get hired. Indeed, depending on the age of course, but the employer may prefer a young person, simply because they are likely to put up with more than someone who has lived a bit. In any case, it's difficult for anyone, irrespective of age, searching at the moment.

Always lots of positions seemingly in Asia teaching English, but not everyone can finance a trip out there, where the flight alone will set you back a pretty penny.

However, I would go with those above who recommend that people offer to work for free, (if possible) at least for a limited period. This has the double advantage of giving you a crucial window to showcase your talents plus the employer doesn't lose out financially by taking you on.

The above is true, however the OP is talking about young people teens and early twenties who are looking for any sort of work just to have money while they are in college, I don't think they are talking about looking for career's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

mariaalice wrote: »
    The above is true, however the OP is talking about young people teens and early twenties who are looking for any sort of work just to have money while they are in college, I don't think they are talking about looking for career's.

Sorry yes, that's right! Even though what I said has some relevance it's a bit different to what the OP was talking about. Need to read more carefully next time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Of course, the over 400,000 people out of work are just lazy sods that should be working for nothing.

JobBridge?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

testicle wrote: »
    JobBridge?

Lets not make this another dole thread lads, Back on topic, I know a few people who have gotten jobs in call centres recently a few others in security companys for a few months but work is hard to get and it helps not being picky.

If you can't get anything maybe volunteer somewhere, I know it's not money but it's valuable experience and something to add to the cv, plus most places only want weekend volunteers so it's not like you gonna be killing youself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

Another problem with call centre employment is that even though you hear about PhD students working in them because they can get nothing else, the reality is that employers will generally prefer to take on a non-graduate than someone with a degree for this sort of work, simply because they are more likely to be a good long-term bet. There are of course exceptions to this, but I believe this is the prevalent mindset.

So there you are people, play the complete tool to get a short term job in a call centre.

What they don't know won't bother them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I'm not really in a position to give advice as I got my part time college job through a family connection. Didn't get any other job I applied for but did get a few interviews. But on the bright side everyone I know in college who wanted a job managed to get one eventually. That was Dublin however. One thing I've noticed is that people seem to have better luck applying around Christmas time than in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Esse85

20 years of age and never even had a summer job?

Esse85 wrote: »

Yeah I know, I'm not proud of it, every summer is the same story really, everywhere says they need retail experience or whatever which I don't have, I managed to lie my way into an interview this summer but sort of got caught out.

jamesr123 wrote: »
    Lets not make this another dole thread lads, Back on topic, I know a few people who have gotten jobs in call centres recently a few others in security companys for a few months but work is hard to get and it helps not being picky.

If you can't get anything maybe volunteer somewhere, I know it's not money but it's valuable experience and something to add to the CV, plus most places only want weekend volunteers so it's not like you gonna be killing youself.

Yeah I will try to volunteer I guess if it comes to that, earlier on in the year the Simon Community came to college to talk about volunteering, apparently you need to make a commitment for the whole year though, which I can't do.

I'm sure it'll be easy to find somewhere that wants help even if it's for a few months..

There are plenty of jobs in certain industries: sales, IT, recruitment, call centre etc, but not everyone wants or is qualified to work in these areas. Another problem with call centre employment is that even though you hear about PhD students working in them because they can get nothing else, the reality is that employers will generally prefer to take on a non-graduate than someone with a degree for this sort of work, simply because they are more likely to be a good long-term bet. There are of course exceptions to this, but I believe this is the prevalent mindset.

Thanks for the reply but I meant like summer work, to pay for college and the like.

Esse85 wrote: »

It's more common than you think, I know a good few fellas that are 21 and over and have never worked a day in their lives..

I was lucky enough in that I had a good mate who owned a shop so I was able to work there from 17 onwards :D

jamesr123 wrote: »
    It's more common than you think, I know a good few fellas that are 21 and over and have never worked a day in their lives..

I was lucky enough in that I had a good mate who owned a shop so I was able to work there from 17 onwards :D

Well aren't you just lucky! Just like i said, its all about who you know.