Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gundog in heat - anything that will help?

• 01-06-2013 8:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭

Himself has a female cocker spaniel that he is hoping to breed later this year (now is too early, would ruin her pheasant season I'm told??) and she's in heat at the moment. She's very out of sorts, quite cranky, humping anything that will stay still long enough, whimpering and generally terribly restless. Is there anything I can give her, or the vet could even give her to ease her a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Mylina wrote: »
    Himself has a female cocker spaniel that he is hoping to breed later this year (now is too early, would ruin her pheasant season I'm told??) and she's in heat at the moment. She's very out of sorts, quite cranky, humping anything that will stay still long enough, whimpering and generally terribly restless. Is there anything I can give her, or the vet could even give her to ease her a bit?

A good ride... no seriously now would be a grand time to have a litter ,she would be just right again for the season, 2 months pregnant and 3 months to recover is what you would be looking at. The next time she will be in heat will be in the shooting season ,depending on her cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Not sure to be honest I think it only last 14 days anyway. Now would be a good time alright. But if its not for you or him lock her up and don't let anything near her. I think you may tolerate the noise and keep moving so you don't get humped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Lyssa

She's secure in the backyard, but just had 2 'suitors' yowling for her at the back gate....
    The front wheel of the little fellas bike is getting humped to bits atm... Think hubby will have to get her seen to soon.. Each time she goes into heat lately is worse than the last time :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

She's secure in the backyard, but just had 2 'suitors' yowling for her at the back gate....
    The front wheel of the little fellas bike is getting humped to bits atm... Think hubby will have to get her seen to soon.. Each time she goes into heat lately is worse than the last time :(
    Just be carefull when she comes out of heat she does not get a womb infection if she hasnt been serviced,i normally get a bitch neutered at around 5 it prevents infections as they get older.

lb1981 wrote: »
    Just be carefull when she comes out of heat she does not get a womb infection if she hasnt been serviced,i normally get a bitch neutered at around 5 it prevents infections as they get older.

Will keep an eye on her for anything untoward. Thanks.
    Have warned himself, if he doesn't get her serviced soon, I'm taking her to be neutered. She's as much of a pet as a gundog, and we'd hate anything to happen to her.
    She has such unusual colouring for a cocker, he's hoping one of her pups will have the same colouring and he'll get to keep one. He'd rather wait until she's a little bit older to breed her (she'll be 5 in November) but I hate seeing her tormented like she is atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

I used to breed Rottweiler's in the early 80's and also have a Springer Bitch coming close to that time now:eek:, and had a Dog at that time climb a 9 foot wire fence to get to a Bitch in heat, so be very careful with her, watch her and best of luck when you are breeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

If there one thing I've learned there is no such thing as secure in the back yard , I've seen dogs try and dig into our yard after a bitch

There's 8 foot walls, neighbours on each side, and nothing for dogs to climb on or get a foothold in, on the outside. We have her just over 4 years, and a dog hasn't managed to get to her yet, but I'll keep a close eye on her all the same.

Thanks lads, advice is much appreciated :)

Hey guys,
    Hoping for a little advice again please if you don't mind?
    After the posts above, our bitch was serviced by a friends, also pure bred cocker spaniel.

It took, and she had a very uneventful pregnancy, and she had her pups yesterday,. 2 of them only. First one is a little beauty, pure dark chocolate brown with a white stripe in the chest, not 100% sure yet if a dog or a bitch.

Second little pup was born about 2 hours after first, exact same colouring, but it was smaller, and it's chest cavity was open, could see its heart beating. Also had cleft lip/palate... It lived for about 10 mins, the poor, pitiful little thing.

Anyway, what I'd like to ask is:
    Is it unusual for cockers to have such a small first litter?
    Is there any reason (even old wives tales) which account for a small litter and deformed pup?
    The mum is terribly protective of the surviving pup, (which we are keeping), any tips to ease her anxiety a little? She's being a good mum, but is anxious when pup cries and won't leave it much, even to eat or drink?

It's still very early I would say. She is suppose to be very protective no matter how many pups she has. Who is very close to the dog and minding her thrush the whole thing. Are they able to touch the pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

The best thing you could do for her now is stay well away from her, natural instincts will kick in and she will take care of the pup.

Keep an eye on the bitch for signs of mastitis or if she gets weak. Porridge or weetabix are great pick me up foods for her if she's off form.

Have you tried bringing food and water to your Dog, I would not be too concerned at this stage, remember it's her first litter and all new to her if you approach does she growl or accept you, if your accepted great but as I said just bring food and a drink leave it beside her she will at some stage leave the pup and eat best of luck.;)

It's still very early I would say. She is suppose to be very protective no matter how many pups she has. Who is very close to the dog and minding her thrush the whole thing. Are they able to touch the pup

She's grand with myself or himself going to her, and today, she's been eating and drinking much better, and leaving the pup for a few seconds to come in around the kitchen. I'm sure, as the pup gets bigger, and a little more independent, she'll leave it for a bit longer :)

Here's a pic, 2 days old :)

600828_316030705209965_417003300_n.jpg

Ah that looks great will be like an only child, you are going to spoil it to bits hang on to that pup, and the best of luck, don't forget fuss the dog as well she has done very well.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Hey guys,
    Hoping for a little advice again please if you don't mind?
    After the posts above, our bitch was serviced by a friends, also pure bred cocker spaniel.

It took, and she had a very uneventful pregnancy, and she had her pups yesterday,. 2 of them only. First one is a little beauty, pure dark chocolate brown with a white stripe in the chest, not 100% sure yet if a dog or a bitch.

Second little pup was born about 2 hours after first, exact same colouring, but it was smaller, and it's chest cavity was open, could see its heart beating. Also had cleft lip/palate... It lived for about 10 mins, the poor, pitiful little thing.

Anyway, what I'd like to ask is:
    Is it unusual for cockers to have such a small first litter?
    Is there any reason (even old wives tales) which account for a small litter and deformed pup?
    The mum is terribly protective of the surviving pup, (which we are keeping), any tips to ease her anxiety a little? She's being a good mum, but is anxious when pup cries and won't leave it much, even to eat or drink?

Hi Mylina, reference your question above do you mind me asking what were are feeding the dog for the last 6 or 8 months.

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Hi Mylina, reference your question above do you mind me asking what were are feeding the dog for the last 6 or 8 months.

Hi :)
    Generally she's fed dry dog nuts, usually Madra complete, and a couple of times a week gets an egg mixed in or some boiled chicken or some fish.
    The very odd time, she would get some tasty scraps of meat from dinner leftovers etc, but not too often.
    She does really well on this, glossy coat, loads of energy, and seems to suit her digestive system too.

Mylina :)

She's grand with myself or himself going to her, and today, she's been eating and drinking much better, and leaving the pup for a few seconds to come in around the kitchen. I'm sure, as the pup gets bigger, and a little more independent, she'll leave it for a bit longer :)

Here's a pic, 2 days old :)

Gorgeous pup infairness. All that she is doing sounds normal to me anyway. I wouldn't worry just let her Do her own thing.