Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Craig Doyle has been eliminated

• 01-06-2013 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Craig Doyle has left RTE. The only way to watch Craig Doyle from now on (apart from his bloody adverts) is to subscribe to BT Sports whenever it launches here.
    TV presenter Craig Doyle certainly won't be back on RTE for a bit – he's just signed one of the "biggest deals in sport".

"I won't be appearing on RTE 2 again. RTE has been a little unwell of late. It's going through a period of change. It needs a bit of nursing and I will leave it to them," Craig (40) told the Herald.

So no more Craig Doyle Show, thank God.

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/i-wont-be-back-on-sick-rte-craig-29313003.html
    Describing the first run of his RTE chatshow as "horrendous", he revealed: "I was going to walk from it. I told them after two or three, 'I'm not doing this anymore, it's s*** and this isn't what we planned'.

I certainly agree, it was dreadful muck. It got slightly better but he was given far too many chances to make a decent Talkshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

Craig Doyle 1 has been eliminated but consider that may only just open the door for a Craig Doyle 2 - an even more annoying presenter with an even more annoying show. Let's hope not, though.

Also, one of the biggest deals in sport? Does that mean we're going to hear him utter - "So, lads, are you ready for the footy?" :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Skid X wrote: »
    Describing the first run of his RTE chatshow as "horrendous", he revealed: "I was going to walk from it. I told them after two or three, 'I'm not doing this anymore, it's s*** and this isn't what we planned'..

What I wouldnt give to hear Tubridy say those same words... At least Doyle had the balls to be honest with himself about how bad the show was..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

What I wouldnt give to hear Tubridy say those same words... At least Doyle had the balls to be honest with himself about how bad the show was..

To be fair, the LLS is a flaghsip primetime chatshow of long pedigree and international renown, and will hoover up all the premier guests. A second RTE chatshow, no matter who the presenter, stands very little chance of succeeding. And while Doyle may have his positives (OK, not that many), he is well short of Tubridy level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Almaviva wrote: »
    To be fair, the LLS is a flaghsip primetime chatshow of long pedigree and international renown, and will hoover up all the premier guests. A second RTE chatshow, no matter who the presenter, stands very little chance of succeeding. And while Doyle may have his positives (OK, not that many), he is well short of Tubridy level.

I'm sorry, but Tubridy has absolutely no redeeming features as an interviewer. Compare his show to Graham Norton & you will realise how cack he actually is. He's stand offish & aloof, can't show empathy unless you count the odd ah dear & oh no's & with superstar guests (Tom Cruise) tries too hard to be likeable (he isn't) & cool (fck no, he aint)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Giant douche vs. turd sandwich.
    Hard to decide which to fuck in the bin first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,788 ✭✭✭brian_t

Skid X wrote: »
    Craig Doyle has left RTE.
    TV presenter Craig Doyle certainly won't be back on RTE for a bit – he's just signed one of the "biggest deals in sport".

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/i-wont-be-back-on-sick-rte-craig-29313003.html

Fair play to Craig. He must be getting something similar to Rory.
    Rory McIlroy, 23, and the world's top golfer, has just signed with Nike in what is believed to be one of the biggest deals in sport.

No exact details of what the deal was worth were released, but press reports have estimated it could bring the 23-year-old Northern Irishman up to $250 million (190 million euros) over 10 years.

http://www.rappler.com/sports/19765-mcilroy-is-new-nike-endorser-following-blockbuster-deal

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

brian_t wrote: »
    Fair play to Craig. He must be getting something similar to Rory.

http://www.rappler.com/sports/19765-mcilroy-is-new-nike-endorser-following-blockbuster-deal

LOL.....his EX will be well pissed at this news :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I completely disagree, Brendan O'Connor has managed to create a very successful show. Unlike Tubs, Brendan seems to be able to entertain people even if his budget only allows him to have a continuous stream of Z list guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

:D:D:D

Hu got to hand it to Almaviva!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Great now if we could just get them to pull the UPC ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

What on earth are you on about? LLS hoovers up the premier guests? Who are these people? The odd time he will get someone big but it is mostly nobodies from Irish television or relatives of said nobodies. The LLS you see on your screens now is nothing like what it was so to say it is internationally renowned is a stretch.

What level is Tubridy at really? He is only there because of his family connections. He is a spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

lertsnim wrote: »
    What on earth are you on about? LLS hoovers up the premier guests? Who are these people? The odd time he will get someone big but it is mostly nobodies from Irish television or relatives of said nobodies. The LLS you see on your screens now is nothing like what it was so to say it is internationally renowned is a stretch.

What level is Tubridy at really? He is only there because of his family connections. He is a spoofer.

Knowing Almaviva, he's probably referring to the guests that the LLS team frequently get from the RTE Canteen ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

He has in his hole just signed one of the biggest deals in sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Such a deal he's not uses to promote the channel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

Tubs could just interview himself since he's bigger than most of the guests he usually talks to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

It annoys me that even though he admitted his talkshow was terrible, he wouldn't admit that he was the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

A second RTE chatshow, no matter who the presenter, stands very little chance of succeeding.

Almaviva can't possibly be a robot who will never stop liking the LLS and will pay no attention whatsoever to any of its Saturday counterparts... can he?

:o:o:o:D:D:D;););)