Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New tyre side wall damage pass nct?

• 31-05-2013 4:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭

Hi lads
    Check out the photo
    Got 4 new tyres from camskill
    Got them fitted drive for 10km then heard a hissing noise
    The tyre to me looks glued back like it could have been damaged on fitting? Suggestions?
    It is the inside wall of passenger side front I certainly didnt hit any kerbs etc.
    Will it fail nct if I plug it?
    Worth sending back to camskill as a tyre defect?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

That's a blowout waiting to happen and an nct failure. Get it changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Ye thought as much. Do u think something like this could be just bad luck?
    Would a stone or what cause it? On the inside of the passenger wheel just seems suss.
    Considering just got fitted

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ye thought as much. Do u think something like this could be just bad luck?
    Would a stone or what cause it? On the inside of the passenger wheel just seems suss.
    Considering just got fitted

I would say it is doubtful that a tyre fitter would knowingly let something out in that condition. Even if they did it is impossible to prove. I think it is just a case of bad luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I would say it is doubtful that a tyre fitter would knowingly let something out in that condition. Even if they did it is impossible to prove. I think it is just a case of bad luck.

The glue looks very suspect to be fair. Although as you say, it would be hard to prove anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Get rid of the glue (if that's what it is), and send it back. Faulty tyre.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Camskill will replace that tyre alright

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Id be straight back feck that

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

just out of curiosity what brand of tyre is it ?

and the green moss like colour on the side, was it is storage for a while

whatever you do don't drive on it

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Def fail, get on to to camskill pronto about the tyre btw.
    Did you really only drive 10 kilometres with them?

Seriously lads only got delivered by camskill on weds.
    Was fitted straight away. Drove from lusk to coolock then heard the noise.
    It's a continental premium 2.
    £103 a tyre plus postage.
    It certainly does look like glue but I can see camskill just blaming the fitter and visa versa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

TBH, there is almost no way that a tyre mechine or any tyre fitting equipment could cause a jagged tear like that. It really looks like something caught it on the road to me, unlucky for sure but that is certainly damage caused by running over something or similar so there is no way camskill would replace that IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

I'm still puzzled by the green on the sidewall, and there is sign of slight abrasions there as well, for a tyre with only 10km on it looking vey weathered to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

doesn't look new does it, but it may be the photo

Ill get a few other photos up but it did have to be driven about 500m to the nearest petrol station so maybe that's why the sides look worse?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Aye the tyre wall will shred for sure if driven on while fully flat, I've done it myself when I didn't have another option (similar case to yours).