Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carrera Subway for €249 over bank holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Believe me, cheap V brakes are waaay better than cheap discs.

And for this money the bike is excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

I am very interested in buying this over the weekend. I was hoping to get the disk version but I guess this will be alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

Not a bad puppy at all.

I've one of the 2009 limited edition Subways and its put in good service. I moved onto a road bike last year but have kept the Subway for general mucking about.

It's heavy and those 26" wheels won't set any speed records but for the money not a bad buy. Gear train is basic shimano but works well enough. I have 7 x 3 speed and the low ratio gears allow you up just about any hill so with the 21 speed option you'd be fine.

Finish isn't too bad but like anything needs to be looked after. I've had to replace the rear wheel bearings but appart from that its been sweat for the 3 years its seen use.

Ask around on this board for the best Halfords to get it from as I know the quality of the final assembly work and set up varies from store to store.

It's feels very light to me. At the minute I'm knocking about on an old 1990's Raleigh ascender thats in bits. Noisey bearings, bend back axle and crappy brakes. It's a lump of pig iron. This Subway would be a dream ride in comparison.

Do you reckon it's worth paying the extra 100 for the disk breaks, extra 3 gears and wider tyres? 349 for the regular Subway..

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_810731_langId_-1_categoryId_212377

Mcofferon wrote: »
    Not a bad puppy at all.

I've one of the 2009 limited edition Subways and its put in good service. I moved onto a road bike last year but have kept the Subway for general mucking about.

It's heavy and those 26" wheels won't set any speed records but for the money not a bad buy. Gear train is basic shimano but works well enough. I have 18 speed and the low ratio gears allow you up just about any hill so with the 21 speed option you'd be fine.

Finish isn't too bad but like anything needs to be looked after. I've had to replace the rear wheel bearings but appart from that its been sweat for the 3 years its seen use.

Ask around on this board for the best Halfords to get it from as I know the quality of the final assembly work and set up varies from store to store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

Do you reckon it's worth paying the extra 100 for the disk breaks, extra 3 gears and wider tyres? 349 for the regular Subway..

I have an older "limited edition" which did actually come with disc brakes and 21 gears.

Gearing wise I doubt you'd see any benefit in 24 speed over 21 as amongst those options there's a lot if overlap (very similar gear ratios) and basically the lowest and highest ratios available are pretty close.

Brake wise is a different matter. Disc brakes are very "sexy" on hybrids and offer (arguably) better performance in the wet. That said they lack the 'feel' of good rim brakes in the dry.

I don't think there's much in it and certainly not enough to be lashing out an extra €100. Once your spending that much there are other options to be considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭jkb_dub

mondeo wrote: »
    This looks like a nice deal? This is surely decent for this money? Pitty it's not the disk brake model though.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_912123_langId_-1_categoryId_212377

It's 229 if you reserve on the web.

Mcofferon wrote: »
    I have an older "limited edition" which did actually come with disc brakes and 21 gears.

Gearing wise I doubt you'd see any benefit in 24 speed over 21 as amongst those options there's a lot if overlap (very similar gear ratios) and basically the lowest and highest ratios available are pretty close.

Brake wise is a different matter. Disc brakes are very "sexy" on hybrids and offer (arguably) better performance in the wet. That said they lack the 'feel' of good rim brakes in the dry.

I don't think there's much in it and certainly not enough to be lashing out an extra €100. Once your spending that much there are other options to be considering.

Ye I agree the disk brakes look very classy on a Hybrid. I suppose there is little spec differance between the two to justify paying an extra 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

It's 229 if you reserve on the web.

I have a 10% off voucher obtained somewhere here on the Bargains site on Boards awhile ago. Would this be allowed as well after the above web discount to knock it back to €207 approx.????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Halfords bikes are very iffy. I would only buy a boardman bike from there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Mrs Fowl has one of these and it's proved reliable and solid. no complaints form us at all.
    Excellent value at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭dewindygap

A great value bike. Did Skerries to Donegal in a day on mine and also a month in Normandy without a problem. Only issue was/is wheel size. I still love it despite moving on twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Sikpupi

What was wrong with wheel size- these are 26 inches. Standard size ???

Quote:

It's 229 if you
    reserve on the web.
    I have a 10% off voucher obtained somewhere here on the Bargains site on
    Boards awhile ago. Would this be allowed as well after the above web discount
    to knock it back to €207 approx.????

Went to see this at the local store. and NO... only 1 x discount allowed so €229 best price.

However - seen the disk brake version (in 'kinda' black colour) which would cost €315 after discount and I just wanted it! The salesman advised that there it is not worth spending €86 just for disc brakes....but I think I will wait and see how the Black one progresses price-wise in the coming weeks.

So.... €229 spend on hold at moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

alkos wrote: »
    Believe me, cheap V brakes are waaay better than cheap discs.

And for this money the bike is excellent.

I've heard this before regarding decent V brakes being better than cheap discs, but surely that's changed given budget bikes now come with hydraulic brakes? Or at least Lapierre's budget offerings. Obviously cheap hydraulics only do so much but I'd say they're better than cheap mechanical discs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

dewindygap wrote: »
    Did Skerries to Donegal in a day on mine
    You sir, are a masochist! I'd prefer to stick pins in my eyes! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

but surely that's changed given budget bikes now come with hydraulic brakes?

Hydraulics in 250e bike range? Hard to believe ;-) Are they single pistons? OTOH 2 piston shimanos can be really cheap on CRC, so it may be worth upgrading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

I think I'll possibly go for this deal. I t will be for commuting in the city center and an odd spin out to Bray from Rathmines. If I'm reserving online what size would suit a 5'11'' tall male?!

Masala wrote: »
    Went to see this at the local store. and NO... only 1 x discount allowed so €229 best price.

However - seen the disk brake version (in 'kinda' black colour) which would cost €315 after discount and I just wanted it! The salesman advised that
    there it is not worth spending €86 just for disc brakes....but I think I will wait and see how the Black one progresses price-wise in the coming weeks.

So.... €229 spend on hold at moment!

There is more of a differance then just disks. The disk version has better handle grips, the handle bars are differant, the alloy rims are differant. The frame is not identical either. The cheaper subway does not have the mounting points on the frame or fork to retro fit disks if you wanted to.

Im very interested in the disk brake subway as it looks way sexier in matt grey with those clarks calipers.

Im very interested in the disk brake subway as it looks way sexier in matt
    grey with those clarks calipers.

... strange - the sales lads said they were identical except for brakes !!!

So Mondeo... let agree... if either of us see a price fall on same - we let the other know !!! How about it !!

... strange - the sales lads said they were identical except for brakes !!!

So Mondeo... let agree... if either of us see a price fall on same - we let the other know !!! How about it !!

Ramble in again yourself and have a good look at both to spot the differances in detail. I did ask the guy in liffey valley halfords if he knew of it being dropped in price in the future but he said it wasn't marked for a price adjustment.

I'll post on here for sure if I see it dropped in price.

Just updating this thread to let others know that the Subway disk version is now €312 until Tuesday. I put €50 deposit on one today. Collecting next week I hope.

Nice one Mondeo... have you a 10% Voucher as well??? That will bring u down to €281.??

OR.....

Was told that if you know someone who has car insured by Axa... just bring in the Window Disc for 10% additional off!

Got it myself last week...be sure u happy with distance to handlebars. Also.. watch that Tube frame is 'thick and current U-Lock attachment wont fit. So u might need a new lock ! But otherwise I love it. Smooth ride and gears... and it makes me look 'cool'!!

Nice one Mondeo... have you a 10% Voucher as well??? That will bring u down to €281.??

OR.....

Was told that if you know someone who has car insured by Axa... just bring in the Window Disc for 10% additional off!

Got it myself last week...be sure u happy with distance to handlebars. Also.. watch that Tube frame is 'thick and current U-Lock attachment wont fit. So u might need a new lock ! But otherwise I love it. Smooth ride and gears... and it makes me look 'cool'!!

Unfortunately I don't have or know anyone with AXA so I'm paying the advertised priced of 312. Still it cheaper then 349 last week :D. I'm looking forward for abit of cycle down to Bray next week weather permitting. It's a grand bike alright, those disks look classy to:cool:

Mondeo... PM sent