Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good courses around Carlingford

• 29-05-2013 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭

Heading up on a stag to Carlingford in a few weeks, thinking of playing a round close to there or on the way up from Dublin on the Friday before we get started.

Any suggestions?!

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Greenore is the obvious choice. It's an odd course and many people adore it, but I think there's too many bland holes on it myself for it to rate highly. You will get a good price midweek.

Ballymascanlon is nearby. It's short and scenic and a bit of fun but a bit too tight for my liking.

Dundalk is worth playing if you get a good price. Mature woodland course with a handful of excellent holes.

On the way up Seapoint is very nice, and Ardee is a tidy course (though not on a wet day). If you don't consider 20 mile west a detour though, Concra Wood is the ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Vorsprung wrote: »
    Heading up on a stag to Carlingford in a few weeks, thinking of playing a round close to there or on the way up from Dublin on the Friday before we get started.

Any suggestions?!

Cheers!

Did something similar recently & we played Dundalk & Greenore. Dundalk was ok but thought Greenore was excellent, thoroughly enjoyed it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Yea saw Greenore alright, grand for a beginner like myself by the looks of it. Is the course in good nick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

Greenore is always in good condition.

If you're a beginner, Ballymascanlon might be a better option. When the wind blows in Greenore, it's a long walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Vorsprung wrote: »
    Yea saw Greenore alright, grand for a beginner like myself by the looks of it. Is the course in good nick?

Smashing condition. Beware though, it's not an easy track by any means. Especially if the wind blows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dwayned

+1 on Ballymascanlon - we played there last year with our company Belfast v Dublin. It was a nice course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Excellent, thanks lads. A wealth of knowledge and advice here, fair play.