Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dodge Avenger - Opinions

• 27-05-2013 3:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭

http://www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/dodge-avenger-19-crd-se-vw-engine-24000-miles-55-mpg/1017946459

Hi all.
    Wondering what your opinion is on the car in the link above. It is a 2008 Dodge Avenger CRD SE and has only done 28000 miles. Have spoken to the owner and he is second owner and has the car for two years. Has MOT's to back up low mileage. Car is mint and in Liverpool so easy enough to get home.

Have read loads of reviews and they seem good enough apart from the dash which is a bit plastic and thin. Friend has a caliper and it has much the same as the avenger.

I am selling my car at the end of June and would live to get up to the cheap tax at a good price.

Will you let me know what you think. Car would cost €5300 and around 1300 to clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Its tempting alright. I was considering one this time last year.
    Girl at work has a caliber and had an aircon pump go, cost was over 1500. Second hand wasn't an option as they're so unpopular. Ended up bypassing the pump instead.

Avenger even less common over here.

You can get new shape Mondeos pretty cheap, they're a better car in most respects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

rocksimmo wrote: »
    http://www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/dodge-avenger-19-crd-se-vw-engine-24000-miles-55-mpg/1017946459

Hi all.
    Wondering what your opinion is on the car in the link above. It is a 2008 Dodge Avenger CRD SE and has only done 28000 miles. Have spoken to the owner and he is second owner and has the car for two years. Has MOT's to back up low mileage. Car is mint and in Liverpool so easy enough to get home.

Have read loads of reviews and they seem good enough apart from the dash which is a bit plastic and thin. Friend has a caliper and it has much the same as the avenger.

I am selling my car at the end of June and would live to get up to the cheap tax at a good price.

Will you let me know what you think. Car would cost €5300 and around 1300 to clear.

I'd say if you arrived in Liverpool with 4 k sterling you'd take it away, bitch to sell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

They look terrible in the flesh. I liked them in pictures and ads until I saw one in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rocksimmo

Thanks lads for the replies. Only considering it at the moment. Like the Mondeo Titanium X but rare enough here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They look terrible in the flesh. I liked them in pictures and ads until I saw one in the real world.

Yep, a bit like that awful Chrysler Sebring. Taste lobotomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

It looks like someone added the front and rear on as a horrible aftermarket kit to a vaguely boring saloon in an attempt to make it aggressive looking. Instead, it just looks kinda sad. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I like the doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Someone grafted a boot onto a pt cruiser. Shudderfest. Dodgey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's got the Fiat Multi-jet diesel lump isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Bazz, they use the old VW 2.0 PD TDI engine.

My advice would be forget about it. Stick to the mainstream brands. It may look tempting to buy now but an extra few quid spent on a Ford/Toyota/VW will pay dividends when it comes to sourcing and paying for replacement parts and servicing while you own the car, not to mention the resale value when you fancy a change. Not to mention the absolute state of it!! :pac:

Advice Taken. Think I will look down the road of a mondeo or mazda 6. Have a vectra sri and fancy a change as have been offered 5k for it and cannot really refuse it. Cheers for the replies.
    George - You have spelt it out for me. I was hooked on the plate and price !!!. No wonder he was going to pick me up and all, prob first call he got in 15 days bout it.

rocksimmo wrote: »
    Advice Taken. Think I will look down the road of a mondeo or mazda 6. Have a vectra sri and fancy a change as have been offered 5k for it and cannot really refuse it. Cheers for the replies.
    George - You have spelt it out for me. I was hooked on the plate and price !!!. No wonder he was going to pick me up and all, prob first call he got in 15 days bout it.

There is such a thing as the wrong sort of "interesting"....

Just imagine you buy it, then turn up at your mates gaff / a mates wedding / other social event. And there you are, driving THAT.....:eek: :(

Everyone will know it was cheap, and that it may have lots of toys. But it represents such shockingly bad taste & judgement that you will be ostracised or, at least, pitied.... Misery will ensue...

Buy a Mazda 6 or a Mondeo. Great cars and fun to drive, irrespective of the age your budget might get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭rai555

There is such a thing as the wrong sort of "interesting"....

Just imagine you buy it, then turn up at your mates gaff / a mates wedding / other social event. And there you are, driving THAT.....:eek: :(

Everyone will know it was cheap, and that it may have lots of toys. But it represents such shockingly bad taste & judgement that you will be ostracised or, at least, pitied.... Misery will ensue...

Buy a Mazda 6 or a Mondeo. Great cars and fun to drive, irrespective of the age your budget might get.

If you want to stay incognito on that event - buy mondeo and noobody will see you. If you want something different - buy or at least try something of piste. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

That yoke is butt fugly.

Right Sebring it is - Only Kidding. Going to stick with Mondeo or Mazda 6. Might scrape up a few extra bob and get the titanium X model in England. Cheers lads for the replies. Have a week in Portugal from tomorrow to decide. Hope im not swayed by Dacia.

rai555 wrote: »
    If you want to stay incognito on that event - buy mondeo and noobody will see you. If you want something different - buy or at least try something of piste. :P

Had a Mk1 Mazda 6 for 3 years. great to drive for a 1.8L saloon, tough and cheap to run. very neutral handling. Get Bridgestone A001 all seasons and you can enjoy throwing it around.

and it is utterly invisible.