Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hate Driving!!

• 25-05-2013 2:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads,

Bit of a weird one I'd imagine but I'm a 30 year old guy that just hates driving. I wouldn't consider it a phobia but it does cause me the odd sleepless night. I'm your normal 30 year old, it certain environments like on football pitch, work, meeting people I would be very confident and totally at ease but when it comes to driving I get pretty nervous. I'm still a learner driver and have done the required number of lessons. I've been on the road for maybe 18 months but avoid using the car whenever I can.

I guess technically I'm a decent driver, never involved in any crashes and drive safely. My parking could do with a bit of work but overall I guess I'm decent. Anyways I'm being forced to drive a fairly long distance Monday and am just a bit uncomfortable with the thought of it. I guess in the long run it will be good for me but that still doesn't really help the nerves!

Plus side I will be following a vehicle back to my home place so I wont be alone and it should be easy but still any advice would be greatly appreciated. Hard to say it to the lads as driving for guys my age should be easy, natural and absolutely no problem..

Thanks very much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ever2010

I didn't learn to drive until I was 31. It really did take me about 2 years to really learn properly, I'd make any excuse not to drive. I was convinced that I'd roll backwards, or accidentally go into reverse on the dual carriageway :p.

We moved to a very rural area where I had to drive to leave the house. My only advice is to practice and practice. My part time job then involved me driving around Leinster and it was the best thing that could've happened. I can now get into the car and drive across the country without giving it a second thought - and I NEVER thought I would be comfortable, but I am. If I can do it, trust me - anyone can!

I wish you the very best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

I got my full license after 9 months of driving, I was very nervous at first, I got over it by just be careful, driving when I know not many cars will be on the road and night driving.

Now I'm zooming around. It takes time for some people I have a friend driving a lot longer than me and she still has no confidence when it comes to her test or driving.

You need to relax. What got me through was pointing out that some people are horrendous drivers, if they can do it, I can do it a million times better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

OP - Assuming by learner, you mean you are on a provisional licence, then the first thing you need to do is stop avoiding the car and apply for your test. If you feel you are not ready for the test, then you need to do more than the prescribed number of lessons combined with a lot of extra informal driving with an accompanied licenced driver until you are ready and confident. Even if you fail first time (as most do), that is still good experience and a learning opportunity for your next test. Once you pass, it still doesn't make you an expert (driving, and particularly, safety awareness, is a constant learning process), but it will give your confidence a boost. Beyond that, it's just the more and more hours you put in, the more assured and relaxed you become until it's second nature.

As you're probably aware, it is illegal to drive unaccompanied on a provisional so I'm not sure if this long distance drive you refer to involves a fully licenced driver sitting with you (which is a legal requirement) which should help ease your nerves. Apart from the law, I wouldn't recommend driving solo if you are nervous and only on a provisional. There could be insurance ramifications to this if you were involved in an incident. I do seem to notice the Gardai being a lot more visible these days also (I've had to show my licence twice in the past year on the roads as part of random stop and checks whereas never in the previous few years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

OP I'm only in my early 20's and began learning how to drive when I was 18 and passed my test after my second attempt when I was 19.
    But I hated every minute of learning. Driving made me nervous, I was unsure, I felt under huge amounts of pressure, it seemed dangerous, not to mention time consuming, boring, and expensive to learn!

However, over time I started to get better, and better at driving. Now Its no problem what so ever! It just takes time, a lot of time. Dont rush yourself. In my opinion 12 lessons aren't enough, and I made the mistake of thinking it would be. I must have taken about 20 in total with regular practice on the side.

You will gain confidence! Trust me, just give it time, dont give up, and keep driving! Getting my full licence was one of the best things ever, even though I previously had no interest in driving.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Aeons ago when I learned to drive, my instructor told me that you need a lesson for every year of your life.So another few hours training might boost your confidence. Also on the day I passed my test he congratulated me and said 'right, now you can drive. It'll take another two years to learn to park' :) So I wouldn't stress about that bit!

The more you drive the more instinctive it becomes. It does take a while before you can do the fundamentals of driving, like changing gear, without having to think about it. Once you get to that stage the whole thing does get easier. You just need more time behind the wheel. So feel the fear and do it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭fiona-f

Hey lads,

Plus side I will be following a vehicle back to my home place so I wont be alone and it should be easy but still any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    !

Terrible idea, this is a very stressful way to drive, do your own navigation and forget trying to keep up with someone if you are not 100% confident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

This journey will be the making of you. You've built driving up into something that's a bigger deal than it is by avoiding using the car. Before you leave, take a look at a map and work out the route you'll be taking if you're unfamiliar with it. Even though there are satnavs and smartphones with mapping on them everywhere now, I still think you can't go wrong with having a paper map in the car. Driving in another county is no different to driving near you. It's just unfamiliar territory. You'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey lads,

OP here again, just wanted to say thanks very much to all that replied! Tis very much appreciated :) My person driving in front of me know how I am when it comes to driving so he will be taking it really handy so following him should be grand.

I don't have sat nav or any devices that could aid in be getting from A to B but getting back I think wouldn't be too difficult anyways. I'll take it slow, easy and just take my time no matter what pops up. It's funny because as mentioned I by nature am a confident person but driving for whatever reason brings out the nervous kid in me :/

Anyways all your advice has made me feel tons better and I'll let you know how I go :)

Thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

I think if a person doesn't learn when they are in their teens or early twenties learning to drive can be a very stressful thing to do. I only knuckled down to learning when I knew the only alternative would be been stuck at home all day when we moved to the country. It took at least a year possibly more before I became confident, it seemed like forever at the time and I honestly believed it would never happen.
    Good luck, you will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Plus side I will be following a vehicle back to my home place so I wont be alone

As learner drivers have to be accompanied by a qualified driver, you will not be alone by definition.
    You need to do your test and then you can practice more when you can drive alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hello op here again :) Just in the door from the drive! Everything went swimmingly, after the first few minutes the nerves literally left me and I almost enjoyed the drive :D

Mainly wanted to come back on here just to say thanks and genuinely all the advice did really help me and gave me the kick up the ar*se that I needed along with supplying me with the extra bit of confidence.

Thank you very much!