Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous fallen tree

• 25-05-2013 8:34am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Not sure if this is the right forum or not but I'd appreciate some advice if ye can.
    Up the road from me there's a tree fell over during the stormy weather abut a month ago. Being a bit concerned that it still hadn't been cleared from the side of the road I called into Westmeath council office to see if they could help but the lady on the desk suggested that I contact the land owner. Now I wouldn't know who's responsible but it just looks very dangerous - it's round the corner from a primary school - and I'm just wondering who would you contact in this case? It's caught up in some overhead wires as well so might Eircom help.:confused:
    8cAY8g.jpg

524Rt5.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Drive up the nearest lane and ask politely who owns the field. If you get nowhere with this course of action, you could go down with the chainsaw and block it up yourself. Owner almost guaranteed to appear as you load your car/trailer with the wood.!

Few years ago someone left a low-loader a few yards from a junction on our road. Was a foot out on the road, and forced you out onto the wrong side just at a T junction. After about 2 weeks I went down with the digger and pushed it in at the side of an old haggard about 50 yards down the road. Don't know who owned it, disappeared about a month later. Some times you just have to take action yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

Yeah ask about locally who owns it, I wouldn't go near it myself with the cables through it, could be dangerous, I would say looking at them they are more likely ESB as there are two of them, than Eircom, Eircom usually only have one on a run.

If you can't find out who the landowner is, try and establish do the ESB own the cables if they do they'll sort it fairly sharpish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

I would suggest going to the local authorities to see if they can get rid of it. If not, your local leccy supplier should clear this up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I'd love to cut it up for firewood but between the bits snagged in the cables and the big branch still dangling from the tree it's a bit hazardous for that.
    As regards the local authorities the receptionist at Westmeath CC was reluctant to tell me which department was responsible or to name someone I could speak to in relation to it. That's what really annoyed me which is why I posted here. I thought I was doing the right thing going to the council to report something dangerous before an accident happens but the lack of interest (not for the first time) really bothers me!
    Anyway, thanks for the replies and I'll have a word with the locals.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

I guess the next step is to bring it up with your local rag (newspaper)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

DO NOT GO ANYWHERE ATTENDING TO IT YOURSELF!!!

It's a health and safety issue.

Those wires it's pulling down are going to rebound with force once they are freed.

This is a job for whoever is responsible for them. And I can't see it being the landowner in this case.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Hermy wrote: »
    I'd love to cut it up for firewood but between the bits snagged in the cables and the big branch still dangling from the tree it's a bit hazardous for that.
    As regards the local authorities the receptionist at Westmeath CC was reluctant to tell me which department was responsible or to name someone I could speak to in relation to it. That's what really annoyed me which is why I posted here. I thought I was doing the right thing going to the council to report something dangerous before an accident happens but the lack of interest (not for the first time) really bothers me!
    Anyway, thanks for the replies and I'll have a word with the locals.

Looks like there are no leaves on tree, is it ash?

Job for ESB/eirtricity.

If rest of tree falls in future, landowner could be in bother if it causes damage. It would be in his interest to take down tree completely. Case law on it in UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

Had this problem but was in middle of land.A branch fell down on esb lines and knocked them down rang esb and was told not to touch them they came out and sorted it.There was 2 trees that the branch came out of and another one beside it and was not let cut down as would be liable if hit cables so they came out eventually and took them down for me. Years ago an ash tree fell down across phone lines along road.Father cut tree on root side of cable and the tension flipped tree up in air and father was lucky not to get badly hurt.The person who owns tree is probably waiting for tree to be cut by whoever owns lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Sounds like a job for the special "branch"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

P_ut it in writing or e mail to council and e s b that it is dangerous
    they are then obliged to respond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I passed that tree yesterday evening, it's on the road from Rathowen to legan isn't it? As I passed there were several Eircom workers sawing it up. Don't know if they cleared it all, but it looked like they were going to. Are you sure it's still there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

jesus lads its the first time Westmeath co co have not looked after its area with pride.;)

where in the county is it?

reilig wrote: »
    I passed that tree yesterday evening, it's on the road from Rathowen to legan isn't it? As I passed there were several Eircom workers sawing it up. Don't know if they cleared it all, but it looked like they were going to. Are you sure it's still there?

That's the place. Haven't passed it today but that's great if they've sorted it.

Genealogy Forum Mod

lads that's a rough part of the county :P

that's a lovely estate there around those 2 real bad corners and big organic farm run by a gardai also

Well they fixed up the cables but there's still a lot of tree that needs to be tidied up especially the piece hanging from the other tree. Maybe the council will do something about it on Monday...

7tHvNZ.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

im sure the farmer will be told to knock the tree on H&S grounds asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

Drive up the nearest lane and ask politely who owns the field. If you get nowhere with this course of action, you could go down with the chainsaw and block it up yourself. Owner almost guaranteed to appear as you load your car/trailer with the wood.!

Few years ago someone left a low-loader a few yards from a junction on our road. Was a foot out on the road, and forced you out onto the wrong side just at a T junction. After about 2 weeks I went down with the digger and pushed it in at the side of an old haggard about 50 yards down the road. Don't know who owned it, disappeared about a month later. Some times you just have to take action yourself.
    That was my low loader and you scratched it :-)

im sure the farmer will be told to knock the tree on H&S grounds asap.

Hope so.

Genealogy Forum Mod