Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Rage- Holles St 23/5/13

• 24-05-2013 9:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

Just wanted to see if anyone else witnessed this or is reporting this (& looking for a witness):

I was a bit shaken yesterday evening after witnessing some full-on road rage between a cyclist & a car driver on Holles Street. In summary:

Cyclist (Cycle Courier, possibly Italian going by his accent) cycling along Hogan Place shouting at Black 00-C VW Polo behind him. Car drives up right behind him & honks horn. Cyclist loses it & throws heavy bike lock at car side-door. Car races up Holles St. Cyclist follows him & continues shouting at him. Car rams cyclist & knocks him off his bike. Cyclist gets up & opens car door. Car drives over his bike & races up wrong-side of Hollles St & drives off :eek:

I saw the cyclist coming up to Merrion Square looking for the car but no sign. Then he raced off. When I got home I phoned Pearse St Garda Station but they said nothing had been reported. Can only imagine maybe both cyclist & driver felt they had both given as much as they had got? Left my name & number anyhow. Not sure what else I should do really.

Did anyone else witness/hear about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Terrorist incident :o

Seriously tho, that sounds nasty !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

I've seen a kryptonite make a nice mark on a windscreen before!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

*Seen* a rear view mirror getting kicked off once....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Saw a Bus Eireann driver out of the bus (stopped in the middle lane) and a cyclist roaring at each other in front of the bus on Binn's Bridge yesterday coming home from work. No idea what the incident was.

Fair play for calling the Gardaí, you never know when someone will need a witness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

If it was around 5:20pm, it was almost me. I didn't catch him though - he was honking at every cyclist going on the bus lane, bastird.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Go over to the motors forum and see the thread about our tweet girl, doesn't surprise me about incidents like above when I see the attitude of some lads. Entertaining but if they are serious then they will eventually lose it, as above, and kill someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Guill wrote: »
    *Seen* a rear view mirror getting kicked off once....

In fairness a lot of indicator and rear-view mirror "accidents" are due the driver not using the bloody things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Wheeker wrote: »
    Just wanted to see if anyone else witnessed this or is reporting this (& looking for a witness):

I was a bit shaken yesterday evening after witnessing some full-on road rage between a cyclist & a car driver on Holles Street. In summary:

Cyclist (Cycle Courier, possibly Italian going by his accent) cycling along Hogan Place shouting at Black 00-C VW Polo behind him. Car drives up right behind him & honks horn. Cyclist loses it & throws heavy bike lock at car side-door. Car races up Holles St. Cyclist follows him & continues shouting at him. Car rams cyclist & knocks him off his bike. Cyclist gets up & opens car door. Car drives over his bike & races up wrong-side of Hollles St & drives off :eek:

I saw the cyclist coming up to Merrion Square looking for the car but no sign. Then he raced off. When I got home I phoned Pearse St Garda Station but they said nothing had been reported. Can only imagine maybe both cyclist & driver felt they had both given as much as they had got? Left my name & number anyhow. Not sure what else I should do really.

Did anyone else witness/hear about this?

jeez its one thing shouting at each other, its another to actually use a car to drive AT someone and knock them down

that is VERY serious :mad:
    people like that need their licences taken off them and turned over to cops to deal with, thats basically attempted murder