Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Constructor Functionality

Options
  • 21-05-2013 6:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭

I'm studying OO in college and we've only ever used constructors to set variable values.

It is acceptable / best practice to perform more complex operations within a constructor such as querying a db to retrieve data and than setting variable values based on that data?

For example, if I have a class called carsCollection which contains an ArrayList of class Car, could the constructor retrieve from the db the data about cars, create a Car object for each car and add it to the carsCollection ArrayList?

If this isn't a good technique, what are the better alternatives?

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

Well it really depends on what you are doing and the situation. If you are creating a library or a framework you might want to have a method for initialising different variables. The reason behind this is to make your code more extensible. Sometime you need properties (getter and setters). In most cases I personally have multiple constuctors for libraries. In one case a constructor that accepts nothing (default) and initialise all veriable to null or 0 *depending on what you have. Another is an overloaded constructor.

Hope that helps
    Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Thanks for your reply.