Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ferret kits

• 20-05-2013 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭

Anyone have them yet?
    My little Jill is gettin bigger now and her nipples are really starting to stand out
    She's only in early days but looks like il have kits soon
    Hopefully it's not another phantom pregnancy like my other Jill had last year
    She's now Seperated from the hobs and eating like a pig
    Just not sure which of the hobs will be the kits father as both have been on her but one hob is more dominant than the other so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭natdog

Anyone have them yet?
    My little Jill is gettin bigger now and her nipples are really starting to stand out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

9 kits this morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭mike91

10 there on the 22nd :)

mike91 wrote: »
    10 there on the 22nd :)

All surviving so far?
    All mine doing well gettin plenty of milk
    Me little Jill looks boll0xed

yeah there all fine :) shes taking good care of her i keep her well fed and watered :) and she has a bit of space to stretch the legs :)

I was expecting mine to kill her kits or mate abandon them as its her first but she has hardly left them and hen she heard me with food she'll get up and come to the cage with one or two stuck on her but she straight away takes them off and carries them back to the nest
    Are you using a water bottle or bowl of water?
    I have the bowl as its energy wasting using a water bottle ( lad told me last week to do it and he was right)
    Think I know which one of my hobs covered her

I use a bowl of water and yeah she does the same thing :)

day one and 6 days later. looks like theyll be albinos
    6FD8CB2A_zpsdcfe740a.jpg

EF717DEB_zps117943ab.jpg

Mine look about the same :) shes gettin back to normal now too everythin is lookin well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 stephenoconnor

alri lads iv 2 gills ready to have their kits in the next day or 2, this week defo. one grayhound and one polecat both were covered by the same polecat. il let yous know how they get on

also lads if anyone would be interested in doing a straight swap for a hob for a hob for breeding purpose's in a few weeks let me know im living in dublin kits will be born this week so in 8 weeks if any one has a hob in their kits and looking for a new male let me know to arrange to meet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

i have kits there at the minute, from a good jill and a cracking hob. you're welcome to a hob if you want it, no need to swap. happy once they go to good working home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

got seven in litter the other day,other jill gonna pop shortly.first litter for both of them so keeping fingers crossed.

6FD8CB2A_zpsdcfe740a.jpg

now
    D7FAD913_zpscbb1d509.jpg

2 girls
    5CE8D490_zps3948f553.jpg

and the biggest lad his eyes are open he just has em closed here
    FCA2B8CB_zpsc9f8e094.jpg[/URL

alri lads both of my ferrets had 9 babies each on the same day 2 days later both of them eat 4 babies each but its there first time having kits so other than that everything going well il post a few pics when the babbies are a little older. 2 weeks old this weekend

I read an article on ferrets not too long ago and said 70% of first time births are eaten or at least a few of them
    It's a shame really but its life

il post pics of the 2 kits in a week or so

yea iv heard the same thing bout that also both of them had big litters for their first time.but both mothers and babies seem to be healthy and putting some weight on

My jill had her first litter but didn't eat any of her kits
    But one of them did die
    Looked like the runt of the litter

Kits starting to change colour
    They're turning a dark colour now
    Suppose il have to wait another week to find out who fathered them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 huntmark

Any of you guys with ferret kits in or near the wicklow area?

huntmark wrote: »

There's one or two lads on this that have them. I'm sure they'll pm you soon about them.

One of mine had 8. Other jill is lactating also so they have two mammies. None were cannibalised. Thinking it's an even split on Hobs and Jills but won't know till next week at the earliest.

getting bigger,seems there was 6 in each litter.
    WP_000234_zpsdbfbf5a5.jpg
    WP_000232_zpsc11af89a.jpg

huntmark wrote: »
    PM sent.

All grown up now.
    jill and hob in each pic.
    WP_000305_zps315be2c1.jpg
    WP_000302_zps02a6e28a.jpg
    WP_000300_zps0c90e7be.jpg

Sean il take a Jill off ya for my hob. He's pretty lonely after what happened the others. He's in perfect health which is good and he's eating like a horse.
    Anyway they are same colour as him so il take one off you :)

Sean il take a Jill off ya for my hob. He's pretty lonely after what happened the others. He's in perfect health which is good and he's eating like a horse.
    Anyway they are same colour as him so il take one off you :)
    grand job ,but read your pm's or texts..just let me know if you serious bout taking her.. thanks.