Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Control/Conservation Are You Doing ATM

• 20-05-2013 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

I'm just wondering what sort of things are ye doing this time of year?
    Are ye trapping, building pens or just waiting for the season to roll around?

I have one larsen trap finally up and running. I was trying to get a call bird for ages by using a nest with eggs, dog food, etc but nothing would work for me. Last night I got a call bird off another gun club member and woke up this morning with a magpie waiting for me, happy days.

Once I have some mags cleared out I'll be moving onto the greys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

Was out shooting yesterday and got 2 grey crows and a magpie (as well as 3 woodies), I have the larsen trap going and caught 1 grey crow so far (delighted that I caught the f'er I did though because he was taking my hens eggs), I have 2 mink traps and I have 3 mink caught so far and even though we usually leave off on the foxing until later in the year we had a call out from a local fella to get a fox who had decimated his hens in November and was continuously returning for more despite ever advancing levels of fencing. A single .220 swift round seems to have done the job as we haven't heard back and its nearly a week gone :)

Would love to have more mink traps on the go.

DSCN1496_zps62c4f84a.jpg

DSCN1491_zps091ee38e.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

1 of the lad's doing a bit of trapping yesterday
    magipes002_zps62ccfdb5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

il be doing a bit of fixing up on the pheasant pen,also iv a larsen trap on the go and got 2 greys in it the other day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Have 3 Larsen traps on the go, and last bank Holiday I worked on one of the two Pheasant pens as it was full of holes, all around the pens have been sprayed over 6 weeks ago, and the electric fence is running fine, we have 300 birds on order arriving last week in July with another 100 on back order from regional game council, I am also getting all my 30 Litre buckets drilled to take wright feeders which I got sent from Clare, so kept very busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,868 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Got a couple of new mink traps arriving next week for my place in the West. Hope they cope with the salty air(will be installed in drains running down to seashore) better then the last lot:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭alsace royal

im knocking away at mink and greys/mags at the minute, after a lull of a month or so i have recently started picking up a few of what id say are this years mink out on the hunt for 'premissions' of their own, prefer to let of on foxes till young is away tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I'll hold my hand up and say I have been poor this season so far.

Had several mink and larsen traps on the go last few seasons but every year one of them gets stolen or smashed up :(

Must get on to it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

have two larsen traps on the go and two mink traps thats all i cud afford outa my own pocket club here is s**t...still clipin problem foxes and when i bring the spaniel n terrier out for run ta keep um goin i give a lash at greys an mags flyin within range...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Its good to see people hitting vermin during the off season.

I hope to build a ladder trap in the coming weeks so I can get big numbers quicker.
    I need to get my mink traps going again also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

I'm finishing up my ladder trap in the comming days but so far i have 8 mags 2 mink and a rabbit of the vermin count at the end of de year with the club :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Myself and another lad on this have been hitting the mags and crows hard on weekend
    Don't know the full amount but let's just say I've enough to half fill a chest freezer and that's since 2 weeks ago
    Saturday was a good day as we started to notice a flight they take to head to forest so we bunked under tree they fly over and was taking them fairly handy
    The ba5tards are swallowing the cow feed so happy enough and not finished yet
    Anyone getting squirrels yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

we just finished trapping as we had been at it since early feburary and no time at the moment.

finished with 2 Mink, 42 Foxes, 404 Grey Crow and 106 Magpies..

Were busy at game crops and preparing our pen for pheasants

All can be seen at www.ODGC.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Mink trapping, all year round. Use mink rafts with Fenn traps. Baited with mink gland scent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭ace86

been trapping away since february put out mink trap and within 24hrs had one nabbed but it cost me a good hunting knife I lost in the process, Neighbour had a few hens taken back the road and placed a trap and within a wk I had I had a young female trapped, no real sucess since only a rat. been picking away at grey crows and magpies got 2greys ystrday hoping for more of the same 2day but lot are thinned out from trapping the lst few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

Just finished with the larson traps now, i had 3 going for about 10 weeks moped up 43 mags & 25 greys, :) Just at the mink traps now & dispatching a few mags with the shottie & ucaller. The first batch of pheasant chicks just hatched at the weekend, the next lot are dew next weekend. I freed the laying pheasants yesterday. The french red legged partridge are only just starting to lay this week & will be heading for the incubator that has come free after the first batch of pheasant eggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I have another larsen trap on order. Hoping to have it tomorrow or Friday. I've caught the magpies that do be hanging around the house and now have the trap moved to a field down the road. I plan on working my way up through the farms along my road. Also going to head down to my uncles and set up a trap for the weekend.

I made this yesterday to hold a magpie for the new trap and to have one on standby in case a call bird in the trap calls it quits.

73e3fcf4-4ee5-4555-875c-14741225d89f_zps7687f139.jpg
    DSC_0139_zpse18f71a8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Ziggieire

Traping mink and keeping the rabbit numbers down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭vapour_trail

Flat out at magpies and grey crows every evening all on my own cos other lads in the club cant be arsed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Flat out at magpies and grey crows every evening all on my own cos other lads in the club cant be arsed :(

Medal in the post:D only joking it can be a pain when all the hands go up saying "I'll do that" and then no one bothers, I know what your going through but most if not all Clubs have this problem keep it going and fair play to you as long as your getting out and about;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Disgusted at what I just seen on the nature section on a thread about urban trappin of birds and there are 2 or 3 lads who openly admitted to releasing magpies and grey crows from Larson traps as its cruel for the birds in them
    Someone open their eyes please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

Set my first Larsen trap yesterday morning, took a look last night with the fresh water and bread and nothing, same again this morning nothing.... just back in tonite from the water and food run and found two big fellers in it, happy days broke my duck with a double, lookinhg forward to the next few days, plenty about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

I have 3 larsen traps going now 2 mags and 1 grey crow.
    So far i have 57 magpies, 4 mink and 2 grey crows.
    I'm going to start on a release pen in the next 2-3 weeks or so.
    Also just wondering once you's get your mags/crows ect do ya keep the wings/heads ect as i'm keeping the wings by stapling the 2 together. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭mixerbarcoe

myself and the unlce flat out after the grey crows and magpies with larsen traps and shotguns...catching magpies the last few weeks with the larsen trap i have on the go.. got a grey crow off the uncle last night and caugth my first grey today...them greys are some yokes too grab hold of you when taking them out of the trap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mallards

Just finished sowing an acre of gamecrop with a kale mix. Went with strips this time as doing the whole field the last time left it too dense and not as much use. Hope the weather keeps playing ball!
    Mallards

IMAG0311_zps22583a4c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I had a larsen trap going and got 16 magpies and 6 grey crows before my call bird was released.I have just got a new call bird so ill get it back out again now.

image_zps5d23edd9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

targeting crows every weekend,getting them regulary in trap in garden..
    WP_000156_zps488a5ab4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭hrcbob

Have 2 larsens on the go,, one initailly with a grey but i wasnt having much luck so now have 2 with mags,, have caught as many greys with a mag host as i did with the grey host,, Total so far is around 65 mags and 10 greys, i have a patch of ground close on 150 acres now virtually mag free.. few lads in the club trapping strong too but in the 20s to 30s each on mags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

in the last week i have a fox 3 gray crows a magpie and 27 rabbits shot with my 22lr and i have a larsen trap for the magpies and i have 2 mink traps but none set now i must get them out agean