Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Passat question

• 19-05-2013 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭

I am looking into getting a VW passat, and recently seen 2005 model(newer shape) that caught my eye.

It had a 2.0litre diesel engine but I know that there was a factory recall involving the fuel injectors, what I was wondering was the 2005 model effected by this?.

And while I'm here can anyone give me a few pointers on what look out for with a passat, common problems etc...

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Injectors on the 2.0 were covered by a recall so are no longer an issue.

You need to read up on the oil pump and balance shaft problems associated with that engine though. That is where the potential for a big repair bill lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Have a 2006 2L TDI car myself with the DSG box..

You'll also want to check if the timing belt has been done, watch for flywheel failure (common to any modern diesel in fairness) and there's reports of problems with the steering column (never had any issues myself) and the electronic handbrake (one of the rear caliper's became faulty on mine but it was sorted by the poster above :))

Aside from that they're a very nice comfortable car, huge boot, plenty of space in the rear seat area, and if looked after they will keep on going - mine has 242000 km on it and still going strong (looking into selling/trading it at the moment actually but that's cause I want an A6 rather than having to!)

Try and get a Comfortline or above spec - comes with cruise control, climate control, all electrics etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

Cheers lads. Are there any checks you can do for the above failures upon inspection?. Like for instance the flywheel?.

So were all 2.0 litre engines in all years effected by the injector issue?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Are there any checks you can do for the above failures upon inspection?. Like for instance the flywheel?.

neutral with engine ticking over, clutch in (nice and quiet), release clutch out (rattle rattle rattle), DMF banjaxed........

MidlandsM wrote: »
    neutral with engine ticking over, clutch in (nice and quiet), release clutch out (rattle rattle rattle), DMF banjaxed........

Sound, and is there any way of finding out if its on the way out?. Or is it a case that it is either fecked or not?.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Sound, and is there any way of finding out if its on the way out?. Or is it a case that it is either fecked or not?.

bar taking the dmf out itself, not really, but if you hear any rattle with clutch out or midway out, any rattle at all, its in the post ;)

MidlandsM wrote: »
    bar taking the dmf out itself, not really, but if you hear any rattle with clutch out or midway out, any rattle at all, its in the post ;)

Cheers for the info fella.

Anyone else got advice?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Kraziai

Hi guys,just want to ASK you where is vw passat 2.0 Tdi fuel pump relay located?and Would be a good idea to take out relay in The evening and out IT back in The morning?that Would do no damage?just My friends same vw was stolen,and so many vw passat are stolen in The area.just a thought of prevention of theft?what do you think?thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Kraziai wrote: »
    Hi guys,just want to ASK you where is vw passat 2.0 Tdi fuel pump relay located?and Would be a good idea to take out relay in The evening and out IT back in The morning?that Would do no damage?just My friends same vw was stolen,and so many vw passat are stolen in The area.just a thought of prevention of theft?what do you think?thanks

They are being stolen with the key, would make more sense to put the key somewhere more secure than worry about fuel relays.