Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

are all cars on donedeal just banjaxed?

• 19-05-2013 4:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭

i have been to see 5 cars 2 long journeys to see them and 3 local ones and they all look ok on the ad but when i viewed them they were totally different from seeing cars with good pics on the ad but the car had more hits than johnny cash other ones sounded pure rough had timing belts 40k over due gearbox screeching ect and these cars were up to 4000 euro in value anyone ever got a car off it andeither got a good one or bad one? im actually sick of seeing these cars ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Always remember, ALL PICTURES ARE LIES.

Check the car with your own eyes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

I've sold a couple of cars on donedeal
    Some were good, some were not in great nick. The ones that weren't in great nick were advertised as such and priced accordingly

I think if you are looking at bangernomic prices that it can be difficult to filter out the crap at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭the irish fella

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Always remember, ALL PICTURES ARE LIES.

Check the car with your own eyes
    i know but when you travel half the country to see a car with a screw holding in the bumper and the pics were pure spotless couldnt that be counted as false advertisment like

Max Power1 wrote: »
    I've sold a couple of cars on donedeal
    Some were good, some were not in great nick. The ones that weren't in great nick were advertised as such and priced accordingly

I think if you are looking at bangernomic prices that it can be difficult to filter out the crap at times.
    i have viewed cars at 4k? they should be ok like i would be expecting bad yokes at 1k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i have traveled a fair distance to view some absolute sheds, but in fairness i've bought most of the cars i've ever owned from donedeal and *touch wood* they have all been fine bar routine maintenance.

4k is hardly a groundbreaking sum that will guarentee quality on arrival, particularly in a private deal. i'l bet you're looking at VAG diesels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

I find Donedeal great.
    I've bought and sold plenty.
    There is a lot of junk but in my experience it is usually always the bottom of the price bracket cars that are useless. I.e. If you were looking at mondeos and they were all around 2-3000 and you find one cheaper, that usually will be a lemon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

I was the same a couple of weeks ago, spent weeks looking at junk. Then spent 8 hours driving around looking at cars one saturday and all were a waist of time, sellers saying they were very clean cars and not a straight panel on them, interiors missing bits and lying about mileage and servicing ect.
    I was lucky, an ad appeared, I rang the seller and he told me the car just passed the nct that morning and he sounded like an honest seller. I went to see the car straight away and it was exactly as described. Took it home with me there and then..

Ive never experienced such badly kept cars for sale in 25 years driving and buying cars. I dont understand how the sellers think that bare faced lies will sell a car ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

were you in cavan looking at a silver corolla by any chance?ha

i was 4 months looking for a car, all cars off done deal, some long journeys to look at rubbish, clocked,crashed cars. but you just have to keep going, i got one in the end and im very happy with it, and it was half the price of the $hit cars i viewed in the previous 4 months.

i have traveled a fair distance to view some absolute sheds, but in fairness i've bought most of the cars i've ever owned from donedeal and *touch wood* they have all been fine bar routine maintenance.

4k is hardly a groundbreaking sum that will guarentee quality on arrival, particularly in a private deal. i'l bet you're looking at VAG diesels.
    but 4k for a 2005/2006 isint really a cheap price its average so i would be expecting the cars to be well driveable at the least haha
    nope petrol cars all around 1.4 is all i looked at i wouldnt expect a diesel at 4k ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Ireland is a awash with worn out oul shyte for sale in the 0 to 4k bracket.... in cars and vans .......and if you have a good car you can name your price and just wait for the right appreciative punter to show with the cash.......and get your price.

OP, you just got to keep search, and ask the right questions when you call about a car, to potentually save you a trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I thought the op was talking about €400 cars, whoopsie! :o

What kind of cars? A €4000 2006 Golf might be a ball of dung but a €4000 2003 530D might be grand......

General assumptions, not the way to go!

were you in cavan looking at a silver corolla by any chance?ha

i was 4 months looking for a car, all cars off done deal, some long journeys to look at rubbish, clocked,crashed cars. but you just have to keep going, i got one in the end and im very happy with it, and it was half the price of the $hit cars i viewed in the previous 4 months.
    it wasnt me i didnt go that far but i know what your saying piles of junk for sale better yokes being scrapped

dgt wrote: »
    I thought the op was talking about €400 cars, whoopsie! :o

What kind of cars? A €4000 2006 Golf might be a ball of dung but a €4000 2003 530D might be grand......

General assumptions, not the way to go!
    haha no nothing that fancy just astras 323s almeras

there's also a red carolla in portarlington laois, the owner has emigrated.........I went over to look at it for a client............LOL......good lord, some pile of POOOOOOOOO

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Ireland is a awash with worn out oul shyte for sale in the 0 to 4k bracket.... in cars and vans .......and if you have a good car you can name your price and just wait for the right appreciative punter to show with the cash.......and get your price.

OP, you just got to keep search, and ask the right questions when you call about a car, to potentually save you a trip.
    ask the questions and get told lies haha asked one lad when was the timing belt done he said he would get back told me it was done 20k ago went to see it and the tip pex under the beonnet said 80k ago he then tried to swear black and blue thats what he said i dont know how the 323 stayed going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

it wasnt me i didnt go that far but i know what your saying piles of junk for sale better yokes being scrapped

that's true. get a 1.6 focus;)

there's also a red carolla in portarlington laois, the owner has emigrated.........I went over to look at it for a client............LOL......good lord, some pile of POOOOOOOOO
    nothing new ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

What makes you think that Donedeal is the problem? Anyone who advertises an item for sale, be it on adverts, in the buy and sell, auto trader etc., will have the asking price bumped up over the actual value expecting to be haggled down. If you want a car worth 4k, you should be checking out cars worth 5-6k. If you see one you like, make an offer of 3.8k, you might be lucky! Also, a few commas and full stops wouldn't go astray, your posts are hard to read. HA.

newmug wrote: »
    What makes you think that Donedeal is the problem? Anyone who advertises an item for sale, be it on adverts, in the buy and sell, auto trader etc., will have the asking price bumped up over the actual value expecting to be haggled down. If you want a car worth 4k, you should be checking out cars worth 5-6k. If you see one you like, make an offer of 3.8k, you might be lucky! Also, a few commas and full stops wouldn't go astray, your posts are hard to read. HA.
    i never said donedeal is the problem it is just where i have been looking and as i asked'' did anyone get a good car from it '' i know its private sellers or dealers who advertise on it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yeah there can be some sheds on it, we were looking for a 530d lately and had come across some very bad examples. But low and behold we found the perfect car at a good price.
    I always find you can kind of tell by the way the ad is written, as in there is none of that crap that was brought up in the 'what do you hate to see in car ads' thread lately and then also by the first phone call.

newmug wrote: »
    will have the asking price bumped up over the actual value expecting to be haggled down. If you want a car worth 4k, you should be checking out cars worth 5-6k. If you see one you like, make an offer of 3.8k, you might be lucky! .

utter bollox to be honest, you'll not haggle great big wedges of cash from asking prices for good cars in todays market where they are scarce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

utter bollox to be honest, you'll not haggle great big wedges of cash from asking prices for good cars in todays market where they are scarce.

I agree at the €6000 mark they will not drop 33% of the value if its a straight car.
    If some lad done that to me when I was selling a car I'd send him on his way!

yeah, and if a seller was dropping his pants on a car like that, I'd be worried about the car that he wants RID!

the reality is that good cars command good cash, and scrap, well they get sh!t money.....we all know the old chestnut but its so true in todays 2nd hand car market, you pay for what you get...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

A good car advertised at 6k I would expect to pay around 5300-5500, I think a 10% reduction in asking is factored into asking prices. No one is going to drop 1/3 unless its some kind of scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

I picked up my MR2 and my cousins dc2 typeR from donedeal..both were in need of a small bit of TLC but priced accordingly

lomb wrote: »
    A good car advertised at 6k I would expect to pay around 5300-5500, I think a 10% reduction in asking is factored into asking prices. No one is going to drop 1/3 unless its some kind of scam.

to be honest, if I ask 6k for a car, I'll only let €100 off as a courtesy.....and I usually get it.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fartman

i have been to see 5 cars 2 long journeys to see them and 3 local ones and they all look ok on the ad but when i viewed them they were totally different from seeing cars with good pics on the ad but the car had more hits than johnny cash other ones sounded pure rough had timing belts 40k over due gearbox screeching ect and these cars were up to 4000 euro in value anyone ever got a car off it andeither got a good one or bad one? im actually sick of seeing these cars ha
    you took the words right out of my mouth,i rang a lad about a car and ask him what condition was it in he said like new when i got there to see it i was shocked ..it was the biggest bag of dirt and it took me 3hrs round trip for f##k all ,never go bye pictures lads there are really some arseholes on that site .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

When I was looking for my last car a focus. Focus van to make it worse as there even harder to find clean compared to cars. Anyway I went to see a load but one perticular bad example stands out in my mind. It was 2 hours drive away. I rang the seller told him I was driving a long way. He said that if the van was not perfect he would tell me and wouldn't waste my time. So of me and my dad went basically expecting it to be in reasonable condition.

It was 2008 we arrived and were absolutely shocked. To this day it's the worst 2008 vehicle I've every seen. The lacquer was peeling of the van from head to toe. When we asked to see the engine the owner had to open it with a screw driver. And the engine was absolutely cover in oil every square inch. Pipes loose everywhere. Alloys were ruined marks everywhere. In the back he must of been drawing silage with it or something as there was a layer of grass everywhere. As for the front I didn't even sit in it as I didn't want to ruin my closes. But according to the owner this was a mint van that couldn't be faulted :pac: needless to say I didn't buy that one. I eventually found one and although its needed abit more work than I would have like I know its a good solid focus at the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭foreversky

Got my 02 yaris of it last July.the man (own a small garage)buys yaris then sells them on for a profit.went for nct last week.bk wheel needs replacing apart from that 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

This is one of the joys of buying a used car. The Irish in general do not look after their cars. Same goes with selling a car, you get lots of time wasters who think they can buy your car for half your asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sooooo much ****e out there at the moment...

At this stage I would know from talking to the guy on the phone whether or not the car is a pile of dung.

Went out to see an E30 a few weeks ago that was "mint", had a bloody welded diff!

Some chancers out there, just have to be careful.

Bpmull wrote: »
    When I was looking for my last car a focus. Focus van to make it worse as there even harder to find clean compared to cars. Anyway I went to see a load but one perticular bad example stands out in my mind. It was 2 hours drive away. I rang the seller told him I was driving a long way. He said that if the van was not perfect he would tell me and wouldn't waste my time. So of me and my dad went basically expecting it to be in reasonable condition.

It was 2008 we arrived and were absolutely shocked. To this day it's the worst 2008 vehicle I've every seen. The lacquer was peeling of the van from head to toe. When we asked to see the engine the owner had to open it with a screw driver. And the engine was absolutely cover in oil every square inch. Pipes loose everywhere. Alloys were ruined marks everywhere. In the back he must of been drawing silage with it or something as there was a layer of grass everywhere. As for the front I didn't even sit in it as I didn't want to ruin my closes. But according to the owner this was a mint van that couldn't be faulted :pac: needless to say I didn't buy that one. I eventually found one and although its needed abit more work than I would have like I know its a good solid focus at the back of it.
    for a 5 year old you wouldnt be expecting that ha i would say she was well looked after ha

Sooooo much ****e out there at the moment...

At this stage I would know from talking to the guy on the phone whether or not the car is a pile of dung.

Went out to see an E30 a few weeks ago that was "mint", had a bloody welded diff!

Some chancers out there, just have to be careful.
    some of them lads are well able to tell lies and its obvious when you see the car like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Aye, I'd say some people hope the buyer is blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

4 grand? and yer sick of looking after seeing 5 of them, are you mad

I had a budget of 1500 and I had no problem finding a car for that, you must be doing something wrong.

4k and yer looking at 323s, great cars and you can easily get ones for sub 2k in perfect nick

The further you are from dublin the less choice you have but that works for the seller as well

4 grand? and yer sick of looking after seeing 5 of them, are you mad

I had a budget of 1500 and I had no problem finding a car for that, you must be doing something wrong.

4k and yer looking at 323s, great cars and you can easily get ones for sub 2k in perfect nick

The further you are from dublin the less choice you have but that works for the seller as well
    ha well i only ring up the ones that dont show faults in the ad and the 323 was only 1750 ihave been to see loads but the rest were really local like down the road so they didnt bother me