Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Genetics or Biological and Chemical Sciences?

• 18-05-2013 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

Hello! I was just wondering if anyone could tell me a bit about any one of these courses. I have already looked on the ucc website at the timetables and such, but I'd prefer to hear it from maybe someone who is actually doing either of these courses. I'm in 5th year and I'm having a hard time making my mind up on which course I'd prefer, my passion is definitely biology I love learning about genes and such but my main problem is what type of jobs you could get with a degree in either of these courses?

My guidance counsellor wasn't much help he just simply went through the points, not much about jobs when I asked. Like I said if anyone could tell me about either of these courses I'd greatly appreciate it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

So I'm doing neither of these courses but I have a lot of classes with Genetics and Biochem students.
    First off, they both have pretty much the exact same classes in 1st year. I think Genetics have an extra genetics class and biochem have an extra biology.

One pro for genetics would be that there are plenty of jobs out there. We were told in first year that if you want to be guaranteed a job after college do Genetics or BIS. Its a fairly interesting but tough course.
    A con would be if you realise you're not interesting in genetics you're fairly stuck unless you qualify for a transfer.

A pro for Biochem on the other hand would be you have loads of options in 2nd year e.g. Chemistry; Chemistry with Forensic Science; Chemistry of Pharmaceutical Compounds; Education in Physical Sciences; Biochemistry; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Physiology etc.
    Its usually a big year 250+ which is a con for some and a pro for others. Genetics is about 30 I think. But ye would all be together in first year anyways.

Hope I helped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 mmahony18

Thank you very much for your help that definitely cleared things up a bit for me! I just have one more question you wouldn't happen to know what kind of jobs I could get if I got a degree in genetics? I think I might be leaning more towards biological and chemical sciences but just to keep my options open :) thanks again for your reply!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

As the other replies have suggested, Genetics is an excellent course if you feel that's what you're definitely into. Biological & Chemical sciences is a broader course and leaves you with more options if you get into 1st year and decide genetics is not your thing (although there is lots of genetics to keep you happy within many of the Biochem degree streams).
    One other course to consider would be Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences (CK404) which offers a different set of degree outlets (zoology, plant science, environmental science, etc.) but would also contain a fair amount of animal and plant genetics - more so than Genetics itself which tends to be microbiology-centred.
    As regards jobs, I would say that a good science degree, whether its in zoology or genetics (or whatever) is pretty much equivalent to any employer unless its a very specialised job you're going for - in which case a Masters might be required anyway.
    Best of luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 captainkrusty

im just finished 2nd year biological science exams (did biology route of biochem) and first the lads in genetics do the exact same 55 credits as us in first year but do a 5 credit genetics module. first year is grand really but everyone has to do almost half the credits on a physics module and a maths module (which is pretty pointless)
    in second year the genetics class have no choices but do nerly all modules available to people doing biological science. they do zoology, plant biotech, microbiology, 2 x biochem, molecelar biology, anatomy, and chemistry modules. they then do genetics modules not available to us.

from thrd year on i think the genetics course is run by the microbiology departmentbt the still do plant and dedicated genetics modules. so basically i wouldnt be to worried cause the two courses are very similar for the first 2 years at least and still are from third year on. so if you feel you ar not sure what you want to do, do biochem. but if you are certain that courses like physiology, zoology, ecology, neuroscience etc.. are not for you do genetics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Dingle_berry

I did bio & chem 2004 to 2008. Had friends in the genetics course.
    From what I gathered genetics was more micro focused (it was run by the micro department) though there were aspects of medical/human genetics. As others have said, a lot of the modules are the same as bio & chem modules (even if the module codes are different they still stuck us together in one lecture). I don't know of anyone who got a job with their genetics degree that they wouldn't have gotten with a good BSc grade. They all went on to do research or grad med.

Bio & chem was great for me because I went in preferring chemistry and knowing that I didn't want to do Medical Science. I majored in biomed! People who graduated from the different majors have gone on to do loads of things from taught masters, research, sales, lab work, grad med and vetrinary.

If you're certain genetics is your favourite area of biology do some reading on Molecular Biology, Bioinformatics and biotechnology. Look at the Nature Genetics journal. If you find that stuff interesting go for genetics.
    If you think microbiology, biochem, etc might interest you more then go bio & chem.

Keep in mind that you can transfer if there's room, your grades are good enough and you choose similar optional modules.

Finally consider Biomed. It's a separate course now but it's a very good primary degree to have if life science / human biology interests you. There are few med lab jobs but biomed is a great foundation for a PhD or converting to a clinical profession. UCC got involved in biomed to provide themselves with PhD students well versed in micro, biochem, physiology, genetics, etc.