Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fuji Altamira Netapp replica full carbon

• 17-05-2013 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

I am getting a full carbon bike in the next couple of weeks. One of the bikes on the cards is this one.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/fuji/altamira-team-netapp-replica-2013-road-bike-ec046826

Its a C5 Carbon Fuji team replica bike. Its a lovely looking bike and the specs aren't too bad... Saying that my expertise is only at the intermidiate level. I would really really apprieciate if any of the bike gurus on here would do a good deed for the day for me and have a look at this. I can get it for €2000. The guy in the bike shop I know and wouldn't rip me off. Its a good price and he is dead sound so there is no worries there.

My question really is if I go up one more grand would the difference in the bikes but totally noticeable? I do go on rides of 80-100K so I would be spending a lot of time in the saddle.

there are not any reviews of the bike online,so Im kinda taking a punt if I go for it.

Any advice would be great

thanks
    Fionn

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I am getting a full carbon bike in the next couple of weeks. One of the bikes on the cards is this one.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/fuji/altamira-team-netapp-replica-2013-road-bike-ec046826

Its a C5 Carbon Fuji team replica bike. Its a lovely looking bike and the specs aren't too bad... Saying that my expertise is only at the intermidiate level. I would really really apprieciate if any of the bike gurus on here would do a good deed for the day for me and have a look at this. I can get it for €2000. The guy in the bike shop I know and wouldn't rip me off. Its a good price and he is dead sound so there is no worries there.

My question really is if I go up one more grand would the difference in the bikes but totally noticeable? I do go on rides of 80-100K so I would be spending a lot of time in the saddle.

there are not any reviews of the bike online,so Im kinda taking a punt if I go for it.

Any advice would be great

thanks
    Fionn

I have the same frame with Ultegra. I can't reccomend it enough. Beautiful bike

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

I already had Mavic comics to upgrade the wheels. The stock wheels I got weren't great. Oval R330's I think.

I see this also comes with oval wheels, no idea if they're any good, but the wheels were the negative thing I can think of about the bike.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

Nice looking bike with a lot of positive reviews online.
    I think the Geox colours are nicer though, I've seen one close up (in CRC) and I would have bought it straight away if I had the cash

tumblr_lgmzveGMXc1qbgar6.jpg

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

Thanks lads... Think the Geox are pretty savage alright TBF... I mean If I wanted I have a budget of 3000, but thats not a target. If this bike is what it says on the tin then I am laughing for 2000...

I have to say the wheels are a concern.I am not a fan of the oval brand, but saying that that can be upgraded at a later date...

I found that the arse of the bike was a lot heavier. The balance wasn't great but thats because the cassette is a ten speed... Again I could upgrade this to a more racing set-up, but am I going down the road of changing everything but its still the same bike :-)

On reflection, this Altamira is made from C5 carbon fibre, mine is the older C4. The C5 stuff is supposed to have a higher strength to weight ratio, so that's an even bigger endorsement from me.

For value for money I dont think Fuji can be beaten in the 2-3000 range.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Brian? wrote: »
    On reflection, this Altamira is made from C5 carbon fibre, mine is the older C4. The C5 stuff is supposed to have a higher strength to weight ratio, so that's an even bigger endorsement from me.

For value for money I dont think Fuji can be beaten in the 2-3000 range.
    +1 on the Fuji.
    Fwiw, Champion systems are also on fuji in the tour, but on Sst

Alright lads, Just did a test ride of it and I have to say I was not blown away... Maybe it was the gear ratio I'm not sure but I definitely didn't get the buzz out of it that I did when I rode the owners Felt AR4 the week before. That bike the minute I pushed down on the pedals wanting to race away from me.

The gear ratio on the fuji was great for the climbs, It was a compaq with shimano ultergra. I was very impressed with it there alright. I cycled also in a head wind as well as a tail wind and have to say hands down my heart was going "I wish I was cycling the Felt".

The response from the felt was awesome. The owner has the Gear ratio on the felt set up for pure racing so I dunno if that had much to do with it.

I really wanted to like this bike and for 2000 its well worth the money, but considering the amount of time I spend cycling, I think I will go the extra grand for one of the felts..

Thanks for all your opinions lads and when I find the felt I want I will run it by ye, if ye don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Alright lads, Just did a test ride of it and I have to say I was not blown away... Maybe it was the gear ratio I'm not sure but I definitely didn't get the buzz out of it that I did when I rode the owners Felt AR4 the week before. That bike the minute I pushed down on the pedals wanting to race away from me.

The gear ratio on the fuji was great for the climbs, It was a compaq with shimano ultergra. I was very impressed with it there alright. I cycled also in a head wind as well as a tail wind and have to say hands down my heart was going "I wish I was cycling the Felt".

The response from the felt was awesome. The owner has the Gear ratio on the felt set up for pure racing so I dunno if that had much to do with it.

I really wanted to like this bike and for 2000 its well worth the money, but considering the amount of time I spend cycling, I think I will go the extra grand for one of the felts..

Thanks for all your opinions lads and when I find the felt I want I will run it by ye, if ye don't mind.

Fair play to you. Stick to your guns, shows the importance of a test spin. If it doesn't turn you on then walk away. If it was my money I'd look at a canyon. 2200 for the ultimate cf pro with ultegra and kysrium elites
    http://www.canyon.com/_en/roadbikes/bike.html?b=3085
    Or 3 grand for the slx with kysrium sls's.
    Or push the boat out to 3600 for 11 speed dura ace and no need to come back here for upgrade advice for years.:)

Can't test ride a canyon though :(

Your test ride description I would hazard a guess as being down to the wheels. They're very ordinary wheels on the fuji and would contribute to a dull and ordinary test ride. Did your mate have fancy hoops on the AR? -last year I had to move an AR5 out of the way at a sportive food stop and I was astonished at how heavy it was. Bloody thing weighed a ton!

I'd have thought 3 grand would've gotten pretty close to an R3. Try Hollingsworth in Kilmacud. That new silver paint scheme is nice alright though

fat bloke wrote: »
    I'd have thought 3 grand would've gotten pretty close to an R3. Try Hollingsworth in Kilmacud. That new silver paint scheme is nice alright though

It won't, thats why its a dream. I'd imagine 4500 or there abouts for an R3

they/them/theirs

Hmm have you gotten something from this site before? Seems very very reasonable

I haven't, I know people who have though.

Perfectly reputable site, basically a German wiggle or chainreaction.

they/them/theirs

We could have a winner Brian! Cheers. Seriously looking at the R3 Shimano Ultergra. Nervous dropping that amount of cash on a virtual buy but if you know other people who have then thats some comfort.

Jesus that puts a lot of pressure on me!

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭johnk123

Will just chip in that I bought from them before and very good all round service.

A friend in college bought his first bike from them and he dropped them a mail before paying for it to double check postage to Ireland, and he ended up getting a better deal on the bike.

Not sure if this helps or not, just they are a reputable site and wouldn't have any worries dealing with them.

Wow that's a smashing price alright.

If you want to shop locally (if you're in Dublin) worth seeing what Hollingsworth (mycycle.ie) could do to match the online price. They're official Cervelo dealers. You'll get a great spin on one anyway! Who knows, you might not like it at all. Never meet your heroes and all that :)