Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanted: Cheap Alu Road Frame

• 17-05-2013 12:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks,

Looking for a very cheap alu frame (56-58cm) for my brother, he just started a new internship (halfway up stocking lane with the DSPCA) and needs a bike. I have all the makings of a road bike with 8 speed sora at home, but no frame or fork.

Does anyone have anything lying around. Would like keep the cost below 100 and will consider anything, cosmetics are not important.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

Looking for a very cheap alu frame (56-58cm) for my brother, he just started a new internship (halfway up stocking lane with the DSPCA) and needs a bike. I have all the makings of a road bike with 8 speed sora at home, but no frame or fork.

Does anyone have anything lying around. Would like keep the cost below 100 and will consider anything, cosmetics are not important.

Thanks in advance

http://www.adverts.ie/bikes/fs-wilier-escape-frame/3007881

Frame's in pretty good nick, but that fork is damaged where it interfaced with a loose headset for too long. That price advertised includes seatpost, saddle and front derailleur band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

http://www.adverts.ie/bikes/fs-wilier-escape-frame/3007881

Frame's in pretty good nick, but that fork is damaged where it interfaced with a loose headset for too long. That price advertised includes seatpost, saddle and front derailleur band.

Thanks Dave, I actually saw that this morning and mean to have a look for a 1" fork over the weekend (as they are hard to come by), of course if anyone here has one, let me know.

Ideally I'd like a bike with a 1 1/8 steerer (as I have stem, etc at home) but will its not a deal breaker, so you have a stem for this? Is the headset ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Thanks Dave, I actually saw that this morning and mean to have a look for a 1" fork over the weekend (as they are hard to come by), of course if anyone here has one, let me know.

Ideally I'd like a bike with a 1 1/8 steerer (as I have stem, etc at home) but will its not a deal breaker, so you have a stem for this? Is the headset ok?

I have a stem adaptor to use a 1 1/8 stem with it. The headset is not good at the moment, unfortunately that would need replacing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I've got this. Was my beater until I used the wheels for something else. It's actually a pretty light frame. Groupset is sora 8 speed. Basically full bike just missing the wheels. He's welcome to it for €80. (think i've got the front mech too if he needs it)

[IMG][/img]df3591d7-74ca-4fea-aa7d-98535ac12279_zpsccf63268.jpg

Needs a good clean (surface rust on one chain stay etc) and cables and brakes need a bit of tlc. Also the headset needs to be replaced. Chainreaction have a 1' one for a fiver. http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=94965

That looks great happytramp, I think I'll take it. What size is it?

oh, good question. As far as I remember it's a 54 (don't have a tape measure handy) I'm 5'11" and it always worked for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

happytramp wrote: »
    I've got this. Was my beater until I used the wheels for something else. It's actually a pretty light frame. Groupset is sora 8 speed. Basically full bike just missing the wheels. He's welcome to it for €80. (think i've got the front mech too if he needs it)

[IMG][/img]df3591d7-74ca-4fea-aa7d-98535ac12279_zpsccf63268.jpg

Needs a good clean (surface rust on one chain stay etc) and cables and brakes need a bit of tlc. Also the headset needs to be replaced. Chainreaction have a 1' one for a fiver. http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=94965

Jaysus Happy, that's a bargain for FJ's brother, wheels, chain cassette and maybe a FD and he's pn the road on a decent bike!

Seaneh wrote: »
    Jaysus Happy, that's a bargain for FJ's brother, wheels, chain cassette and maybe a FD and he's pn the road on a decent bike!

MKS Sylvan pedals on it and all ;)

Seriously though, sure It's just sitting in my back garden (I say garden but it's really more of a bin hole) and it defo needs some work (mostly new cables and the rear brake caliper needs some attention) it's been a grand bike for me over the last few years and it practically knows it's way up to the animal hospital on stocking lane at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭mirv

If funkyjebus doesn't take the frame from Seaneh I'd be interested in it if it's 54cm or smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭kingoffifa

brilliant price happytramp - fair play to you

happytramp wrote: »
    oh, good question. As far as I remember it's a 54 (don't have a tape measure handy) I'm 5'11" and it always worked for me.

Thanks happytramp. I was afraid it was a 52, but I can make a 54 work, he's about the same height as you and I have a 130mm stem knocking around somewhere if he needs it.

I'll definitely take it for that great price. I'll pm to arrange collection.