Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On the ROK

• 16-05-2013 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭

In Sneem right now, doing the ROK over the course of the next two days. To Cahersiveen tomorrow, then on to Killorglin the following day. Rainy day today between Kenmare and Sneem but supposedly clearing up tomorrow?

Finally ran into some other cyclists (going the other way of course) in the Cafe/Bakery in Sneem. Hopefully run into other people tomorrow - getting quite lonely out here cycling by myself all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Howya ! If you are lonely in Sneem go to the Sneem Hotel and ask for Louis Moriarty ! He owns the hotel and is a top guy ! Loves cycling and rode The Ras in the 60s and 70s ! Hes a real cyclist and if you go to the hotel he will deffo be about ! His feats are savage !

Tell him the Donegalman sent you !

Theres a light climb on the way to cahirciveen but the views and decent are well worth waiting for !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭mcallaghan

I'm half in bed at this point. Resting the legs and all. Wish I could magic half my gear a day ahead of me so I didn't have to lug it around.

I've discovered that I enjoy riding up things like the Gap of Dunloe and Caha Pass, more then going up and down on these rolling hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Get back out of bed and go find the man!...

You could hunt out the local taxi service and see will they be going your direction tomorrow. They might drop off some gear for you at the same time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

have you got a link to your blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Hi MCallaghan

If I can make a suggestion for your cycle, when you get to Caherdaniel, take a left at the village and head down toward Derrynane.
    It's a lovely beach and there is an historical house located there - Derrynane House was the ancestral home of Daniel O'Connell, known as The Liberator.
    On your way down there you will pass a yellow pub called The Blind Piper - a great place for lunch or even a slice of cake and coffee.

When at Derrynane House you can get back onto the main road to Waterville by taking a shortcut as follows:
    http://app.strava.com/segments/2331490

When in Waterville you could think about avoiding Caherciveen and turning right at the Church cross roads outside Waterville.
    Head toward Glencar and onto Caragh Lake. Stunning cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

mcallaghan wrote: »
    I'm half in bed at this point. Resting the legs and all. Wish I could magic half my gear a day ahead of me so I didn't have to lug it around.

I've discovered that I enjoy riding up things like the Gap of Dunloe and Caha Pass, more then going up and down on these rolling hills.

Definitely, it's easier to climb up 1 mountain than it is to climb 10 small hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

I quite like the idea of cycling it that way, I presume you went from Molls Gap down to Kenmare, that's the hill that'd most terrify my to climb on the ROK, I think.
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Hi MCallaghan

If I can make a suggestion for your cycle, when you get to Caherdaniel, take a left at the village and head down toward Derrynane.
    It's a lovely beach and there is an historical house located there - Derrynane House was the ancestral home of Daniel O'Connell, known as The Liberator.
    On your way down there you will pass a yellow pub called The Blind Piper - a great place for lunch or even a slice of cake and coffee.

When at Derrynane House you can get back onto the main road to Waterville by taking a shortcut as follows:
    http://app.strava.com/segments/2331490

When in Waterville you could think about avoiding Caherciveen and turning right at the Church cross roads outside Waterville.
    Head toward Glencar and onto Caragh Lake. Stunning cycle.
    I'd doubt there's a bad turn you could take in the area, everything is beautiful beyond words.

I'll take a look at your suggestions. The landlady here recommended the same thing - going down to that beach - at breakfast just a few minutes ago.

I was planning on taking the more direct route to Cahersiveen - simply from the mileage perspective as pedaling will all that weight is quite tiring.

The Skellig ring adds on 17 extra miles with a big climb to boot. Perhaps I'll see how I feel when I get to Waterville. Maybe I could drop my bags off at the B&B in Cahersiveen and then at least cycle out to the coast to get a view of the Skellig Islands (if possible).

Sun is up and shining, no wind (knock on wood) that I can see (trees aren't moving) so hopefully a fair weather day today.

Made it to Cahersiveen.

Brilliant morning leaving Sneem. Had to take my rain jacket/windbreaker off and just go with my small windbreaker (no sleeves/mesh back, windproof front) for the ride out of Sneem. Quite warm(ish) and sunny, no wind, and smooth roads. Made good time to Caherdaniel, at which point a dark cloud blotted out the sun and made it a bit chilly. Not much going on there so I went down to the beach to look at the old Abbey and take some pictures.

Killer climb coming out of there though! Had to take the sunglasses off I was sweating too much. Of course, once back on the N70, got to the top of that hill (not much of a climb on the N70 really) the Wind was blowing from the North to the South. Had to pedal the whole way down to Waterville because of it! Not happy about that. Put my rainjacket back on while I sat outside eating lunch at a little Cafe. A rather good sandwich and I am glad I had applejuice with it (instead of my normal coke). Cold appeljuice is quite refreshing.

Wore the rainjacket the rest of the way along the N70 into Cahersiveen. Wind in face whole way so glad I didn't go out on the Skellig Ring and add an extra 17 miles.

Tomorrow should be an easy day and finish to the ROK as I am just going 26 miles to Killorglin. One decent climb to get out of Cahersiveen but looks like a relatively easy and relaxed route. Hopefully with the sunny weather. May deviate at start to check out some Ring Forts and a Castle that are a bit out of walking distance from where I am staying.

At last your starting to enjoy the tour good on ya:cool:
    i still cant find your blog have you a link to t please and is there up to date photos on there.

Ooops soorry....thought it was linked on here already. http://cyclowanderer.wordpress.com/

Weather forecast in regards to wind isn't looking good for me. I've given up on having it cooperate. Forecast is - in my face no matter which way I am riding my bike in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

mcallaghan wrote: »
    Weather forecast in regards to wind isn't looking good for me. I've given up on having it cooperate. Forecast is - in my face no matter which way I am riding my bike in Ireland!
    Yeah, that's how the wind works here.

Finished doing the ROK today and had windy and somewhat wet day. So I've decided to call it a day/trip. Don't fancy cycling back North with the wind in my face anymore. Its stopped being fun.

Now the headache of figuring out Buses. If I can get from Killorglin to Limerick, I should be able to catch a train back up to my Aunts place. I saw some buses on the road today so the strike must be over? Looks like I have to take one from here to Killarney, then get on another one to Limerick.

Anyone with experience going on a bus with bike? Inexpensive? How about a train?

Ah that's a pity but not a lot we can do with the weather.mind you its supposed to pick up next week but you'll be home by then:)
    bus well if you spot one then just ask the bus driver he should put you straight.

Yeah. The weather conspired against me my entire trip. Only from Kenmare to a point just south of Waterville was it a non factor. Otherwise I couldn't get away from it, especially riding solo.

Did see some racers or some such today, coming the other way. A lead vehicle with flashing lights and music, followed by a group of riders. Further back, a solo rider followed by a red van. Then a poor old sod even further behind, looking tired, with an ambulance following him.

Anyways, the face will appreciate being out of the wind. All nice and wind-burnt right now. Hopefully the bus/train situation goes well tomorrow. Hopefully not many people on either as its a sunday.