Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair play to Cycle Super Store: something very small that made my weekend.

• 13-05-2013 8:58pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Since I'm working part-time money's been too tight to mention and this probably doesn't deserve a thread but I'm just so happy I got sorted and so quickly. Saturday, I did the Garda CC stubborn mule. During it and for the second week running, my saddle came loose, I'd used spirit level to get it right the night before and tightened it goodo. I went into CSS hoping they'd have the clamp that had become worn (I've no idea how) as they are a Look supplier. The first guy I spoke to said I would have to speak to the guys in the work shop but I would probably have to buy a replacement seat post, which I just don't have the money for. I went and told the guy what I needed in the workshop, he happened to have a seat post off a crashed Look bike and just gave me the piece, I offered to pay, he said it was grand. They could have made me buy a new seat post (blood and stone comes to mind though). I shall remember this when I've a couple of quid again and a couple of parts to buy.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Sounds like them in my experience. Generally very straight to deal with.......................but I know some haven't the same story to tell (I'd say they'll be along shortly..:P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

fair play to them. Kudos where Kudos is due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Off thread, I know, but were you in the first group in The Stubborn Mule Sportive on Saturday?.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Off thread, I know, but were you in the first group in The Stubborn Mule Sportive on Saturday?.

Yeah for the first 40km, I thought I saw you there but I never got beside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Konkers

I think they went through a period of shoddy customer service but having been back a few times recently I've been happy.

Similar to captain havoc I had a couple of worn stem bolts and the fella in the work shop gave me a couple for free.

I now have the problem of divided loyalties between 3 lbs's I frequent. I guess that's a good thing about all three.

I just can't understand why shimano allow CRC to sell a part online for x euros and force my lbs to sell the same part for twice that price. I know it's buying power but are they not forcing the lbs out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

This is why I'm looking forward to getting the bike serviced, hopefully at the weekend. Just have to throw some new brake pads in. They'll usually replace or fix up the odd thing around the bike and are pretty quick.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Konkers wrote: »
    I think they went through a period of shoddy customer service but having been back a few times recently I've been happy.

Similar to captain havoc I had a couple of worn stem bolts and the fella in the work shop gave me a couple for free.

I now have the problem of divided loyalties between 3 lbs's I frequent. I guess that's a good thing about all three.

I just can't understand why shimano allow CRC to sell a part online for x euros and force my lbs to sell the same part for twice that price. I know it's buying power but are they not forcing the lbs out of business.

I use the LBS for smaller stuff, they have BBB stuff reasonable or if I need something in a hurry. It is crazy though as he tells me certain stuff can be bought on CRC cheaper than he buys it, he's told people to buy groupsets off CRC and just pay him to install it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

I ordered a pair of Shimano winter boots a while back which turned into a bit of a fiasco, in the end they gave me a pair of Sidi Diablos for the same price. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I offered to pay, he said it was grand.
    That was one expensive seat post :D.

Fair play to them. I also have positive experience with them.