Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

a lesson to you all

• 12-05-2013 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

a late decision saw the team and 1(all 3) head to watergrasshill in cork to make a book at the point to point. first trip down in a number of months. got lucky weatherwise, good crowd, well above the average at a midweek track fixture, and the results favoured us.

the reason for this thread, is not about my day, rather a chance meeting with someone that would be well known in gambling circles or folklore.

I encountered, and also took some wagers from one of the most famous irish gamblers of the last two decades. the archives and fact will relate that he landed one monster gamble, and was as sharp as a pin from a form perspective at his peak, a great judge or form, and the balls to back his judgement with proper stakes.

the famous seven figure win, was in hindsight he told me the point from which he luck nosedived. he switched his focus to other sports for quick fixes and lost a substantial part of the big win when a cricket spread bet when badly wrong. 2 years ago he had lost the lot, all his business gone wallop, the bank repossessed a beautiful house, and he could not set foot in an irish ring, owing around 50,000. he moved away to spain and tried to pick up the pieces.

in the past month he has relocated to cork, renting a house, and starting up a new business, small scale. today was the first point he attended in more than 6 years. he told me some very good stories today and was refreshingly frank. he actually won from me today, as I guessed he would, as he mentioned that he had spent ten hours studying the card. at one time in his life, he was the greatest and most successful point to point punter Ireland has seen, in terms of percentage punting strike rate.

I don't want to refer to his name, 10 years ago, he was an icon for a wannabe punter, his journey since proved the long lasting rule. stick to your area of expertise and don't stray, if you have an edge, keep it, don't stray, if you do, you are just another mug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

A salutary tale. And sound advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭anuprising

was it a 3 or 4 figure win ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 sundancekid91

Great story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

srfc,
    have you any proof to back up your sweeping statement about PW?,......doubt it, another guesser with a mouth.

when the phoenix park was a super punting meeting, I had a good pitch, frequently my next door neighbour was a southern layer, and he often employed paddy as his clerk. the going rate for a clerk back then was 40-50 punt a twist. paddy regularly had a punt at those fixtures, by punt I mean, anywhere between 1 and 5 grand on a horse, something you could only dream about. not bad for a guy that was not of the silver spoon variety or had no other business to finance his punting, he was a proper pro gambler even back then. if he is having difficulties, it may be because it is a crazy idea to have horses in training if you don't have an independent fortune behind you.
    the last time I spoke to him, 2 months ago, he told me, a gambling trainer, owed him a solid fortune. the gambling trainer, is a loser and could not train ivy to climb.

returning to the origin of this thread, the person I encountered, and he would call himself a gambler, seeing the word as a term of endearment, gained much more publicity on a worldwide scale than PW, and should be easy to work out. anyone clued in to the irish ring would know, in an instant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

nevis7 wrote: »
    srfc,
    have you any proof to back up your sweeping statement about PW?,......doubt it, another guesser with a mouth.

when the phoenix park was a super punting meeting, I had a good pitch, frequently my next door neighbour was a southern layer, and he often employed paddy as his clerk. the going rate for a clerk back then was 40-50 punt a twist. paddy regularly had a punt at those fixtures, by punt I mean, anywhere between 1 and 5 grand on a horse, something you could only dream about. not bad for a guy that was not of the silver spoon variety or had no other business to finance his punting, he was a proper pro gambler even back then. if he is having difficulties, it may be because it is a crazy idea to have horses in training if you don't have an independent fortune behind you.
    the last time I spoke to him, 2 months ago, he told me, a gambling trainer, owed him a solid fortune. the gambling trainer, is a loser and could not train ivy to climb.

returning to the origin of this thread, the person I encountered, and he would call himself a gambler, seeing the word as a term of endearment, gained much more publicity on a worldwide scale than PW, and should be easy to work out. anyone clued in to the irish ring would know, in an instant.

Tis hardly B.C is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

srfc,

So you trying to say<snip>t hasnt gone broke? :confused: sold his horses for a laugh aswell did he?

what do you mean stake I could only dream of :rolleyes: clown

you're probably another dixie dalton :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

a late decision saw the team and 1(all 3) head to watergrasshill in cork to make a book at the point to point. first trip down in a number of months. got lucky weatherwise, good crowd, well above the average at a midweek track fixture, and the results favoured us.

the reason for this thread, is not about my day, rather a chance meeting with someone that would be well known in gambling circles or folklore.

I encountered, and also took some wagers from one of the most famous irish gamblers of the last two decades. the archives and fact will relate that he landed one monster gamble, and was as sharp as a pin from a form perspective at his peak, a great judge or form, and the balls to back his judgement with proper stakes.

the famous seven figure win, was in hindsight he told me the point from which he luck nosedived. he switched his focus to other sports for quick fixes and lost a substantial part of the big win when a cricket spread bet when badly wrong. 2 years ago he had lost the lot, all his business gone wallop, the bank repossessed a beautiful house, and he could not set foot in an irish ring, owing around 50,000. he moved away to spain and tried to pick up the pieces.

in the past month he has relocated to cork, renting a house, and starting up a new business, small scale. today was the first point he attended in more than 6 years. he told me some very good stories today and was refreshingly frank. he actually won from me today, as I guessed he would, as he mentioned that he had spent ten hours studying the card. at one time in his life, he was the greatest and most successful point to point punter Ireland has seen, in terms of percentage punting strike rate.

I don't want to refer to his name, 10 years ago, he was an icon for a wannabe punter, his journey since proved the long lasting rule. stick to your area of expertise and don't stray, if you have an edge, keep it, don't stray, if you do, you are just another mug.

The more you post in this forum the better Nevis7. Keep the stories coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Morgans wrote: »
    The more you post in this forum the better Nevis7. Keep the stories coming.

Just like to echo this sentiment, and just ignore that other Mullins fanboy yoke, everyone else does, he's more a figure of amusement in these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

SRFC wrote: »
    So you trying to say <snip> hasnt gone broke? :confused: sold his horses for a laugh aswell did he?

what do you mean stake I could only dream of :rolleyes: clown

you're probably another dixie dalton :rolleyes:

there are falsified claims on both parties here, but <snip> is very well connected, used thumb lifts to races from the tipp border on road to limerick is he not? also used to be a runner for jp...

met him once, a nice guy but id be surprised if he is gone broke... i bet you i know the trainer in question too i know another man owed 40k from him