Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tractor breakers ..?

• 11-05-2013 8:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭

what tractor breakers are in the Midwest , midlands or corkish area....

I,M looking for a motor spool valve and fittings ect for a budget DIY project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If corkish means cork tanners in conna outside fermoy they are dear cnuts though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

thanks , that's one journey saved...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Horace

Bennetts in Courtmacsherry have acres of machines for breaking they are easy enough to deal with but be warned they will ask the value of the item and won't haggle , they will give you a price and its your choice then if you want to buy it or not. also take your own spanners as you will have to remove the item yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

do you have to collect it yourself?? if not most if not all get courier to deliver so ya have the choice of them all, conaty in kells have serious amount of stuff ignorant c@#t though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

loveta wrote: »
    do you have to collect it yourself?? if not most if not all get courier to deliver so ya have the choice of them all, conaty in kells have serious amount of stuff ignorant c@#t though

I prefer to deal with UK breakers. They seem to actually apreciate your custom. And its all delievered by courier anyway.
    Dealing with some businesses in the tractor breaking game should be dealt as if your dealing with dog sh#t... best to walk around it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

It is the same with car breakers. What is it why are they all so ignorant and obnoxious???? The only way to deal with them is online. Meeting these people face to face or on the phone is an ordeal.

Agree but i think its cause it gives them a little power trip because they have something you want. When you go online to look for parts they have to reply to you offering what they have and see if you want it. Sort of reverse the role. And they don't know how many also have the same part on sale and what price they are offering it at.

The online search engines for breaker parts cuts out the following

1: breaker hanging up the phone and telling the customer to ring back when he could speak properly ( the customer had a speech impediment)
    2: Customer rings looking for unusual part (part cost 800 s/h) part available price agreed, customer drove 3hrs to breaker to make sure it was the right part which it was and in delight said that it was very hard to find as no one closer to him had it. To which the boss replied well if it can't be got anywhere else it won't be got here. And customer drove home 3 hrs empty handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

That is a fair ignorant example. There definitely is that element because their customers are a captive market they(customers) are on their premises against their will. Nobody wants to have to buy spare parts. 
    Maybe it's not all one way traffic perhaps the dour moods of the mechanically stricken customers rubs off on the workers in these yards. They are not happy places. A shop that sells ice cream,lollipops and bars of chocolate etc is bound to be infinitely more enjoyable than one selling alternators and gear boxes.
    But the thing is the chilly, indifferent,cool  reception you get in breakers yards etc also extends to the hardware store, the co-op shop the builders providers etc. 
    How many times have you been sent out to a ware house by a gum chewing snappy desk man with a pink docket in your hand waiting an interminable length  pacing the floor for someone equally as snappy, short, ignorant to come and get 
    your stuff. Would it just be better to pick the stuff yourself like the ikea model and then pay and not have to endure that torment. Is there something more underlying more endemic in general in customer service in Ireland these days???
    In the past this country liked to cultivate the idea of a friendly welcoming people who would drop everything at a moments notice to help someone or drink Tay by the fireside all day regaling people with stories of leprechauns and banshees. The reality is that if you want to experience what it is like to be treated like sh1te go to any car breakers,auto shop, hardware store etc in this country and you will get an experience in customer service like no other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

st1979 wrote: »
    1: breaker hanging up the phone and telling the customer to ring back when he could speak properly ( the customer had a speech impediment)
    2: Customer rings looking for unusual part (part cost 800 s/h) part available price agreed, customer drove 3hrs to breaker to make sure it was the right part which it was and in delight said that it was very hard to find as no one closer to him had it. To which the boss replied well if it can't be got anywhere else it won't be got here. And customer drove home 3 hrs empty handed.

& I'd bet my dollar as who the dealer is,

my mechanic says he'd walk to china for a part b4 he'd ask him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭maidhc

Ford Ford stuff I wouldn't go past Sweetnams in Mogeely. They don't have a much secondhand stuff as they once did, but still very good. Their prices tend to be good and they give good advice.

I live close to tanners and havn't been there since 1999.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

20silkcut wrote: »
    ... The reality is that if you want to experience what it is like to be treated like sh1te go to any car breakers,auto shop, hardware store etc in this country and you will get an experience in customer service like no other.
    There's a certain harware shop in Shannon like that. It's well known for it's customer service. When I went in there first, I came out thinking 'what was that all about?'. I said it to someone and they just laughed - 'Oh, they're a right shower of ignorant c**ts working there.' They'll just stand at the counter and chat away among themselves, as if you weren't there. They'd often leave you standing there for 10 mins some times. Pig ignorant! hate going in there, but at times they have stuff that other shops around don't have.

I think it is because some of the people in these "professions" are basically unemployable elsewhere and during the boom got these jobs as no one else would work for peanuts back then and always resented everyone else.
    Although my example was the boss who i would say has made a fortune. But still likes to be the school bully making everyone at the counter laugh at how ignorant he can be on the phone to others.

But ring the breakers in uk or northern ireland and found them always very business like and helpful. Having said that my local car breaker is a real nice guy and good value, just wished he had more stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

St1979
    Who would you recommend in NI?

Anyone remember the attitude of a certain man running a hardware 'yard' in nenagh?....... I heard about his tactics before I went up to look at something prior to purchase in the shop.....he came out giving out about how I parked or something and I barraged him with a torrent of fu*ks, he just skulked away.....
    ......a phone call to the dept of environment:D or hlt & sfty would be my next call if I travelled 3hrs for nothing....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Anyone remember the attitude of a certain man running a hardware 'yard' in nenagh?....... I heard about his tactics before I went up to look at something prior to purchase in the shop.....he came out giving out about how I parked or something and I barraged him with a torrent of fu*ks, he just skulked away.....
    ......a phone call to the dept of environment:D or hlt & sfty would be my next call if I travelled 3hrs for nothing....

IF it is who I think it is, did you ever get into the 'office'? He is actually sound under a rather gruff exterior. A lot of ppl give out about Neville Stanley, tractor breaker too, he is also sound once you get to know him. I think people in the breaker business are probably paranoid about ppl stealing from them. The customer always has a choice, if you don't like it just walk away.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

loveta wrote: »

Your right Conaty can seem like a cnut if you rub him the wrong way, heard of him sending a guy from Cork/Kerry home without his parts, your man couldn't get what he needed anywhere, rang Conaty, part was there and available. He was given a quote over the phone, agreed the price, drove up to get the part. In the shop the part was threw up on the counter for him "there she is, is that the right one for you", it was and yer man asked price again, Conaty said "How much did I tell you on the Phone?" Your man answered €30 less than he was told, and Conaty told him go home and don't come back if that's the way you do business. I have to say he was right and I'd do the same.

I've been in many times and always have a bit of craic in the shop with him, a few slags back and forth and then bid him for the part, but a fair bid a bit below what he is looking and you will always do well. If your sound with him and have a bit of craic he's grand.
    blue5000 wrote: »
    II think people in the breaker business are probably paranoid about ppl stealing from them. The customer always has a choice, if you don't like it just walk away.

Definitely agree with this, the amount of stuff that goes for a walk must be unreal in a breakers, most of them don't let people into the yard any-more to prevent this. The couple of car and tractor breakers I deal with let me down the yards because they know me and I do be straight with them, If I need something I can show up and they will say "ah go on in and have a look", again it's about how you deal with them.

Yeah, the customer has choice but sometimes that choice is to drive 45 mins or more to the next yard that has the part, I'd rather pay the extra €10 euro than fall out with the guy and not be able to go there again, and still have to drive to get my bit.

For cars traynors have huge stock and always polite. Case tractors Mcdonagh eng have good prices new and s/h. For car parts those search engines are great as you put out what you want and any breaker who has it can email back with there price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

This reminds me of the lad that went to a breaker and removed windscreen himself and then tried to haggle the price
    The breaker wanted 100 The lad offered 70
    The breaker said ok picked up a lump hammer and drove it through the windscreen. You can have it for 70 now . :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

went to local breaker for a tyre and rim for renault scenic a few weeks ago, was 40 euro, after i failed the nct i went back to same scrapyard to see what he would give me for the car 100 euro:eek: anyways sold it to someone else for 250 and bought a 1996 toyota corolla with a years test for 500 euro ... imagine how much money they are making on parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

djmc wrote: »
    This reminds me of the lad that went to a breaker and removed windscreen himself and then tried to haggle the price
    The breaker wanted 100 The lad offered 70
    The breaker said ok picked up a lump hammer and drove it through the windscreen. You can have it for 70 now . :D
    That was the afore mentioned Mr c
    rang him to see if he had a part the other day and he hung up mid conversation, but hes okay if you know him will help you if he can.

In Ireland we excuse people with poor manners, poor people skills & jekle and hyde erratic personalities as poorly educated, sound if you get to know them ,stressed or just busy....

The reality is that these people are usually displaying in broad daylight (enhanced by their big fish in a small bowl bullying power trip) very defined psychological & narcistic traits that wouldn't be tolerated not to mention dealt with in most industries across the globe.......they should be avoided if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭DanielGibbons

In Ireland we excuse people with poor manners, poor people skills & jekle and hyde erratic personalities as poorly educated, sound if you get to know them ,stressed or just busy....

The reality is that these people are usually displaying in broad daylight (enhanced by their big fish in a small bowl bullying power trip) very defined psychological & narcistic traits that wouldn't be tolerated not to mention dealt with in most industries across the globe.......they should be avoided if nothing else.

Aye.. but we need parts :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Yes, and if you need the part badly enough to drive from Kerry to Kells, to try and deduct the cost of the diesel for the round trip from the breakers quoted price deserves a kick in the tail!