Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What camo?

• 11-05-2013 10:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭

Well lads im looking for some new camo wear that would suit our irish country side have some stuff in realtree ap( all purpose ) which is pretty much usless in anything other than winter woodland areas, i kno dpm is ok and cheap enough but can be a bit dark and dont wanna look like a wannabe rambo, what do ye find works well? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I can put you in contact with a lad in Kerry that does Deerhunter clothing and will send out a catalogue but just t tell ya it's not that cheap
    Some gear in it is reasonable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

Have a deerhunter realtree camo jacket myself and ya would do well to pick me out sitting against a bush accross a field

Edit: i have this one without the fleese

http://www.deerhunterclothing.co.uk/Deerhunter-Jackets/Deerhunter-Camouflage-Jackets/Deerhunter-Montana-2.G-Camouflage-Jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Jimy1971

eBay lad. I bought prologic max 4 gear for about €200 less than you can buy it here. Also wildhunter have some good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

There's no one size fits all here. Camo that suits the shore will not necessarily suit the hill or the woods.
    Whatever foliage you will be trying to conceal yourself in the majority of the time is the colour you should try and match.

I have a jacket for the shore, it's advantage max 4. It has way too much yellow dead grass in it for woodlands.

What terrain are you trying to match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

interize wrote: »
    Well lads im looking for some new camo wear that would suit our irish country side...

Interize,
    What is your game? Deer?

If so, I would say just about any camo will do. All you want to do is break up your outline .

Deer can see colors, but colors like blaze orange do not set off their "danger" alarm or peak their interest.

Just do not wear blue jeans. There is evidence that they do not like blue jeans.

Personally, I do not think there is much difference in camo. Perhaps, woodland vs snow or urban camo, but not the browns or the green based stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭interize

No deer mostly pigeon decoying, rabbits and fox calling day and night, its just our foliage is very green so anything to suit that, have been looking at a rivers west field pro smock in realtree max 1, what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

I think that Swiss "Alpenflage" might be good for that? I have an alpenfage jacket which I think is very effective. There are photos at the bottom of this link:

http://www.ar15.com/forums/t_1_5/949210__ARCHIVED_THREAD____Army_testing_ACU_camouflage_patterns_in_Afghanistan.html&page=2

The one on the ditch between the trees is what impressed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

i have a jack pike jacket and pants i find it good when im pigeon shooting and hunting foxes but i dont think what camo u are wearing matters if u stay still i do alot of duck pigeon and rabbit shooting fox hunting by day and i find i dosent matter what u wear wants its dark color and u dont move when there coming in and u dont show your face to much

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    eBay lad. I bought prologic max 4 gear for about €200 less than you can buy it here. Also wildhunter have some good stuff.

Well lad had a look at that prologic stuff on ebay looks good and great value, whats the quality like?

Great quality lad. Jackets have a removable fleece and pants are heavy padded. Mate of mine paid €200 alone for the jacket. I got both for €137 plus postage. We are being ripped off here

Jimy1971 wrote: »
    Great quality lad. Jackets have a removable fleece and pants are heavy padded. Mate of mine paid €200 alone for the jacket. I got both for €137 plus postage. We are being ripped off here

Thanks lad ya saved me a fortune, not the camo i was looking for but will be perfect for the ducks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Mossy oak does all, ducks,deer and foxing . its not too bright or too dark and looks the part. mossy oak and max 4 HD are duck blind cammo and if you want the best jacket/trousers on the market its rivers west, barb wire proof, 100% wire proof, magnet pockets that dont make noise,hoods move with your head but you pay for what you get

4200fps wrote: »
    Mossy oak does all, ducks,deer and foxing . its not too bright or too dark and looks the part. mossy oak and max 4 HD are duck blind cammo and if you want the best jacket/trousers on the market its rivers west, barb wire proof, 100% wire proof, magnet pockets that dont make noise,hoods move with your head but you pay for what you get

When you say mossy oak which pattern are you talking about? there are a few, obsession looks good.

Thanks lad ya saved me a fortune, not the camo i was looking for but will be perfect for the ducks.

That's what I bought it for. Good and warm

When you say mossy oak which pattern are you talking about? there are a few, obsession looks good.

Mossy oak duck blind or mossy oak obsession are the only ones that suit Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Mossy oak obsession is great. I also find advantage timber excellent. But, and I know you dont want to look like a wannabe rambo, I find the best allround camo for here is german flecktarn. Great balance,not too green,not too brown. Just my 2c.

Longranger wrote: »
    Mossy oak obsession is great. I also find advantage timber excellent. But, and I know you dont want to look like a wannabe rambo, I find the best allround camo for here is german flecktarn. Great balance,not too green,not too brown. Just my 2c.

Flecktarn is very good and kinda hard to come across at times, i'd wear it no problem and i'm fussy what camo I wear. I spent good money on branded gear that will last. Material must be silent and waterproof for any kind of hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

4200fps wrote: »
    Flecktarn is very good and kinda hard to come across at times, i'd wear it no problem and i'm fussy what camo I wear. I spent good money on branded gear that will last. Material must be silent and waterproof for any kind of hunting

Troph-e-shop.com or rangershop.de, both great sites for flecktarn, as cheap or expensive as you like, good quality surplus or new:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Savage93 wrote: »
    Troph-e-shop.com or rangershop.de, both great sites for flecktarn, as cheap or expensive as you like, good quality surplus or new:D

If your lookin for flecktarn give the camo shop.ie a call. I got a shirt and pants off him for the grand total of 15 euro. Lots of surplus gear in perfect nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

You seem to have a bit of an aversion to DPM but the German Flecktarn and most other European NATO DPM is excellent since it was designed either during WWII and during the Cold War specifically for use in Europe which makes it perfectly suited to the Irish environment.

Also, from a practical point of view; you can wear cameleon skin if you like but if you don't cover the glaring full moon that is your face you may as well stand in the middle of the field doing your best Michael Flatley impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 davediesel

DPM / Flecktarn not a thing wrong with them, perfect for the job and cheap as chips, and as for looking like Rambo, no one will see you wearing it anyway ;) lol

I was at a loose end today so took some pics of some ofmy camo gear.

Items are:

1: Alpenflage Field Shirt / Jacket
    2: Flecktarn Parka
    3: Austrian Gore Tex Jacket
    4: Mil Tec Tiger Stripe Combats

I started by hanging them under a tree

DSCN1476_zps0b0bf475.jpg

at 10 paces

DSCN1477_zps44c21552.jpg

and 25 paces

DSCN1478_zps98ef4ca9.jpg

Then individually on the ditch at 10 and 25 paces

Alpenflage:

DSCN1479_zps41d1013b.jpg

DSCN1480_zpsadd03935.jpg

Flecktarn

DSCN1481_zps52f313a5.jpg

DSCN1482_zpsee0c6fab.jpg

Tiger Stripe

DSCN1483_zpsdc717884.jpg

DSCN1484_zpsbb486451.jpg

Austrian Gore Tex

DSCN1485_zps848ad5c8.jpg

DSCN1486_zpsfc02682a.jpg

All together at close, 10 and 25 paces

DSCN1489_zpsc07da553.jpg

DSCN1487_zps8b36044a.jpg

DSCN1488_zps457a7d79.jpg

Thats all I have. Will have to borrow some Realtree and British DPM for comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

thanks kfod that is the most beautiful an lushes green grass ive seen in a while its nice to see what green grass looks like come on tell me is it richardsons yer using ?:confused::D lol ah no back on subject that is savage camo and that's what im looking for used to have a lad in town near me that sold flecktern camo but he is gone now I used to buy all my gear from him,il give that camo shop a look ,can anyone tell me tell me the name of the army surplus shop in the city centre it near millets coz im headin to the smoke nxt weekend with young lass for communion day out ,I was in it years ago and cant for the life of me remember what it was called? they had an aladins cave of flecktern gear etc from all over and weren't to bad to deal with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Sean Mullen

thanks kfod that is the most beautiful an lushes green grass ive seen in a while its nice to see what green grass looks like come on tell me is it richardsons yer using ?:confused::D lol ah no back on subject that is savage camo and that's what im looking for used to have a lad in town near me that sold flecktern camo but he is gone now I used to buy all my gear from him,il give that camo shop a look ,can anyone tell me tell me the name of the army surplus shop in the city centre it near millets coz im headin to the smoke nxt weekend with young lass for communion day out ,I was in it years ago and cant for the life of me remember what it was called? they had an aladins cave of flecktern gear etc from all over and weren't to bad to deal with

I think its army bargains? Here's a link to the site http://armybargains.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I always wear Flacktarn i think it is the best all round camo for here and blends well in most environments. It is also heard wearing gear and cheap too. :)

I got my alpenflage shirt and flecktarn parka from this lad:

www.commando.ie

He also advertises on adverts.ie I think.

prices seen pretty good with him.

It's definitely nice to see things greening up a bit now alright :)

kfod wrote: »
    I got my alpenflage shirt and flecktarn parka from this lad:

www.commando.ie

He also advertises on adverts.ie I think.

prices seen pretty good with him.

It's definitely nice to see things greening up a bit now alright :)

Was looking at the parkas, are they really heavy? Was going to buy one of each so hoping one is a bit lighter to wear in the summer.

The Parkas are pretty good. The liner for them is really a seperate jacket so no hassle buttoning or zipping it in etc. Good and warm with the liner or even just the liner on its own and then the outer is usable on its own when warmer.
    say this evening after about half eight I threw on the Parka minus liner for a walk up the road.

They aren't waterproof really but I think you can wash them in a nikwax product to give them some water resistance. never tried it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

have used that nikwash on an old parka I had years ago defo does what it says on the tin brilliant I even tried it jeans and it worked,i tried it after reading an articule in isd a year or 2 ago,an just topped up with the spray stuff by the same,heading to the smoke 2moro so hoping they are open 2moro;)