Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to get a taxi licence

• 10-05-2013 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

My brother has an idea of getting a taxi licence one were he drives privately for himself and not for a rank if that makes sense, he sees an opportunity were I think theres already loads of taxis about but its up to him...

One question I have if anyone could offer any help is he was done for drink driving about 7 years ago got a ban and fine and has no other offences since, would the fact he has drink driving on his record basically rule him out of ever getting a taxi licence?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

http://www.nationaltransport.ie/taxi-and-bus-licensing/taxi/spsv-driver-licensing/apply-for-an-spsv-driver-licence/
    Apply for an SPSV Driver Licence
    Requirements

Before you apply for an SPSV driver licence, you must satisfy a number of requirements:

You must hold a full Irish driving licence – Class B or higher, free from disqualification and free from endorsement (including penalty points) – or an equivalent licence from an EU** or EEA Member State or another recognised state. If your licence is in a language other than English or Irish, you will be required to include a certified stamped letter from the relevant Embassy stating the licence is true and valid with your application. (Alternatively, you may be entitled to exchange your driving licence for a full Irish driving licence – contact the Authority’s industry information line (0761 064000) for further information.)

If the points have expired then he should be ok but his insurance will be sky high I would imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭canhefixit

Spook_ie wrote: »
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/taxi-and-bus-licensing/taxi/spsv-driver-licensing/apply-for-an-spsv-driver-licence/
    Apply for an SPSV Driver Licence
    Requirements

Before you apply for an SPSV driver licence, you must satisfy a number of requirements:

You must hold a full Irish driving licence – Class B or higher, free from disqualification and free from endorsement (including penalty points) – or an equivalent licence from an EU** or EEA Member State or another recognised state. If your licence is in a language other than English or Irish, you will be required to include a certified stamped letter from the relevant Embassy stating the licence is true and valid with your application. (Alternatively, you may be entitled to exchange your driving licence for a full Irish driving licence – contact the Authority’s industry information line (0761 064000) for further information.)

If the points have expired then he should be ok but his insurance will be sky high I would imagine

Thanks for that.

Free from disqualification...does that then mean he can never get the licence? he never got points just a 1 year ban...does drink driving stay on your record for life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

free from disqualification means at the time of applying for the psv licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭canhefixit

free from disqualification means at the time of applying for the psv licence.

Ah right! So he can apply for the licence and be considered anyway, I just thought if you had a drink driving conviction you would never ever get a taxi licence...

Regarding insurance thats for him to deal with!

Thanks again

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/driving_offences.html

Endorsement

An endorsement is basically a record that gives details of your motoring convictions. It is not physically recorded on your driving licence. Instead your driving licence record is held on the National Vehicle and Driver File operated by the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport.

The penalty points system of endorsement is also by entry in the licence record. Endorsements remain on your licence record for 3 years and must be notified to your insurance company when applying for motor insurance. Endorsements on your licence record will often lead to an increase in your motor insurance premium. Second or subsequent endorsements often result in disqualification from driving.

Not sure how long the endorsement for Drink driving stays on record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Wheres My ForkandKnife

An endorsement stays on your licence for three years from the date he got his licence back.He also must have no penalty points on his licence now.

If he has not been in any other trouble it probably won't be a problem but the only people who can advise him would be the Gardai in the carriage office as they are the ones who make the decision.Probably best to contact them first as the fee for the licence is €250(Ithink) and is non refundable.

If he has his licence back and has built up a NCB on a private policy he may be okay for insurance as it was more than five years ago.Contact a broker and see what they say

The whole process will probably take several months anyway.There is no obligation on him to join a radio company.I assume this is what you mean by a "rank"

I would love to know the opportunity he sees.:) If he is in Dublin look at the situation in town tonight or any weekend but its his decision so best of luck with it.

An endorsement stays on your licence for three years from the date he got his licence back.He also must have no penalty points on his licence now.

If he has not been in any other trouble it probably won't be a problem but the only people who can advise him would be the Gardai in the carriage office as they are the ones who make the decision.Probably best to contact them first as the fee for the licence is €250(Ithink) and is non refundable.

If he has his licence back and has built up a NCB on a private policy he may be okay for insurance as it was more than five years ago.Contact a broker and see what they say

The whole process will probably take several months anyway.There is no obligation on him to join a radio company.I assume this is what you mean by a "rank"

I would love to know the opportunity he sees.:) If he is in Dublin look at the situation in town tonight or any weekend but its his decision so best of luck with it.

Is it only 3 years over here, in the UK drink driving endorsements are for 10 years! Get caught when you're already under an endorsement get something like a 5 year ban....

If it's only 3 years here then way too soft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Wheres My ForkandKnife

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Is it only 3 years over here, in the UK drink driving endorsements are for 10 years! Get caught when you're already under an endorsement get something like a 5 year ban....

If it's only 3 years here then way too soft

Discussing the merits of the the UK system vs ours is as pointless as the discussions on here regarding the motor tax in Ireland and the UK. You have to work with the system you have.While the endorsement will expire three years after you get the licence back the effects of the conviction will go on for years after that and if you are ever caught again the minimum ban is automatically doubled.There was a thread here recently where someone outlined their experience and I think it was 10-12 yrs before things got back to normal for them so I dont think the system here is unduly lenient.

I do think its very harsh that someone is excluded from applying for a PSV licence if they have a penalty point although I doubt that there is much of a rush of people trying to get into the taxi business these days:)

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭Kildare787

So I have 2 penalty points can I not apply for a taxi license?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Zombie thread from 3 years ago. But seemingly the penalty points legislation is not enforced at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Are they not restricting new licences to wheelchair enabled taxis only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Are they not restricting new licences to wheelchair enabled taxis only?

They are restricting taxi licences (licenses for vehicle).

But question was about SPSV licence (which is a licence for driver).
    Completely two separate things.

daRobot wrote: »
    Zombie thread from 3 years ago. But seemingly the penalty points legislation is not enforced at all.

Where did you hear that the penalty points are not enforced at all??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,992 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Couple of points:

Under the Taxi Regulation Act 2013 s.30(3), where you are disqualified from holding an "ordinary" licence because of certain convictions (including a conviction for drink driving), there's a automatic disqualification for an extended period from holding an SPSV licence. In the case of a drink-driving conviction, the SPSV disqualification is three years longer than the ordinary disqualification.

Secondly, for an SPSV licence, as well as meeting all the quantifiable requirements (like having a full licence free from disqualification or endorsement) you have to be a "fit and proper person". And the guards might very well take the view that someone with form for drink driving offences is not fit and proper, even if any disqualification has passed and any endorsements have expired.

So, what Wheres My ForkandKnife said three years ago - anyone with this problem should have a chat with the guards first of all to see if there is any point at all in applying for an SPSV licence.

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Couple of points:

Under the Taxi Regulation Act 2013 s.30(3), where you are disqualified from holding an "ordinary" licence because of certain convictions (including a conviction for drink driving), there's a automatic disqualification for an extended period from holding an SPSV licence. In the case of a drink-driving conviction, the SPSV disqualification is three years longer than the ordinary disqualification.

Secondly, for an SPSV licence, as well as meeting all the quantifiable requirements (like having a full licence free from disqualification or endorsement) you have to be a "fit and proper person". And the guards might very well take the view that someone with form for drink driving offences is not fit and proper, even if any disqualification has passed and any endorsements have expired.

So, what Wheres My ForkandKnife said three years ago - anyone with this problem should have a chat with the guards first of all to see if there is any point at all in applying for an SPSV licence.

Any idea about the penalty points query I asked? I can't see how all new taxi drivers have no points. It's next to impossible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,992 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

pj12332 wrote: »
    Any idea about the penalty points query I asked? I can't see how all new taxi drivers have no points. It's next to impossible
    It's perfectly possible. I've got no points.

But, to answer your question, I don't know anything about daRobot's claim that the penalty points legislation is not enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ArseBurger

pj12332 wrote: »
    So I have 2 penalty points can I not apply for a taxi license?

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Ring the carrige office and ask them if in doubt.

The legislation is referring to penalty points given on conviction (dangerous driving etc).

Your standard 3 points from a gosafe will not matter.

I called the carriage office this morning, the woman on the phone immediately said that having a few penalty points will not affect the application in any way. Just be honest and put it down for the guards to see as they will know anyway. She said it will be fine so happy days!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

canhefixit wrote: »
    One question I have if anyone could offer any help is he was done for drink driving about 7 years ago got a ban and fine and has no other offences since, would the fact he has drink driving on his record basically rule him out of ever getting a taxi licence?

Not a'tall. Sure they gave the Monk a licence