Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hourly rate for digger

• 09-05-2013 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭

What is the hourly rate for driver and digger doing shoring for bog ,inc vat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Around the 40 mark per hour including vat. an extra 5 per hour may be charged by some lads, but dont be put off. A good lad on a machine even if a bit dearer will save you money where as a bad one will cost you a mint. Thats basing it on something like a twelve ton, which should be loads for what your doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Ya just got 600 meters shoring done shores filled to the top, the digger plus some filling time with tractor and power box, total time 63 hours being charged 40 euro per hour hes not registered for vat so I cant reclaim the vat main drains cleaned and some time taken drawingchips from top of field to shores but my main query Is the rate as I cant claim the vat, I think its dear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

dharn wrote: »
    Ya just got 600 meters shoring done shores filled to the top, the digger plus some filling time with tractor and power box, total time 63 hours being charged 40 euro per hour hes not registered for vat so I cant reclaim the vat main drains cleaned and some time taken drawingchips from top of field to shores but my main query Is the rate as I cant claim the vat, I think its dear

i was in a similar situation while back except E38 an hr.. its a balls that you can't claim the vat back.. they want it everyway.. full "john sisk" hourly rate but no receipt, they should be taking 23% off of the E40 for cash price = E1940.40 (E579.60 vat back)

i feel your pain though its a horrible feeling having to knock the price after job is done and probably done well:(

Spot on ,good job good lad ,but was expecting vat back at the 40 euro rate will do it for 36 for cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

You can still get it as expenses on your accounts. It's not cash because you don't pay vat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭ABlur

Spot on ,good job good lad ,but was expecting vat back at the 40 euro rate will do it for 36 for cash

€40 less 13.5% vat is €34.60, I'd haggle, there's benefits for him too by having it outside the VAT system, Cash is king around my way with the digger man anyway, paid average of €27-28 per hour for 13 tonne machine last autumn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

You agreed the rate for the job and you should have asked your questions then. Pay the man what you agreed and learn your lesson. This sort of s**t is infuriating and a real p**s of for the contractors. No questions before the job starts other than when are you coming, everything hunky dory while the job is ongoing but as soon as the bill arrives everything is open to question and whatever bit of profit was in the job is suddenly disappearing. The only way a contractor can deal with customers like you is to pad the bill completely to give himself a bit of a margin to pin back in order to satisfy your need for a power trip and a story to tell at the counter about how you bet him down on the price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭dartup

should have asked for total job not per hour,its only about 25 hour job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭get on your bike

You agreed the rate for the job and you should have asked your questions then. Pay the man what you agreed and learn your lesson. This sort of s**t is infuriating and a real p**s of for the contractors. No questions before the job starts other than when are you coming, everything hunky dory while the job is ongoing but as soon as the bill arrives everything is open to question and whatever bit of profit was in the job is suddenly disappearing. The only way a contractor can deal with customers like you is to pad the bill completely to give himself a bit of a margin to pin back in order to satisfy your need for a power trip and a story to tell at the counter about how you bet him down on the price.

Well said. I'm a landscaper & this from every now & again. Headwrecking to say the least

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Well said. I'm a landscaper & this from every now & again. Headwrecking to say the least

I dunno - I would have assumed that all digger men, etc would be VAT registered? No?
    (Altho I would also assume that any prices quoted are before VAT)

Another assumption I would make (and I havent asked this) is all digger men would have their own insurance. But I bet fine men like yerselves, when asked such questions have the insurance documentation with ye to prove it? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Got some draining done recently. €35 ph plus vat for a 12 ton. Not bad value IMO. When you consider diesel, upkeep of digger, repairs, repayments for digger(maybe) and a few euro left over for himself it's not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Got some draining done recently. €35 ph plus vat for a 12 ton. Not bad value IMO. When you consider diesel, upkeep of digger, repairs, repayments for digger(maybe) and a few euro left over for himself it's not too bad.

I charge €30-35/hr + vat depending on the size of the job

I dunno - I would have assumed that all digger men, etc would be VAT registered? No?
    (Altho I would also assume that any prices quoted are before VAT)

Another assumption I would make (and I havent asked this) is all digger men would have their own insurance. But I bet fine men like yerselves, when asked such questions have the insurance documentation with ye to prove it? ;)

Nope but not at that game any more when I was I had an insurance cost that was more like a downpayment on a house than a normal bill. And I would agree with you about the VAT reg and also the assumption that any price quoted was plus VAT. So therefore our OP should be bitching about a price that was in fact 13.5% (?) higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

I'd say ur doing alright at 40 straight up! Normally price 40 plus vat is quoted. If the job is done right I'd be happy if I was u.

There is always one, I did not say I would not pay him, I asked for price but he was reluctant as the ground was very wet and it was unpredictable how long it would take, he said im all set up now, ie vat , revenue etc so it would be 40 cheque or 36 cash so I thought 40 cheque, vat back and remainder allowed as costs for farm account, but now he is telling me not vat registered yet so no vat
    element , so i thought i was being charged a vat inclusive price without being able to claim it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭dar31

There is always one, I did not say I would not pay him, I asked for price but he was reluctant as the ground was very wet and it was unpredictable how long it would take, he said im all set up now, ie vat , revenue etc so it would be 40 cheque or 36 cash so I thought 40 cheque, vat back and remainder allowed as costs for farm account, but now he is telling me not vat registered yet so no vat
    element , so i thought i was being charged a vat inclusive price without being able to claim it back

you are registered for vat, dont think you can claim vat back on the 58 form for digger work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

dar31 wrote: »
    you are registered for vat, dont think you can claim vat back on the 58 form for digger work
    Im unregistered and i claim it all the time .

Massey10 wrote: »
    Im unregistered and i claim it all the time .

Im not registered for vat, therefore I can claim vat back on drainage, reclamation, fencing etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yep, AFAIK, ya can claim back vat on capital expenditure, the only downside is that you can't write off capital, only get the amount depreciated off the books over a number of years.

I'd say ur doing alright at 40 straight up! Normally price 40 plus vat is quoted. If the job is done right I'd be happy if I was u.

Is vat on contractors/ diggers only 13.5% not 23% what about loads of 3" stone from the quarry?

13 1/2% if it goes in to the ground

If he told you he was VAT reg before he started the job and it turns out he's not then all bets are off. €40/hour plus VAT wouldn't be a bad rate around here though.

13 1/2% if it goes in to the ground

thanks dharn,

so 3" ive used to fill drains would be 13.5%

would 804 spread on new road be 13,5% also or 23%

i got load of stones to build wall either side of entrance also 13.5 or 23%

reason i ask is i have to pay for this soon and need to do my sums