Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda behind

• 09-05-2013 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭

Didn't know better topic title,so here it goes,how much info do the guards can obtain from license plate,driving behind another vehicle ?
    there been couple topics where people where asked to produce insurance cert once stopped,and it happened to me many times,where i had to produce original cert of insurance into the station,so in my mind they dont have access to vehicles insurance nor in whose name is the policy or whos on it-wonder am i wrong on this,also i think they do have access to road tax info,but what about nct details.Just interested in general before people start making remarks on fake plates etc,as they have access to the make and model by reg plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

It's my understanding that they have access (through these onboard cameras connected to computers) to the national insurance database, motor tax office and pulse. I'm not sure about the nct.
    I could be wrong as I'm too lazy to google it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Not many cars have ANPR (Automatic Number plate reading), it's generally confined to Traffic Corps cars. I'd imagine without ANPR they would have to radio for info. The latter is just speculation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

When acessing insurance info they can only get what you submit when you tax your car. In my case the tax on my bikes is up every July, so when I submit my tax form I also suppply my insirance info.

However, my insurance is up every Janurary, so if they look for info on my insurance status at the moment they would know I'm taxed until the end of July, but they would not know if I renewed my insurance in Janurary, or if I cancelled it prior to that.

Well that is my understanding of how they access that info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Odysseus wrote: »
    When acessing insurance info they can only get what you submit when you tax your car.

+1 When you taxed your car in a local tax office you had to show the insurance cert., now you just type the policy details into the website when renewing online and I have no idea if they have the ability to verify that you're putting in genuine data or not.

Plus as Odysseus has pointed out, the insurance could have expired since you renewed the tax so in a large number of cases, the insurance data is probably out of date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭hanloj1

i renewed my tax last Friday in office with just the form filled out. obviously i had insurance and nct filled in. I didn't bring any discs with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Only Traffic Corps cars have ANPR, most of them are remapped V50 D5's that look like a feckin UFO when they turn on all the flashers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

So the case as i understand is guards only can see from the regs car make and is it taxed,other info is black zone or has to be checked separately,not so advanced as i thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Only Traffic Corps cars have ANPR, most of them are remapped V50 D5's that look like a feckin UFO when they turn on all the flashers

I'm pretty sure the Volvo cars you are talking about are the XC70's which are used by the ERU, not Traffic Corps.

Garda_Armed_Response.jpg

The ANPR system is in many Garda cars, the tell-tale is the strange shaped object on the rear boot lid. There are forward facing cameras too.

3317091596_1129689aa5_z.jpg

ANPR%2520mondeo.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

^^^
    Modified garda with a wide body kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Motortax online asks you for your insurance details when renewing your disc. But you can put in any rubbish and I presume they use that data to query your insurance expiry date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I recall a guy speaking on a thread once who claimed to be very good friends with a Guard. The Guard had told him that the ANPR beeps so often in traffic that they don't pay any heed or simply turn it off. Seemingly this is common practice in the force.

Cant say how true this is. The information was sort of third hand and I've learned not to believe everything I hear or read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

Motortax online asks you for your insurance details when renewing your disc. But you can put in any rubbish and I presume they use that data to query your insurance expiry date.

I always type in a made up policy number when renewing tax online as I can't be arsed going out to check the disc. Does that mean ill pop up as uninsured if cops are behind?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    I always type in a made up policy number when renewing tax online as I can't be arsed going out to check the disc. Does that mean ill pop up as uninsured if cops are behind?

no risk the whole show is on the computers if your insured it shows up doesn't matter your number in tax office

In fact in Spain the cop cars are rigged into UK plates insurance and MOT system as there was huge influx of UK cars often driving with no insurance when they sold them to the locals to get money (UK plated car were getting premium prices for a while in Sprain as that time the Spanish cops didn't know the story )

Irish cars to my knowledge are not on the Spanish cars system yet so many Irish Swiss Swedish Finland and eastern Europe cars are ending up to go to Spain where locals often buy and use them to get around the expensive insurance and speed fines prices there

Its likely soon the Spanish police will be rigged into all the EU at this rate .

Not sure for the Irish cops on UK or EU plates but we can expect some day big brother in Ireland will be hooked into all the EU car number plates

Derry