Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The saga of the muddy bicycle

• 09-05-2013 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭

On Monday whilst out walking the dog some of the neighbors children came up to me saying they had found a bicycle in the over grown grass amongst other rubbish and didn't know what to do. I decided to get them to show me the bicycle and sure enough dumped in the grass was a womens giant bicycle which had seen better days. The frame and wheels where good but thats about all. I told the disappointed children that they couldn't have it as it was broken but we'd take it out of the fields.

The next stop was the local Garda station. The bemused garda looked at the bike, took the details of it and my address. They said it had most likely been dumped and that I could hang onto it for the time being as none matching it had been reported stolen.

On returning back to base it was time to recreate some legends. Like Excalibur in the stone each of the children took their turn to try and sit on the saddle at it's lowest setting. The one who could activate the brakes from this position was going to win the game. Surprising the biggest one didn't win. Instead the middle girl could manage the brakes. I told her the prize was to brush the dog and so got out of some chores.

It was now time to start stripping the bike. I took stock of everything needed for the bike.

The bad
    • cables all destroyed, both the outer cases and inner cables.
    • gear shifters are in multiple pieces.
    • brakes are shagged.
    • wheel bearings are egg shaped.
    • Worst of all after looking at the forks they're completely bent and twisted

The good
    • fame is excellent
    • bottom bracket is sound
    • Back wheel just needs a clean up
    • derailleurs are good
    • Cranks are good
    • headset is quite nice

The bike is now in pieces in my kitchen much to my wifes joy. I'm sourcing parts from my shed and Rothar so hopefully I'll have it all ready by the weekend. Unfortunately I'm spending money on it that could be going on my own bikes. At the end of it all I hope a kid who couldn't have a nice bike will have a decent town bike to scoot around on and I know she'll look after it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Fair play to ya for going to the bother of fixing it up to sort out a kid you know, I'm sure she'll be delighted with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Free bike for a kid and a nice bit of recycling?

Do a shopping list. I'm sure there are sheds and toolboxes on here full of the bits you're looking for. I'll have a check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

Absolutely awesome thing you're doing here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I'd just make a single speed and swap any working bits you don't need for the bits you need to get it running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Single speed isn't a bad idea but if I can get the shifter easily I'll fit it as the rest of the drive train isn't in bad condition. I'm going to make the kids clean the parts this evening so they're degreased and spotless before I start to put it back together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Well done OP. Keep us updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

There was an 'oul one near us who all the local kids would bring injured wildlife to. You are now 'the bike guy' and I suspect this won't be the last wounded creature brought to your door. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Fair play Pigeon Reaper. :)

How about some "before and after" pics?

Had kids cleaning bike parts this afternoon. Tomorrow we'll finish the rebuild of the bike. I would have done it all today but for the extra help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭kingoffifa

i have cables for a race bike - are they of any use to you?

I took a compromise with the gears so only left them with the rear gears
    working so it's now an 8 speed. I replaced the brake cables, pads and
    levers.

I also added on an old luggage rack and cheap mud guards. The wheels
    took a while to get running true again and they're still not perfect but are
    much better. It's all in one piece now.

253554.jpg

253555.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Darkstrike

Great stuff!