Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

going for a pint alone in dublin

• 09-05-2013 5:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭

Well, this weekend i was thinking about doing something out of the norm. Im a blanch native and was thinkin about heading into town for a pint and hopefully a bit of banter. any tips for mixing with people in there or what places to go?
    I know this is AH but go easy on me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

IrishLad90 wrote: »
    Well, this weekend i was thinking about doing something out of the norm. Im a blanch native and was thinkin about heading into town for a pint and hopefully a bit of banter. Where should i go? any tips for mixing with people in there or what places to go?

The George on Georges St....REALLY friendly people in there.

You'll have a ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

If you get pissed its a result, alone or not
    You'll prob end up being best mates with a homeless chap anyway by 1:30 am

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You'll have a ball

Or atleast two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I've wanted to do that before but never had the balls. Doubt I ever will!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

How did people ever manage to get out of bed in the morning before the invention of the internet?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭dmc17

You'll have a ball.
    I've wanted to do that before but never had the balls. Doubt I ever will!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

"Blanch" to"Town" :eek:

That must be like going out foreign is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Post in here about where you're going and see if anyone is bored and fancies a pint. Quite a few fantastic impromptu p!ssups have started that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

orestes wrote: »
    Post in here about where you're going and see if anyone is bored and fancies a pint. Quite a few fantastic impromptu p!ssups have started that way.

And on one occasion, a near orgy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

....so pints?

smash wrote: »
    And on one occasion, a near orgy!

What do you mean on one occasion?

There was one where someone almost accidentally scored their own cousin, that was a good one.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭Schnitzel Muncher

Well, this weekend i was thinking about doing something out of the norm. Im a blanch native and was thinkin about heading into town for a pint and hopefully a bit of banter. any tips for mixing with people in there or what places to go?

Hold up, I might join you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

How did people ever manage to get out of bed in the morning before the invention of the internet?

alarm clocks?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,431 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Why not try get an impromptu AH beers going?
    Most people in here are alcoholics so you should get a good turn out.
    I might even go! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Will be in captain americas grafton street tomorrow night, if your lonely pop in :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Most people in here are alcoholics so you should get a ood turn out.

Just as long as you are not buying pre beers. We wouldnt want to make a scene in public with no one to moderate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Visiting a pub in the city centre by yourself?

Bucket list material right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

dmc17 wrote: »

You called?

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Most people in here are alcoholics so you should get a ood turn out.

This happened a few years ago. A user from Cork was in Dublin on his own for a night and stuck up a post here seeing if anyone fancied a pint, about two hours later there was a bunch of users getting twisted in the Woolshed. It quickly went from a once-off to a weekly event for most of the summer.

Go straight to coppers. Be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

smash wrote: »
    Go straight to coppers. Be grand.

Pfft, knacker drinking all the way! Have a bitta class man.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭IrishLad90

Well im going to go ahead and do it. The woolshed seems like a decent place to start, might be a match on. And if that fails its temple bar. seems to be a foolproof plan.

Pfft, knacker drinking all the way! Have a bitta class man.

Dunno. Last time I went knacker drinking alone people kept throwing change at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 TheLB

Well im going to go ahead and do it. The woolshed seems like a decent place to start, might be a match on. And if that fails its temple bar. seems to be a foolproof plan.

Go to an old man pub and sit up at the bar and have the craic with the alcoholics, then head to a niteclub.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I was in "The Stags Head" few weeks back on a thursday nite,on my own. Met a few fun people,diverse enough customers,tourists,students,white collar etc etc. Give it a lash.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Try the Dublin forum for Dublin pub recommendations.