Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penalty points activation time period for driving offenses

• 09-05-2013 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭

How long after paying a fine for a driving offense, does it take to recieve notification that penalty points have been applied to your license ?

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

It depends how many they are processing but it should only be a few months. It's certainly not instantaneous, if that's what you want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Colash

It depends how many they are processing but it should only be a few months. It's certainly not instantaneous, if that's what you want to know.

So if I paid it this week , I wouldn't be getting the points next week ????

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

No and looking at citizens information, the points only activate 28 days after your receive the notice.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/penalty_points_for_driving_offences.html

I accidentally edited that link into your post, so that's why it's showing up as edited by me. Soz.

No and looking at citizens information, the points only activate 28 days after your receive the notice.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/driving_offences/penalty_points_for_driving_offences.html

I accidentally edited that link into your post, so that's why it's showing up as edited by me. Soz.

Thanks for the info hullabaloo

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Davetom1

Does the notification from the Guards and the RSA come in plain envelopes or will all those in my apartment block who get home from work before me see them and know who they're from?

Davetom1 wrote: »
    Does the notification from the Guards and the RSA come in plain envelopes or will all those in my apartment block who get home from work before me see them and know who they're from?

Plain letters . So unless they hav x ray vision u will be grand . Official looking letters give me the heebie jeebies :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Davetom1

Thanks Colash - plain white or brown envelopes are much better than those ones which you receive with a harp etc. on them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

I got a notice of 2 points and fine back in Feb, paid the fine, got letter from RSA with notification of date points going on to my licence within 2 weeks.

my partner got 2 points a week earlier than mine, paid the fine, got receipt from Gardaí, but is still waiting to hear when the points will be put on the licence.

any change they'll forget to put the points on ?

I got a notice of 2 points and fine back in Feb, paid the fine, got letter from RSA with notification of date points going on to my licence within 2 weeks.

my partner got 2 points a week earlier than mine, paid the fine, got receipt from Gardaí, but is still waiting to hear when the points will be put on the licence.

I got point notification after 3 months mate :( so I think She may still get it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Does anyone know typically how long after being caught by a gatso/gosafe camera you get a letter or some form of notification.

Relation of mine was driving the car. I was in the car but had way bigger worries on my mind than speeding. Anyhow we met a camera and he slowed. Been nearly 6 weeks now.

I'm hoping he managed to get his speedo down to at least 100 before being shot.

Second question how hard is it to transfer points to someone else. Is it a simple sign here. Or do they need to verify the person behind the wheel with photo ID

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Does anyone know typically how long after being caught by a gatso/gosafe camera you get a letter or some form of notification.

Relation of mine was driving the car. I was in the car but had way bigger worries on my mind than speeding. Anyhow we met a camera and he slowed. Been nearly 6 weeks now.

I'm hoping he managed to get his speedo down to at least 100 before being shot.

Second question how hard is it to transfer points to someone else. Is it a simple sign here. Or do they need to verify the person behind the wheel with photo ID

Usually within a few weeks . But u may be lucky . I'm not sure of the reading distance of the gatso camera . But I was often in the same situation and nothing came of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

HurtLocker wrote: »

When you get the notice you just fill in the other driver section and sent it back. It's then out of your hands unless the other driver doesn't play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

almost 12 months later never got a notice of penalty points !

Your best bet is to ring up the rsa and quote your license number and see has points been applied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

RSA have up to 3 months to apply thepoints. And the points will not be backdated to the date of the offence.