Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giro d'Italia Stage 6 – May 9th, Mola di Bari-Margherita di S. **Unmasked Spoilers**

• 09-05-2013 9:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭

Stage 6 – May 9th, Mola di Bari - Margherita di Savoia 169km

There'll be a breakaway, it'll get caught, and there will be a bunch sprint, simple as :p
    The stage ends with two laps of a 16.3km circuit, so the pace will be unbelievable. But there aren't any difficult corners in the last 3km, so there shouldn't be a repeat of the crashes we've seen so far. Even if OPQS make a balls of their lead-out train for Cav, I can still see him winning. John Degenkolb, Elia Viviani, Nacer Bouhanni, and Mattia Gavazzi will be up there.

stage_6_map_670.jpg

stage_6_profile_670.jpg

Live TV coverage on Eurosport1 from 1.15pm. Highlights on Eurosport1 at 10.30pm, and on Sky Sports 4 at 10pm.
    Live ticker here.

R.I.P. Wouter Weylandt (1984-2011)
    Two years ago today, 26 year-old Belgian Wouter Weylandt was killed in a descending crash during Stage 3 of the 2011 Giro d'Italia. Bib 108, the number he was wearing that day, was permanently retired. Be careful wherever you ride your bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

Having holidayed in that part if Italy a few years back,and probably driven on that very road heading north, crosswinds on that route might be a major problem.
    It might not be as straightforward a stage as it looks at first glance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭C-Shore

REBELSAFC wrote: »
    crosswinds on that route might be a major problem.

I'd have said it was a stage for Goss or Cavendish today, but I think they might be tired after yesterday so not too sure.

Bouhanni seemed to cope quite well on yesterdays climbs and finished 15th so he could be one for today.
    The only problem is that Bouhanni doesn't get great support so if there are bad crosswinds then it depends on how things split up and if a break goes with enough riders to cope in those winds.

Maybe Pozzato will have good Lampre support and go for it.

What do I know! I've named half the peloton at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cav unless there's a crash inside the last few km.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

REBELSAFC wrote: »
    Having holidayed in that part if Italy a few years back,and probably driven on that very road heading north, crosswinds on that route might be a major problem.

well then lets hope the crosswinds can make an otherwise boring stage interesting and throw up some surprises

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

lol 3 lads caught on wrong side of MOTORWAY barrier :pac:

Don't get me wrong, I quite like Declan Quigley but you know it's a boring stage when the conversation revolves around Pizza, who named it, and salt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Ohh fun and games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Jaysus!

Wiggins caught in a massive crash 30 k to go!

EDIT: Oh well the peleton slowed down :(

Would have made a great exciting race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Oh man it's total gridlock :pac:

C-Shore wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong, I quite like Declan Quigley but you know it's a boring stage when the conversation revolves around Pizza, who named it, and salt!

Back when David Duffield used to be the commentator on Eurosport, he'd spend a few hours talking about what wine himself and Kelly had for dinner the evening before :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

WooHoo just got a tweet read out

RobFowl wrote: »
    WooHoo just got a tweet read out

Was that you asking 'what's in the magic spray?' :pac:

He's the man with the answers! Not just on the telly either.

I still fancy Bouhanni for this.

Piece of cake for Cav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I still fancy Bouhanni for this.

He did too, judging by his reaction.

Yeah, animated finish for him.

He always just seems to have to do everything on his own. He and his team didn't make it easy for him with getting blocked either but I still think he's got big room to improve.

Nice touch from Cav on his dedication to Weylandt.

Yeah fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

You know it's a boring stage when they leave all that stuff in in the highlights show!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Yeah, and quoting tweets from obscure doctors about the cooling properties of ethyl chloride ...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

What happened between Gavazzi and Hunter, they were having a "discussion" after the stage?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Kav0777 wrote: »
    What happened between Gavazzi and Hunter, they were having a "discussion" after the stage?

Gavazzi pulled an epic switch on Hunter in the sprint. You can see it on the overhead shot. I'd say Hunter wasn't best pleased.

Kav0777 wrote: »

11322-612x612-2.png

I think it was just Gavazzi not holding his line.
    Didn't bother to rewind to look, it was stupid that they fought over it no matter how bad it was what he did.