Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silage Ground

• 08-05-2013 7:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭

Many a ye much silage ground closed? Hows it lookin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I suppose it be better to say the percentage of ground closed off. I've 53 or 54 per cent. The grass has been jumping outta the ground in the last 2 weeks around here. And we are carrying about 10 per cent less animals so it has allowed me to close off a lot more ground. First half of the 1st cut will be ready in 12 to 14 days time. The rest rest will be a week or 10 days later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We have 30% closed target cutting 2 weeks time or there abouts.
    I expect to be baling 10% of cow block asap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

Yikes where ye based? Has yere silage ground really kicked growth wise? Jes our grazin block is under bullin pressure, just isnt growin quick enough. Going with fert after every grazing.

In West Cork. The last 2 weeks have been savage weather for grass growth here. High temperature, mostly dry but still enough moisture to keep grass kicking on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Close to 40% blocked. Cutting around the 1st of June. Grass motoring, thinking of spraying off 2 paddocks on fri for reseeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭joe man utd

80% closed here in limerick.. hope to cut around 10th of June... Grass growing steady here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

80% closed here in limerick.. hope to cut around 10th of June... Grass growing steady here..

Cows must be still be on a large buffer feed to achieve that?

About 40% here also, about 3wks away from cutting. Serious reduction in the usual area for our 1st cut due to losing rented land, unless we get a large excess crop of bales over the summer we'll be heading into the winter short. Probably have to up the number of culls in that case, something I'd prefer to avoid for another year until the replacements calf, but in fairness there are a good few underpreforming cows that need to go at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

15% closed, and not looking great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

cant make out whether the percentage is of overall farm or the % of silage ground closed. Have all the silage ground closed and hoping to cut in the first week of June. Thickening up well after a slow start.

1chippy wrote: »
    cant make out whether the percentage is of overall farm or the % of silage ground closed. Have all the silage ground closed and hoping to cut in the first week of June. Thickening up well after a slow start.

Sorry, I was quoting the percentage of the whole farm. All silage ground here is closed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

As result of cows being out night and day since calving grass became extremely scarce and as grass grows grass grass growth here ( as of last Sunday) is still not meeting demand so will not be looking at closing for at least another week.

The rain last night really seems to have made a difference so might bring forward grass measuring to see how close to closing this place is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

Cows finished grazing for second time sunday putting out slurry tomorrow and will cut end of june hopefully.Grass only starting to grow this week up here in cavan but cold today so will see whether grazing will keep going to get some bales later in month fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

100% of the usual area closed off and really thickening up, may take more if the grass gets ahead of the cattle but that won't be a worry with the cows block. Only 1 field a bit behind, topped the whole lot off with 1cwt of CAN at the weekend and aiming for the first week in June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

3.5 acres:), that I am not allowed graze is closed for silage, damn all on it but will be knocked in a few weeks. growth pretty dismissal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

10 acres i might get cut mid july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

90% ready first week of june plus be taking bales off cow ground next week, growth is flying now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

ten acres.. that was grazed hard until end of January and the top half grazed again in strips in March.

Slurry on at Easter... will try and put a bag or bag and a half on as soon as we can get back on it.

grass is growing away now and thickening up, but from almost bare earth in places. At least what there is will be young growth, there wasn't a stem left in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

kowtow wrote: »
    , there wasn't a stem left in the place.
    Ditto:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

0% but hopefully i might have some rented land lined up, gona close up in 2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

All our silage ground closed, got
    Light slurry and fert three weeks ago. Only looks like a weeks growth on it though.
    At present progress it'll be a light crop for mid-end June weather permitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

All closed here aswell, growth just getting going here, hope to get most of it cut mid June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

simx wrote: »
    15% closed, and not looking great

Same here - almost nothing closed. Can't get into some fields to put out fert either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

20 acres closed off around the 12th of April. Got 95 units of N so sould be fit to cut first week of June. Closed a further 2 acres off but may need to graze it still. it only got 40 units

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Am I the only one not yet closed? Already a fortnight behind and land too wet for slurry up to this. After last night's deluge some of it has disappeared completely. This climate defies belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

50% of total farm ready to cut in 10days time- stocked at 2.26lu over whole farm

will prop take out 1/3 of grazing platfoem for bales next week also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Jaysus when I seen you'd posted I almost expected pictures of it knocked! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

stanflt wrote: »
    50% of total farm ready to cut in 10days time- stocked at 2.26lu over whole farm

will prop take out 1/3 of grazing platfoem for bales next week also

Tis the likes of you caused the fodder crisis. Box ticker teagasc advisors, telling lads with bad land, to farm like you, in Westmeath, properly known as Nirvana!

When Sinn Fein come in to government, the only pictures you will have to post, will be of trucks hauling your bales away to distribute amongst the needy, in the west!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Tis the likes of you caused the fodder crisis. Box ticker teagasc advisors, telling lads with bad land, to farm like you, in Westmeath, properly known as Nirvana!

When Sinn Fein come in to government, the only pictures you will have to post, will be of trucks hauling your bales away to distribute amongst the needy, in the west!!

That's a typical sinn fein attitude blaming someone else for your problems.

So what if he has super land he's farming it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Jasus lad i hope you havin a laugh:confused: if not you have issues!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Ah now I dont think stan can be blamed for anything to do with the fodder crisis , in fact its a good while ago I think I can remember him giving silage to his neigbours .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I presume this is a joke:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

delaval wrote: »
    I presume this is a joke:confused::confused:

Yes!! Obviously not a very good one. Think I will give the comedy circuit a miss!! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

About 50% of silage ground is closed here and the single chop is coming out of the shed tomorrow or saturday !!!
    Not for silage though Im going to cut a couple of loads for as long as it takes for things to dry out .
    Is there any advantage in cutting a half a trailer a day in advance and leaving it in the trailer overnight to dry out / drain off or would it just be aswell to horse it in front of them straight away ?
    Its taken me two days to get the father to try this out , he started out with
    - not if they never ate a bite again
    - let them walk it into the ground (its on themselves they are doing it )
    - sucklers arent worth zero grazing for
    - do I know how much bother it is putting on the harvester (he loves it really like )

Eventually he caved and agreed but not the garden I wanted to cut (its loaded with docks and I was hoping to set them back for spraying until the weather was better )