Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How quickly it can all go wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Wicklowandy

That's one badly surfaced and cambered section leading up to it, and one sloppy ol 5 series....

Damn it's a big one though...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Jesus. Like you say, how quick it can all get very ugly. That kinda driving is for silly silly people. Sad though.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Seem to pick up speed ending for the wall ,didn't seem to hit the brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus. Like you say, how quick it can all get very ugly. That kinda driving is for silly silly people. Sad though.
    Not sad. Another eejit off the road - good.

Mod note, user banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

Your man took ages to turn around didn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

noddyone2 wrote: »

Would you cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

tossy wrote: »
    Your man took ages to turn around didn't he?
    He was almost certainly in shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

tossy wrote: »
    Would you cop on.
    He should have, now he can't!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Hilarious, quit while you're ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

No need for that, or your other post

A person made a bad decision and paid the ultimate price,

And in you come with your troll helmet up on your high horse, ...

trot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I looked precisely, and it looks like that this car had made some strange sudden right turn, which eventually led to skid.
    I'm not sure why did he do that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

CiniO wrote: »
    I looked precisely, and it looks like that this car had made some strange sudden right turn, which eventually led to skid.

I think he hit a bump which upset the balance and off he went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Looks like he tried to correct after the bump in the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Zcott wrote: »
    I think he hit a bump which upset the balance and off he went.

Yeah thats what I was thinking, you can see the car jump, then the driver seems to turn right slightly and then way over compensates and pulls it left and the rest you can see for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

That eejit had a mother. There but for the grace of God. Straighten yourself up, youngfella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Andrew_Doran

I've read a number of reports on E39 5-series forums over the years of rear control arm ball joints separating due to wear and swing arms fracturing from stress brought on by doing doughnuts. The suspension on them is a consumable. Picture:

http://i1108.photobucket.com/albums/h412/swh12345/E52F1F22-F620-4708-BB7D-9739E9ADBBCC-18957-000014A7CBC6E37E.jpg

EDIT: in retrospect I wish I hadn't watched that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

A sad reality but it takes a serious accident to get people to slow down (I know, it happened to me when I was 18).

Those people lost out big time unfortunately :(

jimgoose wrote: »
    That eejit had a mother. There but for the grace of God. Straighten yourself up, youngfella.

In fairness, although it's obviously the unpopular opinion, it's hard to be sad. If that's his reaction to hitting a bump, how would he have reacted if a person walked out in front of him or such.

People driving so foolishly on public roads are a serious threat to the everyday person (both driving and walking). What if there were a car on the opposite side of the road when he crossed over? Or someone walking on the path? He could well have killed another person/people due to his nonsense.

Wreckless driving has no excuse in my opinion (but again, that is just my own opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

In fairness, although it's obviously the unpopular opinion, it's hard to be sad. If that's his reaction to hitting a bump, how would he have reacted if a person walked out in front of him or such.

People driving so foolishly on public roads are a serious threat to the everyday person (both driving and walking). What if there were a car on the opposite side of the road when he crossed over? Or someone walking on the path? He could well have killed another person/people due to his nonsense.

Wreckless driving has no excuse in my opinion (but again, that is just my own opinion).

At what point did I attempt to make an excuse for reckless driving? We just saw a boy die. Some things need to be said, and some don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

For somebody who doesn't "get" motors you sure do love stirring it, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Jackasses both of them.

The "Ahhh shuuuure isn't it turrible" line has no use here, it's cause and effect feel sad for his family but im mainly glad no innocent bystanders were killed/maimed for life.

Also how did the dashcam footage come to be released, surely the guy who posted it is now up **** creek because of it unless it's one the insurance company put there.

jimgoose wrote: »
    At what point did I attempt to make an excuse for reckless driving? We just saw a boy die. Some things need to be said, and some don't.

To be fair, I never said you made an excuse for it. I'm just re-iterating that there is no excuse for it.

We did, very unfortunately, see a person die. My issue is that it could very easily have been more than one person that died. A thread full of condolences is a bit pointless. A thread highlighting the stupidity of it all would hopefully make a few people re-think their driving attitude. (Hopefully).

This man is dead, literally because he wanted to speed down a road. His family, friends, grieving/mourning, because he wanted to speed down a road. It even starts to sounds ridiculous. :(
    For somebody who doesn't "get" motors you sure do love stirring it, don't you?

I don't see what wreckless driving has to do with 'getting' motors. He completely lost control of the car and could easily have killed any other person (inlcuding the car that the camera is in, if he were a bit further ahead).

It was only by luck that the other side of the road, and footpath, we empty.

I feel I made a very valid point. What was this supposed to be? A thread where everyone (who has no idea who the person even is) posts "RIP" and a sad face?

Anyone out there who's driving like this needs to cop onto themselves.

I do, of course, feel sorry for his family. They're the ones who will have to suffer through a death that was completely avoidable. Having to go through a death of someone close to you is an emotional toll that I would wish on no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭Bigus

I've read a number of reports on E39 5-series forums over the years of rear control arm ball joints separating due to wear and swing arms fracturing from stress brought on by doing doughnuts. The suspension on them is a consumable. Picture:

http://i1108.photobucket.com/albums/h412/swh12345/E52F1F22-F620-4708-BB7D-9739E9ADBBCC-18957-000014A7CBC6E37E.jpg

EDIT: in retrospect I wish I hadn't watched that.

Thanks Andrew, I think failure of this part explains it all, ball joint pops due to bump and 5 series rear steers into wall.

Should help the NCT seem more acceptable now especially when it comes to suspension parts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Now it happened in Lithaunia,country which most of you dont like or dont know :rolleyes: if compared to Ireland these accidents happen almost daily,the road rules are almost non-existent compared to irish drivers and tolerance towards others on the road.
    Theres few reasons for that:insurance is cheap,there isn't any system like in Ireland where you need to earn your bonus points age limit etc,once you get your license at 18 you can drive 3l twin turbo if you can afford one for as little as 400e per year and no road taxes,same goes with the bikes once you have license you can roll on hayabusa in minutes.Only limit is your petrol prices-versus low wages.
    Also people have this mentality if they own bmw or something flashier they are kings of the road.
    So when such topics occur where someone posts that someone isnt indicating,or stopping on hard soulders of the road,they should go abroad to eastern Europe,as there pedestrians cross streets like they would be carrying a glass jar on their heads.That said Irish drivers are way more safe and friendly towards others on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

We are all human and sometimes make mistakes.
    He was very unlucky as also the passenger and it was the ultimate lesson.

I know from experiencing crashes some my own fault and a few where others where I was passenger or hit by others.

Sometimes guys need the kick up the ass to get them to see that this could happen and I would love this to be taught in schools as these real videos may be a very valuable tool to try and get the message through.

I will admit I was young once and learned my lesson yes the hard way but did walk away luckily enough from a similar crash now not near as fast but lets say the tree ended up the winner also dropped 15 feet off the road just beside a flooded river bank so TREE 1 CAR 0.

Rest In Peace to the 2 occupants and all of the others that have lost their lives on roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

This happened in Lithuania and as I'm Lithuanian I was reading it on a local newspaper site.

In the newspaper it said he clipped the kerb on the right and obviously turned away to the left. At 150 km/h quickly turning the steering wheel to the left was a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,261 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Giant correction at wheel when he hit bump
    Can't have had much experience to turn wheel half turn at that speed
    You can't drive along a road at 60 mph then decide to turn steering to full lock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭Ardent

Appears to have been steering right, car goes airborne, suddenly he's steering too much to the right, tries to correct after landing, over-corrected and the rest is history. Doesn't appear to have hit the brakes at all, except right before the collision??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I just think its naive of some people to come on here not giving out, but kinda saying it was stupid of him to whip the wheel the other way when he hit the kerb or whatever, but you never know what youre gonna do when it happens, I guarantee most of us would do the same in that split second!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Ardent wrote: »
    Appears to have been steering right, car goes airborne, suddenly he's steering too much to the right, tries to correct after landing, over-corrected and the rest is history. Doesn't appear to have hit the brakes at all, except right before the collision??

The time after it spears left to the impact seems to be about 1.5 seconds, easily just down to reaction time. According to the text he was doing 150kph, that's 93 in old money, wouldn't have slowed much in the space he had even if he was quicker on the anchors. RIP, Glad he didn't take anyone down with him, absolutely madness flooring it on that sort of road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

scamalert wrote: »
    Now it happened in Lithaunia,country which most of you dont like or dont know :rolleyes: if compared to Ireland these accidents happen almost daily,the road rules are almost non-existent compared to irish drivers and tolerance towards others on the road.
    Theres few reasons for that:insurance is cheap,there isn't any system like in Ireland where you need to earn your bonus points age limit etc,once you get your license at 18 you can drive 3l twin turbo if you can afford one for as little as 400e per year and no road taxes,same goes with the bikes once you have license you can roll on hayabusa in minutes.Only limit is your petrol prices-versus low wages.
    Also people have this mentality if they own bmw or something flashier they are kings of the road.
    So when such topics occur where someone posts that someone isnt indicating,or stopping on hard soulders of the road,they should go abroad to eastern Europe,as there pedestrians cross streets like they would be carrying a glass jar on their heads.That said Irish drivers are way more safe and friendly towards others on the road.

I think you are demonising it too much.

I've never been to Lithuania, but Poland is described equally bad.

While in fact, 90% of drivers in Poland drive absolutely normally, and they are the same predictive and defensive and Irish drivers.

It's true that remaining 10% drives like there is no tomorrow, and they don't give a damn about any traffic rules, but it's not as bad as you seem to describe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭zapata

Could the fact it was rear wheel drive be considered as part of the cause of loss of control.
    If foot was planted on accelerator, rear wheels bounce off the ground increasing the speed of the rear wheel which pushes the car too much making the rear of the car want to pass the front therefore out of control...
    A front wheel drive might pull away from a similar situation.
    I can't see him clipping the kerb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

zapata wrote: »
    Could the fact it was rear wheel drive be considered as part of the cause of loss of control.
    If foot was planted on accelerator, rear wheels bounce off the ground increasing the speed of the rear wheel which pushes the car too much making the rear of the car want to pass the front therefore out of control...
    A front wheel drive might pull away from a similar situation.
    I can't see him clipping the kerb.

Big heavy car going too fast is what it looks like to me. Possibly a badly maintained or too soft a rear suspension.

A front wheel drive car wouldn't have pulled out of that but probably would have had more control to begin with as the back wheels nearly hop off the ground twice in the video.