Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yaris - 1 lt or 1.3 petrol?

• 08-05-2013 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭

Hi - We're looking to buy a Yaris soon, probably 2006/2007. We've both only driven 1 lt cars before (Micra and Punto) and I'm wondering if it would make much financial difference to step up to a 1.3 engine? We're in North County Dublin and typical driving is local 60-80 kph zones and for work a short spin up the M1 and then city driving. So a common enough milage and driving experience I would imagine.
    Yearly tax would be approx. 150 greater with the 1.3 lt but would it be better for fuel consumption and thus annual cost to run?
    Thanks for any insights, pretty clueless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

The 1.0L Yaris a pokey, fun car in my experience. However, fast it is surely not. Comfortable, not really. Its holds its own up to 100km/h and after that, its quite a struggle and your MPG will nose dive. Not a car for long distance commutes or regular motorway mileage.

I've driven the 1.0L (P1 model i.e. 1999 to 2005) and the 1.3 / 1.4 Petrol & Diesel models from 2008 onwards. Would recommend anything other than the 1.0L for no other reason that its nice to have a little more poke and a more comfortable ride at motorway speed. The fuel economy difference between each would be negligible for the type of driving you'll be doing. Both will hold their value far greater than anything else in that particular class, unfortunately you'll pay for that when buying. If well maintained they go forever so be sure its a well looked after car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I never liked the MkII Yaris, it was poorly built compared to the MkI imo with lots of cheap looking plastics on the inside. I found the 3 cylinder 1.0 litre engine a lot less refined than the older 4 cylinder engine of the previous model too. I'd look at the Ford Fiesta 1.25 litre instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭redser7

Fantastic, that's just what I was looking for ironclaw. Cheers.

Thanks bazz. In one advert for a 1.3 2006 it is called T3. So is that the 3 cylinder you are talking about (MKII)? Was that a new model for 2006?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

T3 is an English spec level so just be aware of that.

Thanks. But, errr, why should I be aware of that? Should I be concerned about it being an import for some reason? Currently the reg in the photo is 06 D. Brand new nct. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

redser7 wrote: »
    Thanks. But, errr, why should I be aware of that? Should I be concerned about it being an import for some reason? Currently the reg in the photo is 06 D. Brand new nct. Thanks

It's just another layer to look through when you want to check the cars history. UK cars are often better looked after than the Irish equivalent and come with service histories which are useful to try and verify it's past. It would be reasonably unusual for a UK car not to have this and if it was missing it can be an indicator that all is not right etc.

A history check of the English reg is worth investing in.

It's just another layer to look through when you want to check the cars history. UK cars are often better looked after than the Irish equivalent and come with service histories which are useful to try and verify it's past. It would be reasonably unusual for a UK car not to have this and if it was missing it can be an indicator that all is not right etc.

The English Yaris's (Yari? :pac: ) are far better than the Irish equivalent spec. We had a choice between a UK Diesel model and an Irish petrol one, the Diesel one had far better spec, trim and paint for a negligible amount of money. They were the same year and 'spec' configuration. They really put the cheap bits in the Irish ones.

Service history is important. As a suggestion, unless you really set on a new body one, you could pick up a 2005 Mk1. They really do go forever if you got a decent model and the engine blocks are solid.

Or just get the T-Sport ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Get a 1.3 for the love of God!! The 1l will have you in tears...(not to mention looking for a clutch fairly soon :mad:)

Good advice thanks!
    ironclaw wrote: »
    The English Yaris's (Yari? :pac: ) are far better than the Irish equivalent spec. We had a choice between a UK Diesel model and an Irish petrol one, the Diesel one had far better spec, trim and paint for a negligible amount of money. They were the same year and 'spec' configuration. They really put the cheap bits in the Irish ones.

Service history is important. As a suggestion, unless you really set on a new body one, you could pick up a 2005 Mk1. They really do go forever if you got a decent model and the engine blocks are solid.

Or just get the T-Sport ;)

Looks are not important at all tbh. Just hoping to push out the 1 year ncts a bit and that advert i saw looks like a nice price for the 06 with fresh nct. Thanks
    Get a 1.3 for the love of God!! The 1l will have you in tears...(not to mention looking for a clutch fairly soon :mad:)

Cheers, I'm sold on the 1.3

Looks are not important at all tbh. Just hoping to push out the 1 year ncts a bit and that advert i saw looks like a nice price for the 06 with fresh nct. Thanks

Its not just about looks. Its the general finish of the overall car. And I don't mean fancy seats etc. Its the trim quality and finish. Compare UK to Irish paint finish and you'll see a major difference. Most Irish drivers are just happy to accept the bog standard, 500 car order, mass shipment that dealers bring in. A good finish is a big factor in the resale value. I'd happily give someone more for a well maintained, English spec version as they are rare as hens teeth.

But all said, the 1.3 is a great car. Enjoy.

Thanks again ironclaw, an education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The Plain People of Ireland, rocks of sense that they are, will go for the bum-basic car model with the smallest possible engine every time, regardless of their actual requirements. They will then go around with the clog down to the mat all the time while the poor thing howls its little lungs out, while thinking self-congratulatory thoughts about Saving Peterel and De Tax, like.

I say this to you - sometimes more is less, and a larger engine whiffling along at a smaller throttle opening and lower revs is often more economical and less stressed, thus more long-lived and reliable, than a bit of kit that is seriously under-specced for the job in hand.

To summarise the suimmary: get the 1.3. It will please you much more.

Thanks Jim, sounds like good advise.

I rang about the T3. Guy said he brought it in from the north for a friend abroad but the sale didn't go ahead. So would anyone know how I could go about checking its history over the border? Buyer beware and all hat.

Cheers

Thanks Jim, sounds like good advise.

I rang about the T3. Guy said he brought it in from the north for a friend abroad but the sale didn't go ahead. So would anyone know how I could go about checking its history over the border? Buyer beware and all hat.

Cheers

These guys:

http://www.cartell.ie/

I've used them before, they work. Like anything else that's any use, it'll cost you a little money. IIRC I paid them €35 for their Three-Star Check back in 2006.

Thanks Jim

Do you have a link to the advert?

Tidy little yoke. You'd think he'd wash it before looking for six grand for it on the Deal of Dung, but! :D

Price seems a little high to me for a 2006.

This is a higher spec 2007 T Spirit model:

http://www.usedcarsni.com/110534017

Exchange to euro is just a little over €6k.
    VRT is around €1300.
    So lets say €7500 landed incl travel up North.

Thanks bazz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

If you can, get a 1.33 6 speed model. A lot of UK ones have these. They're dual vvti and in real life are the most economical petrol model. Came out in 08 iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

bazz26 wrote: »
    So lets say €7500 landed incl travel up North.

For a Yaris?

You could have a Mini Cooper for that!

Anyway, 5-6 grand is our limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ive driven a yaris .998 l if i had a choice to buy one or a new one i would go for a 1.3 l petrol or 1.4 l diesel. A 1.0 l is fine for town, city and country drives but need more power for motorway and simple overtaking of slower vehicles.

What yaris model ye looking at? I quiet like the luna and the new sports version though find the wvti terra one a bit small for longer trips but very handy for parking!

I would recommend the new ford fiesta models be a likely car i might go for myself when i change mine.

Seems to be a simple formula for mid-range. Take the year and add 3 zeros :) so 2005 - 2006 costs us 5 - 6 grand. That's our ball park unless something special comes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm