Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Advice

• 07-05-2013 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭

Just wondering whats the best piece of advice lads have picked up on over the years on F&F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

hard to choose, its great to come on and ask a question and get a few different views from different people, got great help when filling out my profit monitor, was doing it at the weekend and would have had to wait til the monday to talk to anyone in teagasc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Not sure if it would be considered advice as such... but best thing I got from F&F was a feeling of "you are not alone" ;):D

Plenty others in the same boat re setting up, making changes, things going well or bad, balancing work / life / farm, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭locha

bought some land last year and through F&F I found out that the bank I was with at the time were trying to rip me off with Arrangement Fees, I had time to change banks, did so, and save a nice few bob!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

dont believe what you read on the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Not sure if it would be considered advice as such... but best thing I got from F&F was a feeling of "you are not alone" ;):D

Plenty others in the same boat re setting up, making changes, things going well or bad, balancing work / life / farm, etc...

Yep fully agreed, same with the discussion group. Before that I was comparing the farm performance to the likes of Teagasc and Glanbia reports, which would have been geared toward spring milk producers instead of our split calving system, its all good and well reading up best practices, but impossible to implement everything overnight. F&F has been great for hearing directly from other farmers whats going on, and knowing that we are all in the same boat when it comes to setbacks etc on the farm.

In terms of specific advice, hmm Whelan I'll thank you for this, using the kicking bar on the rumprail to hold up the cluster on cows that it falls off easy has saved me a hell of alot of grief in the parlour over the past few months!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

- Rebar and high tensile wire makes a very cheap and effective boundry fence.
    - Vecoxan to prevent coccidiosis in calves
    - Small straw bale to support weak calve for first drink of cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

A link to the esb mast inteference compensation form by Relig got me a €100 cheque in the post last week! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Just wondering whats the best piece of advice lads have picked up on over the years on F&F

Buy low sell high ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

ABlur wrote: »
    A link to the esb mast inteference compensation form by Relig got me a €100 cheque in the post last week! Thanks!

Is that for a mast, or a standard pole?
    I have 9 poles (ESB poles that is), but not getting any cheques in the post:confused:

Is that for a mast, or a standard pole?
    I have 9 poles (ESB poles that, is), but not getting any cheques in the post:confused:
    A combo of single and double poles, different rates for each. Worth checking out. Google mast compensation payments. They are also helpful if you ring them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Never buy silage off Joe King or Mike Hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Feck ya, I only got €37 for my 2 sets of poles holding u a 110kv line.
    Will get broadband wayleave payment later in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 foyle

can someone explain about the mast compensation...I have 5 poles on my land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

it like everything else,:P i was said by bad advice and ignored good advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Got payment of €800 from FBD for accountant costs when he had to prepare for an audit. I did not know about this till I saw on Boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

send link

milkprofit wrote: »
    send link

On a smartphone I cant do links yet but if you Google 'esb mast inteference payments' you'll get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 beef burger

got a philips dosing hook from posts i seen on this site great job and so is the site fair play lads