Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South East Asia. Help Needed!!

• 06-05-2013 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

Hi. Hows things lads

Me and my girlfriend are travelling to South East Asia in early October. We are flying into Kuala Lumpar, travelling up through West Thailand, onto Laos, down through Vietnam, onto Cambodia and down the east side of Thailand.

I just want to know how long ye think we will need for traveling and how much of budget do you think we will need once we arrive. We are flying onto Perth from Kuala Lumpar to Perth at the end of our trip for a year anyway. Thanks for any info!!!!

Alan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭jc_eire

Howsthings wrote: »
    Hi. Hows things lads

Me and my girlfriend are travelling to South East Asia in early October. We are flying into Kuala Lumpar, travelling up through West Thailand, onto Laos, down through Vietnam, onto Cambodia and down the east side of Thailand.

I just want to know how long ye think we will need for traveling and how much of budget do you think we will need once we arrive. We are flying onto Perth from Kuala Lumpar to Perth at the end of our trip for a year anyway. Thanks for any info!!!!

Alan

Bump - wondering something similar also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I'm doing something very similar starting next Monday, we're flying into Bangkok and out of Singapore in September so we've 3 months to do Bangkok, Chang Mai, Hanoi down to Ho Chi Minh then over to Cambodia, south Thailand, Then through Malaysia to Singapore. From what I've heard €1000 a month per person is doable, we're prepared to slum it a bit if we need to! But we have a few places booked for Bangkok (when we first arrive) and for koh Pangnan for the full moon party!

We planned on going through Laos on our way to Vietnam but after doing some reading and getting info from friends, Laos just wasn't worth it. Too much travel for not enough reward IMO, bad roads, over packed ferries and very bad hostels on the way to Luang Prabang. And after reading that tubing doesn't happen anymore, we just decided to skip it. 120 quid for flights for two of us to Hanoi from Bangkok

Edit: I dunno why there's a lil yellow thing above my post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭jc_eire

Cheers for the info - would be great to hear how you get on and let us know what was good and also what was not worth it. Hope you have a great time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Howsthings

Well Lads. Yeah, the exact same about Loas, not going to bother going into it.. In terms of moneys, lads are saying that you can more or less survive on as little as you want per day. The only expensive things are the touristy things. Hope you enjoy it. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Did Singapore malaysia Thailand Cambodia Laos vietnam and flew back to Singapore a few years ago, did it 14 weeks with a budget of €30 a day, Singapore very expensive and as you go up through the countries the living cost gets cheaper,a lot of the time we spent €20 or less in a day all depends on what your doing on any given day eg train/bus travel etc. €3000 budget I came home with €450. As long as your happy eating street food and staying away from the flash bars/restaurants you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

You can spend about 1000 for very nice comfortable accommodation in a month, and even less if you're willing to go more basic.
    Food is very cheap, but if you want to dine out in a restaurant then budget accordingly. Activities are something you'll want to have money for. No point going all that way and not being able to do treks or visit museums. In Vietnam we paid about $25pp for treks to nearby mountain villages, which included food, water and the guide, you can probably get cheaper rates through tourist centres rather than the hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

We spent 3.5 weeks in Vietnam last year (hanoi, sapa, halong bay, hue, hoi an, HCMC)..It was amazing, we ate well and stayed in 4/5 star hotels, did a luxury halong bay cruise and spent less than 1000 so money wise you will be grand and wont have to slum it in Vietnam anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

I would take a slightly different route if I were in your shoes.
    Come up from KL you could explore Koh Tao/Samui head east towards Cambodia spend 2 weeks here,travel to Vietnam I would give this 3 weeks minimum as its fairly big.I would not discount Lao at all,its possibly the most stunning country scenery wise in S.E.A and the fact that tubing has been toned down is a massive bonus as Vang Vien was a beautiful place up until 2008 and it just went down hill rapidly,there is a lot more to Lao than tubing,its a lovely people and hassle free.You will welcome Lao after Vietnam for the peace and quiet,venture up north and cross into north Thailand heading to Chiang Mai and Pai,Mae hongsong to make your way down to BK.
    Timescale anything from 3-4mths budget per person it all depends on how disciplined you are to stick to a budget and travel smart.
    Can be done easily 800 euro a month per person,Lao and Vietnam you could have a good time on 500 dollars a month.
    Thailand will be your big expense along with Malaysia,the further you move through the countries the better you will get at finding the bargains,use public buses avoid vip scam buses and eat the local food,buy your booze in 7/11.
    Enjoy

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    I would take a slightly different route if I were in your shoes.
    Come up from KL you could explore Koh Tao/Samui head east towards Cambodia spend 2 weeks here,travel to Vietnam I would give this 3 weeks minimum as its fairly big.I would not discount Lao at all,its possibly the most stunning country scenery wise in S.E.A and the fact that tubing has been toned down is a massive bonus as Vang Vien was a beautiful place up until 2008 and it just went down hill rapidly,there is a lot more to Lao than tubing,its a lovely people and hassle free.You will welcome Lao after Vietnam for the peace and quiet,venture up north and cross into north Thailand heading to Chiang Mai and Pai,Mae hongsong to make your way down to BK.

Thanks for that!!! Seems like a better route so will probably do it like this!!!

Just sent off for Vietnam Visa. For a single entry, 90 day visa cost £85 + postage and packaging to the embassey in London. All other visas, apart from oz can be bought on the border.

The working holiday visa cost use €305 each, but will change depending on exchange rate.

I left Vietnam a week ago and am currently in Cambodia, Vietnam is awesome! Out of curiosity, how long do you plan on spending in Vietnam? A 3 month visa is a long one!

Well Graham

Its eithier a 1 month visa or a 90 day visa, and just because we are not sure of arrival and leaving we decided to get the 90 day one. We plan to spend 25 day (ish there. Have been researching Cambodia, heres our list of things to do there anyway!!

Phnom Penh ( A few days here to see it all) Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum ( meals cost at most $5)
    The Killing Fields of Choeung Ek (17 km south of the Phnom Penh)
    GUN SHOOTING TO THE SOUTH OF HERE!!!
    Boat Trip to Siem Reap, 4 to 5 hours and cost $25-$50 each. Meant to be a bad boat but nice trip
    Look like we should stay for 2 or 3 days. Looks like a nice place with alot of Pubs and Bars
    National Park to the north, 50 km, waterfall looks savage
    Can get train to Bangkok (Bus not Safe)

Ha, I've no idea how good or bad the bus is but ill be able to let ya know tomorrow as I'm getting it tonight! We met a couple that took a boat from PP to SR, it took them 9 hours.

I had every intention on going to the shooting place also but in PP it's an indoor thing and I wanted to do it outdoors. There's one in SR but never bothered going in the end. It's quite pricey too, $50 for 30 bullets of the AK47 or M-16. $300 to fire a rocket from an RPG, $250 extra if you want a cow to fire it at (I was offered to do it about 20 seconds after arriving in Cambodia!). Also Combodia in general is more expensive than Vietnam, Vietnam is ridiculously cheap tbf.

If you've any questions on the place though pop em up and I may be able to help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 snooples17

1000 euro would be my budget for a full month, could even be stretched to 6 weeks if I was careful. This would be your fairly standard backpacker budget

It can be done for 1000 a month but as soon as you start doing expensive stuff like shooting and diving, it's not easy. We've been closer to 1500 a month so far but we've been staying in mid range hotels and doing everything we want to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Well Graham

Its eithier a 1 month visa or a 90 day visa, and just because we are not sure of arrival and leaving we decided to get the 90 day one. We plan to spend 25 day (ish there. Have been researching Cambodia, heres our list of things to do there anyway!!

Phnom Penh ( A few days here to see it all) Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum ( meals cost at most $5)
    The Killing Fields of Choeung Ek (17 km south of the Phnom Penh)
    GUN SHOOTING TO THE SOUTH OF HERE!!!
    Boat Trip to Siem Reap, 4 to 5 hours and cost $25-$50 each. Meant to be a bad boat but nice trip
    Look like we should stay for 2 or 3 days. Looks like a nice place with alot of Pubs and Bars
    National Park to the north, 50 km, waterfall looks savage
    Can get train to Bangkok (Bus not Safe)

its over 5 years since I was there so I can't really give any advice re prices etc.

For Phnom Penh, I did it in a day. That included most over 4 hours in S21 (th school that was used as a prison, torture centre). Didn't spend as long in the killing fields, tbh I don't think there's any need to. Cost us $20 for a tuc tuc taxi, that was between 4 for the full day which was hotel to S21, there to a restaraunt, there to killing fields, back to big market area in the town and finally back to the hotel. All that taxiing for $5 each.
    Did the shooting as well, just did a hand gun I fired an AK 47 somewhere in Vietnam, ifirc that was cheaper.

I bussed it from there to Siem Riep, only had time to spend 1 day at Ankor Wat and had to hit back to Bankok, got the bus to there, about 7 hours, it was perfectly safe by bus.

My timeline was very tight though as I was on my way home from Oz so was on flight deadlines etc.

It can be done for 1000 a month but as soon as you start doing expensive stuff like shooting and diving, it's not easy. We've been closer to 1500 a month so far but we've been staying in mid range hotels and doing everything we want to

With that budget, how much went on boozing?
    Hoping to get back there early next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 snooples17

I did everything I wanted inc shooting but no diving. In the Thai islands I was spending 200 a week, everywhere else about 150 a week and this would inc transport accom and tours. For all my bus jouneys from Hanoi to HCM was 40 dollars i think which inc 5 stops along the way. However occasioanly I would take flights or do something expensive (eg the shooting or getting clothes made in vietnam) which would up my weekly budget.

I stayed in hostels and slightly lower end accom nothing bad though, it was never more than 8 dollars a night as I usually shared rooms with other travellers except for full moon when I was paying 12 euro i think (air con, fridge, tv and ensuite)

I ate very little though, one main meal a day occasioanly two and snacked on fruit and stuff the rest of the time. Drank most nights but did take the occasional day off and some nights id be on overnight buses

snooples17 wrote: »
    I did everything I wanted inc shooting but no diving. In the Thai islands I was spending 200 a week, everywhere else about 150 a week and this would inc transport accom and tours. For all my bus jouneys from Hanoi to HCM was 40 dollars i think which inc 5 stops along the way. However occasioanly I would take flights or do something expensive (eg the shooting or getting clothes made in vietnam) which would up my weekly budget.

I stayed in hostels and slightly lower end accom nothing bad though, it was never more than 8 dollars a night as I usually shared rooms with other travellers except for full moon when I was paying 12 euro i think (air con, fridge, tv and ensuite)

I ate very little though, one main meal a day occasioanly two and snacked on fruit and stuff the rest of the time. Drank most nights but did take the occasional day off and some nights id be on overnight buses

How long ago was that? That's not bad going at all spending-wise.
    I found hostels grand myself, had no interest in hotels, anything that's clean and has air-con. Usually between $5-10 a night for a room

Hidalgo wrote: »
    With that budget, how much went on boozing?
    Hoping to get back there early next year.

As I type this I'm struggling to hit the right keys because of the amount I drank at some pool party last night!

But in general we're drinking maybe 5 days a week with one or two heavy nights, nothing too mad tbh but when we have a mad night it's generally very heavy. And while Thailand is the best place for partying, it's the most expensive by a mile. A beer in Vietnam was between 10-80c (some places are €2 but we walked straight out after seeing those prices!) whereas a beer in Thailand generally costs between €1-2.

In fairness we've met people who are doing 3 month trips with around £2k and they're managing but the way we look at it is we ain't going to be doing another 3 month trip around these parts again anytime soon so we don't wanna scrimp. We've booked trips for when we're in Malaysia that are setting us back around €2k, but they're all one in a lifetime type things.

We're eating well also, tis only the fancy restaurants we avoid. Like in Cambodia we would of been spending roughly $10-20 per day on dinner. Our hotels would generally be about $20 a night but there's been a good few places that were $10-12.

My view was that we came this far, we saved seriously hard and are able to do everything we want to because of that! We also had quite a bit put aside to get into Oz but the day we were leaving Ireland my GF got an email with a good job offer in Brissy when we land so we're landing with less by the day at this stage!

Sorry if my post was very wishy washy, I'm very hungover!

As I type this I'm struggling to hit the right keys because of the amount I drank at some pool party last night!

But in general we're drinking maybe 5 days a week with one or two heavy nights, nothing too mad tbh but when we have a mad night it's generally very heavy. And while Thailand is the best place for partying, it's the most expensive by a mile. A beer in Vietnam was between 10-80c (some places are €2 but we walked straight out after seeing those prices!) whereas a beer in Thailand generally costs between €1-2.

In fairness we've met people who are doing 3 month trips with around £2k and they're managing but the way we look at it is we ain't going to be doing another 3 month trip around these parts again anytime soon so we don't wanna scrimp. We've booked trips for when we're in Malaysia that are setting us back around €2k, but they're all one in a lifetime type things.

We're eating well also, tis only the fancy restaurants we avoid. Like in Cambodia we would of been spending roughly $10-20 per day on dinner. Our hotels would generally be about $20 a night but there's been a good few places that were $10-12.

My view was that we came this far, we saved seriously hard and are able to do everything we want to because of that! We also had quite a bit put aside to get into Oz but the day we were leaving Ireland my GF got an email with a good job offer in Brissy when we land so we're landing with less by the day at this stage!

Jammy b*stard :D
    Prices havnt gone up too much since I was there in 08 on a whistle-stop trip of Vietnam, Thailand and Cambodia. Your dead right to spend on good tours etc if you can, you won't be doing this kind of a trip too often.

Yeah north to south Vietnam is about 40 quid on busses but we didn't buy that ticket at the start, we got some trains and some busses. Trains there really ain't cheap, our train from Da Nang to HCM was about 45 quid each, we just didn't fancy 18 hours on a bus. I have a thread in travel reviews of my trip with more prices and stuff in it for anyone that's interested.

And just to make ya dislike me that little bit more, this is where I'm currently nursing my hangover :D

5110228bab5e250ba3112a0ed55b583c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Currently in Cambodia for the second time and would advise anyone coming not just to rush through it and only visit Angkor Wat and Phnom Penh. This is what I did last time however there is a lot more to the country.
    I would recommend visiting Battambang which is about 2 hours from Siem Reap. There's a lot to see in the country around it like caves with millions of bats, crocodile farms, vineyards etc. If anyone is going there I can recommend a good tuk-tuk driver.
    Also it's worth taking a trip to the coast. Sihanoukville is a little seedy but if you stay at Otres beach, 2k south of town, it's very different. Lots of bungalows and bars and the beach is beautiful for swimming.
    Kampot is about 2 hours away and is on a river close to the coast. It's a beautiful little town where you can just relax for a few days but also has some decent bars if you want to stay out late. Good food too.
    The Khmer people are very friendly and always smiling even though many have terrible stories from the Khmer Rouge days.
    Also drinking in Cambodia is very cheap with draft beer between $0.50c and $1. Plus you can buy a bottle of Jameson or vodka in a shop for $10-12.

Yeah north to south Vietnam is about 40 quid on busses but we didn't buy that ticket at the start, we got some trains and some busses. Trains there really ain't cheap, our train from Da Nang to HCM was about 45 quid each, we just didn't fancy 18 hours on a bus. I have a thread in travel reviews of my trip with more prices and stuff in it for anyone that's interested.

And just to make ya dislike me that little bit more, this is where I'm currently nursing my hangover :D

5110228bab5e250ba3112a0ed55b583c.jpg
    Well Graham. That looks alot better than where Im am currently!!! Thats interesting about the trains. We were basically going to get train up thru thailand from Mayalisa, then train up thru all of Vietnam but may look at it different now if expensive..Anyway you dont worry about it and enjoy the pool!!!!

cashback wrote: »
    Currently in Cambodia for the second time and would advise anyone coming not just to rush through it and only visit Angkor Wat and Phnom Penh. This is what I did last time however there is a lot more to the country.
    I would recommend visiting Battambang which is about 2 hours from Siem Reap. There's a lot to see in the country around it like caves with millions of bats, crocodile farms, vineyards etc. If anyone is going there I can recommend a good tuk-tuk driver.
    Also it's worth taking a trip to the coast. Sihanoukville is a little seedy but if you stay at Otres beach, 2k south of town, it's very different. Lots of bungalows and bars and the beach is beautiful for swimming.
    Kampot is about 2 hours away and is on a river close to the coast. It's a beautiful little town where you can just relax for a few days but also has some decent bars if you want to stay out late. Good food too.
    The Khmer people are very friendly and always smiling even though many have terrible stories from the Khmer Rouge days.
    Also drinking in Cambodia is very cheap with draft beer between $0.50c and $1. Plus you can buy a bottle of Jameson or vodka in a shop for $10-12.
    I remember swimming on otres beach 10yrs ago,our everday ritual really peaceful.
    There was'nt any bungalows or development on it and it seemed like no ine knew about the place cause we hsd the beach to ourselves every time.
    +1 To give Cambodia more time than the usual hotspots,I havent been back there in a long time but I enjoyed my travels through it except for the food but it has prob gotten better.
    Lots of Russians I hear now are developing sinoukiville,just hope they don't wreck it like many of the Thai beaches.

Where did you book trips in Malaysia for 2k,seems very expensive for that neck of the woods is iymt Sabah?

hedgehog2 wrote: »
    Where did you book trips in Malaysia for 2k,seems very expensive for that neck of the woods is iymt Sabah?

Booked through two sites, amazingborneo and sipadan diving. Climbing mount Kinabalu and visiting Turtle island then diving in Sipadan

Your gonna love Sipadan,I was there last month.
    Turtle island we skipped as some locals told us it was wedged with tourists and your massively restricted but this could have just been for June.
    Sepilok Orang Utan centre is worth a day trip,it was misty when we went to mount Kinabula.
    If you have time check out the lower kimabatang river,saw amazing wildlife or whats left of them.
    Freightening speed they are knicking down the rainforest to make way for the wests humger for palm oil.
    Kota Kinabula is only worth a day or two,cinema so cheap,food good in China town only and beer v expensive,avoidcthe Irish bar and thst area way over priced 7 euro for a cider.
    You will see more turtles diving in sipadan,was'nt mad about Borneo as so much of the natural habitat is wiped out.
    The documentaries we see here on bbc had me overly hyped,we did a tour on the kimbatang river 3D2N recommend it.
    If your looking for acc in sepilok,got a unique place.
    Enjoy it as I fear it won't be there in the nxt 10yrs.

Cheers for the info, dunno what the plan for the rest our time in Borneo just yet, arriving in Kota Kinabalu on the 15th, climbing on the 16-17th, flying to Sandakan on the 20th, turtle island and Orangutan place on the 23-24th then make our way to Semporna for 3 days diving 26-29th. Then fly on to Singapore for a few days before heading to Oz!

But for the Op, I assume you'll be trying to work in a trip to the full moon or half moon while at the islands? Spent the last 3 days in north west Koh Panghan, 'twas lovely but a good 35 mins from Haad Rin, arrived at our place in Haad Rin this morning and its the most people I've ever seen in such a small town, doesn't seem like the friendliest place in the world. Full of pissed up posers. We're here for another 3 days and I kinda wish the full moon was tonight and we were leaving tomorrow!

Yeah, will get in some kind of moon party on one of the Islands anyway. So probably best to plan to just get to the place on the day of the party so!!!. Thanks for the update, fair play!!!

Main problem is most places only do 5 nights minimum around Full Moon time, we managed to find a place (friendly resort) and we got the 3 nights here. If you are gonna stay on the island for the party I'd advise to book a good bit in advance.

That sounds like a decent itinerary for Sabah.
    If you happen to arrive in KK on a Sunday,morning market is cheap.
    Agree with you regards full moon,maybe of gotten older but the crowds that go to it really grind my gears.
    I wont visit the island when its on as the spirit of the has long departed.

Question there lads. Is the a "Better" moon party to go too. As in, is there more people at a full moon party than half moon party or is it basically all the same?!!