Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying a second hand tractor in the uk?

• 06-05-2013 1:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

is ther much of a saving to be had or is it worth the hassle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

From what I can see it has to be a fairly new tractor to be worth your while, what you thinking of buying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭irish_bhoy09

simx wrote: »
    From what I can see it has to be a fairly new tractor to be worth your while, what you thinking of buying
    mayb jd 6620 05 or that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Bigger tractors over 130 hp and less than 2 years old big savings . But stock tractors i think are cheaper here maybe not as well looked after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

remember they quote their prices ex vat which will be charged to you @17.5% if you are not vat registered

DMAXMAN wrote: »
    remember they quote their prices ex vat which will be charged to you @17.5% if you are not vat registered

Is it not 20%?

caseman wrote: »
    Bigger tractors over 130 hp and less than 2 years old big savings . But stock tractors i think are cheaper here maybe not as well looked after.

Yeah my cousin bought a 09 t 7040 in england, reckons if he cleared it and advertised it he would make 6.5 k easy enough, himself and his neighbour bought a tractor each off the same dealer that day and got them right enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

When you say the UK do ya mean northern ireland or across the water, "MOST" of the time they will be cheaper but they wont give two f*@ks about you if you have a problem was in a very large well known tractor dealers yard in NI one day and there was a guy looking about buying a 4or5 year old massey i think it was and he asked was there a warranty with it and his answer "aye... we sell them to!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭BelgianBlue13

Is there much of a saving to be made on improting brand new tractors?

I could be wrong but I think there is some sort of tax on a tractor less than 6 months old but I could be wrong

Oh maybe there is, what do you guys think the price range would be for a 03 JD 6320 with JD loader and 3000 hours on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 journalman

30k- looked at one before bought forterra, 03, 6000 hrs= 27k no loader and needed back tyres. jd dealer prob look for more

Im acctually looking at a 6320 for £14,000 plus VAT

dont sound too bad, what year? hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭stanflt

dont sound too bad, what year? hours?

If it sounds to good to be true it usually is too good to be true
    Be careful

I would only buy a 1-2 year old as most older yokes are clocked

stanflt wrote: »
    If it sounds to good to be true it usually is too good to be true
    Be careful

I would only buy a 1-2 year old as most older yokes are clocked
    Some of them do sound too good to be true

looks like a bogus web site

the nh ts110a has foreign plates-could be taken off someone else web site
    how long are they in business

did a google search and found no tax info or business regerstration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Way too cheap unless high houred.

You'd be better off with another 3 Crystals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

stanflt wrote: »
    looks like a bogus web site

the nh ts110a has foreign plates-could be taken off someone else web site
    how long are they in business

whats website is it an.

nashmach wrote: »
    Way too cheap unless high houred.

You'd be better off with another 3 Crystals!
    has 3000 hours.
    Now ya said it! :)
    caseman wrote: »
    whats website is it an.
    ill message the link on to you

has 3000 hours.
    Now ya said it! :)

ill message the link on to you

look up john deere dealerships in uk, be safer bet id say

but are new tractors cheaper in England?

i dont know that, but there is value on secondhand tractors to be got, just saying looking up reputable dealers is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I think there is an auction coming up in Cambridge shortly , it could be a worth a look to see what value is to be got over there

moy83 wrote: »
    I think there is an auction coming up in Cambridge shortly , it could be a worth a look to see what value is to be got over there

Buyer beware!!

Auction on in Cheffins at Sutton in Cambridge usually the second Monday of each month.

Buyer beware!!

Auction on in Cheffins at Sutton in Cambridge usually the second Monday of each month.
    I think the father is going out for a little holiday for himself :rolleyes:

moy83 wrote: »
    I think the father is going out for a little holiday for himself :rolleyes:

:(:(:o

Must admit I'm going myself next month....

:(:(:o

Must admit I'm going myself next month....
    He was talking about a 40 tonne press that is definitely coming home with him :rolleyes: What he wants it for god only knows but sure its better than coke and hookers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Am I right in thinking that a lot of tractors for sale in Ireland have come through Cheffins.
    Has anyone been to Brightwells auctions in Hereford

Am I right in thinking that a lot of tractors for sale in Ireland have come through Cheffins.
    Has anyone been to Brightwells auctions in Hereford

Some would but to say a lot is a very broad statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

why ye want a 6320 john deere? what about the 5 m seriers, new one with loader around 55k. thought it good value, especially if you have trade in

I would prefer 5m series only the 6320 i was looking at was cheap.

Right lads i had a look on google for cambridge and other auctions, is there many tractors at these?Are you getting good value?Is the bidding very high at them? Anyone here buy tractors in england at auctions?
    What a rough guide of the cost of bringing them over?

Right lads i had a look on google for cambridge and other auctions, is there many tractors at these?Are you getting good value?Is the bidding very high at them? Anyone here buy tractors in england at auctions?
    What a rough guide of the cost of bringing them over?

id reckon youd want to allow 1k for you to go get a look and transport back home, there is value to be had but there is also alot of machines there for certain reasons, i know a man recently bought a jd 1360 mower there, very fresh looking one, brought it home, checked it for oil, topped it up, turned it on and within a minute all the oil was pissed out through a couple of places in the bed, i think now hes bringing it back to cambridge now

Very good advice there. It is a great place for a look and a few days out but as I have said before anything with an engine or gearbox I would be passing by on bidding on it.

that mower that your friend bought,that sort of thing would put me off on going..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Good advice. I have relations over in England and was warned of such things. A lot of things that go through the auctions can be in bad order and look fresh but still going over for a gander in oct :D

We could have a boards.ie day out then!

Wear the toes out of the boots sure!

We could have a boards.ie day out then!

Wear the toes out of the boots sure!

Wife says I have to leave the credit card behind

Well I would hate to bring back something that's not working well!

on the topic of bringing in machinery from uk, has anyone here brought in a mower from uk? did ye deem it worth it?

never did but you would want to see it working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 journalman

know a guy bought new 9 ft kuhn mower in wales, saved bout a grand and half on it, he went back this year and bought a new case skid steer for 22k sterling all in, big saving on irish prices.
    6320 st 14k plus vat is dodge, def sumtin wrong dr unless its wrecked to pieces- steer clear in any case.