Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Car Insurance 17

• 05-05-2013 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭

I want a car but not willing to fork out thousands im looking at a grand or something.Want a civic, glanza, ae86 or mabye integra gsr.I go to a boarding school so id only be driving it at the week ends!Is there something to cover me on insurance but if i actually crash i dont get compensation for a few hundred?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

1shot16 wrote: »
    I want a car but not willing to fork out thousands im looking at a grand or something.Want a civic, glanza, ae86 or mabye integra gsr.I go to a boarding school so id only be driving it at the week ends!Is there something to cover me on insurance but if i actually crash i dont get compensation for a few hundred?

One of those cars? You will be forking out thousands. Don't think there is such a thing as weekend only insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Not a hope getting insured on any of those cars for a small sum. I'm 25 and I'd struggle with most of em.

Start small and get some experience and build up a no claims bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

With those cars best of luck op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Not to be the tired old pessimist but you'd be looking at 3-4 times that money to have any hope of insurance and even at that it would be highly unlikely anyone will insure you. And at 1k, any of those choices are way beyond your reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

Chance of being caught with no insurance in a done up civic or integra passing the guards with a loud exhaust is 100% id say.....whats can happen if you have no insurance ?Can i get a fake disc with no actual insurance.How about off the parents insurance?think they have had no crashes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Start in a Micra or Yaris something 1 litre as you will have no hope in the other's they are all high insurance group vehicles and sorry to say your age is the killer of the deal....

Get your few years driving then work your way up to something better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 71 ✭✭wallyMe

Chance of being caught with no insurance in a done up civic or integra passing the guards with a loud exhaust is 100% id say.....whats can happen if you have no insurance ?Can i get a fake disc with no actual insurance.How about off the parents insurance?think they have had no crashes.

Bahaha, try going under the parents insurance. Just got a nice 1.4 civic not v-tec or something, or a 1.3 glanza non turbo or something.

Start in a Micra or Yaris something 1 litre as you will have no hope in the other's they are all high insurance group vehicles and sorry to say your age is the killer of the deal....

Get your few years driving then work your way up to something better.

Its a civic, integra ae86 somethin like dat or nothin not wasting 2 or 3 grand on a micra...

They will take the car off you and points and fine.
    The getting insured under parents trick well this seems to work sometimes but mostly not as the insurance companies aren't stupid.
    If you can't afford to insure or tax it just don't drive it.

Its a civic, integra ae86 somethin like dat or nothin not wasting 2 or 3 grand on a micra...

You could pick up a micra for a few hundread.
    You have to start somewhere.

You can get very nice cars these days for a grand with a year NCT and perfect for first time drivers. If its an integra or sumtin then good luck with it, hope you have a few grand for repairs in the bank

You could pick up a micra for a few hundread.
    You have to start somewhere.

How about a Colt or a Altezza.

Rather get a 4 grand car drive it no insurance than a micra with insurance...should be able to out run the guards no problem 2.5L turbo s15 :cool: :p

How about a Colt or a Altezza.

Rather get a 4 grand car drive it no insurance than a micra with insurance...should be able to out run the guards no problem 2.5L turbo s15 :cool: :p

You need to grow up. A colt would be a nice first time car to have.

wallyMe wrote: »
    You need to grow up. A colt would be a nice first time car to have.

Twas taking the piss might go for a colt no mods ;) .How about a mirage what insurance like 1.3.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

From your posts I'd suggest you wait a few years before getting behind the wheel because you are a liability to yourself and the other unfotunate road users you may encounter. There is a reason insurance is so high for lads like you and your posts ain't doing many favors either.

Stinicker wrote: »
    From your posts I'd suggest you wait a few years before getting behind the wheel because you are a liability to yourself and the other unfotunate road users you may encounter. There is a reason insurance is so high for lads like you and your posts ain't doing many favors either.

I actually am very safe and mature guards dont give out firearms to clowns i just want something cool like a civic or integra im not going to be racing i just like the look of dem...micra ill get the piss taken.

A punto or sumtin like that or any 1.3 or 1.4 would suit ya

Or this looks nice 1.6 but i could get a 1.3.Just like the look dont judge me im not scum go to a private school...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4591693

Keep those posts coming and you'll get the piss taken! And it'd be cheaper than a car + insurance.

Or this looks nice 1.6 but i could get a 1.3.Just like the look dont judge me im not scum go to a private school...

How much really have you got for insurance or are you one of these mommy and daddy gets me everything.

Did you actually ring for any companies before coming here or ringing up any companies. For that car you probably won't get insured or be paying 3k to 5k for insurance.

What is your budget for car, tax, insurance for the year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

This lad has to be a troll...

Did you actually ring for any companies before coming here or ringing up any companies. For that car you probably won't get insured or be paying 3k or 5k for insurance.

What is your budget for car, tax, insurance for the year?

Went online can get for civic integra ect ....will try a colt or mirage.

Tops is about 4k parents might chip in!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

You assume you are very safe, you are 17 and thus miles from being anywhere near mature. I am 26 and started driving at 17 like yourself but it was 19 until I had my own car and like you I had a great opinion of myself however a few close calls later and more time driving I realized what a sh1t driver I was and after passing my driving test aged 21 I settled down.

I have been driving the same car since I was 19 and never once had an accident, I have driven on the A1 Autobahn in Germany in a BMW at 300km/h and across the outback in Australia and I love driving and also love my car but what I am trying to stress here is to have patience, get some lessons and get the cheapest runaround you can afford, driving is a skill you learn with time and you are just too young and immature just yet to be getting into something flashy and powerful.

Best of luck and becareful on the roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

An insurance company is not going to touch you with a 'boy racer' type car whether it is 'souped' up or not. You are only 17 and still in school, put up with a year or two in a non cool car to build up your driving history. If you prove yourself to be a model driver then they may be more amiable to you changing to the type of car you want. Insurance Companies are not fools and won't believe that your parents suddenly have a desire for an Integra and by the way Junior might want to drive it sometimes! I wish you safe driving whatever you decide.

Went online can get for civic integra ect ....will try a colt or mirage.

Tops is about 4k parents might chip in!

So your looking at buying a high powered banger. Be ready to have a lot of money in reserve when something goes wrong with them

Your insurance will be 3k or more, Tax 600 or 700 hundred for the year. So theres your car gone down the drain,

I've never worked as a clown. Will the guards give me a gun? What form do I need to fill out?

endacl wrote: »
    Will the guards give me a gun? What form do I need to fill out?

em FCA1 u will need to do a safety course first...

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/FCA1%202012%20.pdf

u will get ur gun in 3 months after ur application is recieved anything else smart arse?

He is looking for a high powered motor propelled vehicle so he can out run the cops with his gun.
    The whole thing sounds fishy or is it smells:cool:

em FCA1 u will need to do a safety course first...

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/FCA1%202012%20.pdf

u will get ur gun in 3 months after ur application is recieved anything else smart arse?

Seriously? They'll actually give me a gun? I won't have to buy my own?!?

endacl wrote: »
    Seriously? They'll actually give me a gun? I won't have to buy my own?!?

nah bro if the dealer has to destroy a few guns im sure he will give you a old double barrel 12g...if u want a nice decent one heres what u do

go in put down a deposit on the gun u picked out attach the dealers note to ur application....

Oh and before that u get into the car,turn it on,drive to the shop,park it,open the shop door,enter....

nah bro if the dealer has to destroy a few guns im sure he will give you a old double barrel 12g...if u want a nice decent one heres what u do

go in put down a deposit on the gun u picked out attach the dealers note to ur application....

Oh and before that u get into the car,turn it on,drive to the shop,park it,open the shop door,enter....

You mean cruise to the shop wooly hat on and sun glasses don't forget to say hello.

Dont forget to thank him when u are walking out....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Can't see what any of this has to do with modifying cars...